We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional wedding location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alderbrook Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Union
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Exceptional wedding location!”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My daughter got married at Alderbrook in August and It was beautiful. The staff at Alderbrook was exceptional and were instrumental in helping to create a wonderful wedding and celebration.
Everything went smoothly and the staff handled everything with a "no problem, we can handle that" attitude. Amy and Amber were incredible with all of their help and Justin did a superb job with all of the food. I heard many comments about how great the food was! I was very pleased with everything at Alderbrook.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank williesmomok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankJKenny, Public Relations Manager at Alderbrook Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
williesmomok, Thank you so much for letting us know. The staff will be thrilled, as will the management and owners, by your comments. Such a joy for us to play a small part in so many special memories. Congrats to your family. Thanks again. ~Frank for Alderbrook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    183
    56
    39
    13
See reviews for
183
300
10
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, WA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and I chose Alderbrook as a starting point for our Olympic Penn. vacation - and what a beautiful situation. Right on Hood Canal, complete with docks (and yachts to go with); pool, spa, beautiful restaurant and bar and outdoor dining as well. Our premier king size room included a spacious balcony deck - the decor was sophisticated, bedding luxurious, bath had tub for two and a shower; separate vanity in the room, window seating, and so on. Too much to list here. Resort architecture is rustic lodge, polished and inviting. Downside: the clientele. There were dogs everywhere, children ran barefoot through their 'toilet'; the docks were avail. to anyone and boaters used resort amenities leaving those who paid $$$ for rooms without adