We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly delightful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alderbrook Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Union
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013

With most of our vacations, my wife and I review, plan and build a destination of our choosing. This trip was a business conference, therefore the destination and accommodations were at the hands of the organizer. We found the resort to be absolutely delightful. The surroundings were quiet and peaceful, the staff was genuinely polite and the grounds were well tended. We stayed in a water-view room, which was comfortable and very spacious. All the meals on site where very good. We had 4 massages while visiting, all which were very good. The only disappointment was the golf course. I found it to be a little pedestrian and seemingly forced into the landscape.

Room Tip: I would recommend a guest room over a cottage if you don't need the extra space. I saw the cotta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quimby420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynKamin, Manager at Alderbrook Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Talk about combining business and fun quimby420! With a water view room, 4 massages and activities nearby, it sounds like you and your wife built your destination vacation just right. We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and wish you happy travels!

Thank you,

Kathryn Kamin
Director of Marketing
Alderbrook Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (711)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 711 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed in one of the corner suites with a view of water. Very comfortable. The main part of the Inn was very rustic with large wood beams. They also had a small area upstairs that detailed the history of the Inn with dated pictures. Did some hiking and basically just relaxed and enjoyed the peaceful surroundings. The restaurant had good food but was a little over priced, probably because there was no where else to go close by - captive audience. Overall a very pleasant experience for a quick weekend get away.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynKamin, Manager at Alderbrook Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

How wonderfully you described our rustic elegance of our architecture and decor beachman77! We're so glad that you were able to get outside and enjoy our peaceful surroundings.

Have a wonderful summer,

Kathryn Kamin
Director of Marketing
Alderbrook Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Just a perfect get-a-way spot! Very close to Seattle, Tacoma area but yet you feel a million miles away.
This was our second stay - but in quite some time. We had had a horrible week and needed to get away and find a little breather and peace. This was just what the doctor ordered.
Carrie at reservations was so helpful and patient with my many questions and options of packages etc. In the end we were able to get a last minute deal (literally since it was a day out) and got a lovely 2 queen room over looking the main lawn area of the resort (a garden view) with a great patio we got a lot of use out of.
There is free easy parking and its quite simple to get to your room.
All of the staff we encountered were so friendly and welcoming. We arrived earlier than check in time and it was a beautiful day. We walked around the property and were offered keys to the pool. We were able to change in their nicely appointed pool restroom areas. We enjoyed both the pool and the hot tub and took time in between to relax out on the grass in the sun in the chaise lounges.
We were then able to change using the same pool rest areas complete with showers and enjoyed a lovely lunch in the shade before checking in.
The pool is good size and has sliders that open up on a nice day. They should seriously clean them however. The resort is so nice but its almost like they should be a quest once in a while. As you are sitting at the side of the pool or hot tub enjoying the view- there are spiders galore and dust and debris all over the screens. Good thing they were on the outside! There were only about 8 chairs to enjoy outside though.
Our room had everything we could need. Very roomy, nice area for a vanity , lovely 2 person soaking tub, large fridge, desk area, Kurieg coffee maker, deck with 2 chairs and my favorite- a fantastic window seat. It became the best place to have breakfast and curl up with a book.
Overall the room was quiet. The hotel is pet friendly and as we walked through the halls you could hear dogs barking and howling but we didn’t hear it from our room.
My only small complaint about the room was it was exceedingly hot. The hallways too. There was a small A/C unit in the room but it was crazy hot in the room. We asked from desk for fans since we were too uncomfortable to sleep and with in seconds it seemed we got 2 fans which helped a little more.
The restaurant is great but rather pricy. Happy hour would be great. We stopped on our way down the first night at a gourmet grocery store and had a ’picnic’ dinner in our room. We had breakfast the next day which was fantastic but the slowest service ever.
That was probably due to the fact that all weakened there were weddings and the whole resort was a little overrun with wedding guests. This wasn’t a problem but you did have a little feel like you were the ’other people’ to be honest.
You can rent kayaks and go paddle boarding.
Overall I cant recommend it enough. It was truly what we needed.

Room Tip: If you can get a canal view room that's the best- but a garden view is great too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlwaysMissinHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynKamin, Manager at Alderbrook Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

How wonderful that you were able to escape to our property AlwaysMissinHawaii! It sounds like you had a well-rounded Alderbrook Resort & Spa summer experience. Every Friday in the summer, from 9PM-midnight, we offer live music and happy hour which is also available Monday-Friday from 4-6PM in the fall, winter and spring-please come visit us again to check it out!

Have a wonderful summer,

Kathryn Kamin
Director of Marketing
Alderbrook Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We love Alderbrook! It is perfect for a quick Seattle getaway. Beautiful hotel, rooms, views, and summer ambience. We had cocktails at the dockside restaurant which had live music every night while the kids looked for shells, skipped stones and roasted marshmallows. The front desk has movies, board games, and video games that you can play in their massive video game room. There is a play structure for the kids and a scavenger hunt they can do to win a popsicle. Nice comfortable rooms and very friendly staff accommodated our needs. The cottages would be perfect for a large family reunion as they all circle a central barbecue area with lawn games. There is also a watercraft rental booth. We will be coming back soon!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ckinnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynKamin, Manager at Alderbrook Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

What a wonderful summertime family memory Ckinnon! We so appreciate you sharing this experience with us and hope that you and your family will cherish these memories forever.

We look forward to seeing you guys again soon!

Kathryn Kamin
Director of Marketing
Alderbrook Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Right on Hood Canal, the views are just amazing, with several wonderful outdoor locations to sit and relax. The service was really good and we had a great experience with food service outside in the lounge/deck area. Our room had amazing views and was very nice. It was fun to sit and watch the seaplanes land and take off. It was our last night in Washington and it was a great treat to close out a wonderful vacation this way. Great place!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JH3970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynKamin, Manager at Alderbrook Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

We hope that you had a great journey home JeanH3970! Yes, we often pinch ourselves when we look at the amazing views here. :) With seaplanes and sealife, the Hood Canal is full of amazing views and experiences-glad you could enjoy it at our property!

Have a wonderful summer,

Kathryn Kamin
Director of Marketing
Alderbrook Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We recently stayed at the Alderbrook resort and spa when we were attending a family wedding reception. We arrived at approximately 3:30 and went to check in, our room was not yet ready (check in is at 4 which seems very late), so we were given keys to the pool area to wait. We told the staff to call us as soon as it was ready as we had to be at a wedding at 5:00. At 4 o'clock we checked back again, and our room was still not ready. The front desk staff said it might not be ready until 4:30. This was NOT going to work. At this point they offered us a different room (a downgrade, 2 queens instead of a king, no view) with a small rate credit. We accepted because we needed to get ready. For us this wasn't a big deal because we weren't going to be spending much time in the room, and we have a queen bed at home, but I imagine for some travelers this would not be acceptable.

Once checked in, the room was beautiful. The beds were very comfortable, each room had an air conditioner, and the deep bathtub in the bathroom looked very inviting.

As we had to check out early in the morning (8:00 am) we opted to pre-select our room service order and time of delivery for the next morning. The card indicated delivery was available starting at 7:00, so we selected that option. At 7:30 the food finally arrived. Had it arrived any later we would have had to cancel the order. However, the food was wonderful, I just wish we would have had more time to enjoy it!

I believe that I would stay at Alderbrook again. Overall the stay was good, but with more attention paid to timing, it would have been excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynKamin, Manager at Alderbrook Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Thank you for your feedback Laura T. We are so glad that you were able to enjoy our rooms, property and room service. Your experiences have been shared with our management team and will be used in order to remind our team of our highest standards. Thank you for letting us know and we'd love to make it right with you. Please feel free to email me directly at kathryn.kamin@alderbrookresort.com.

Have a great summer,

Kathryn Kamin
Director of Marketing
Alderbrook Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is a first class hotel. Downside is our first night we were put in a room at the back ('garden view') that had some type of machine outside that ran constantly with hum and vibration, so we couldn't open the windows. We were very disappointed, complained to the front desk and were moved the next night to a wonderful room (no extra charge). That room was awesome with a small balcony with a view of the lawns and canal. The grounds and facilities are first rate. They even have two resident kitties who roam the hotel, one made visit our room at 5am from the 2nd floor balcony! Since I am a cat lover I didn't mind.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not in the back corner of the left side U-shaped building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynKamin, Manager at Alderbrook Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Alder and Brook (our kitties) say hello Marlynn P! That's so great to hear that you enjoyed our grounds and property as well as that we were able to find the perfect room for you.

Have a great summer and come visit us again soon!

Kathryn Kamin
Director of Marketing
Alderbrook Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Union
0.3 mi away
Robin Hood Village Resort
22.5 mi away
Waterfront Inn
Waterfront Inn
#4 of 5 in Gig Harbor
106 reviews
23.9 mi away
Oyster Bay Inn & Suites
Oyster Bay Inn & Suites
#6 of 9 in Bremerton
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Little Creek Casino Resort
22.7 mi away
Best Western Wesley Inn & Suites
22.9 mi away
The INN at Gig Harbor
The INN at Gig Harbor
#2 of 5 in Gig Harbor
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alderbrook Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alderbrook Resort & Spa

Address: 10 E Alderbrook Dr, 10 E Alderbrook Drive, Union, WA 98592-9426
Location: United States > Washington > Union
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Union
Price Range: $69 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alderbrook Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walking hand in hand, you see an eagle soar overhead. You stop to skip stones across the water. Four, five, six skips. A perfect moment suspended in time. A story for dinner. This is the place where memories are made, where families come back year after year. Like having your own waterfront cottage, only better. Cartwheels on the grass. A game of badminton at sunset. Leather couches and a glass of Washington state Syrah. The sweet succulent bite of fresh oysters. Rooms that make you say “wow” when you open the door. Can this hotel be only two hours from Seattle? It can. Welcome to Alderbrook Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Alderbrook Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alderbrook Resort And Spa
Alderbrook Resort Union
Alderbrook Hotel Union

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing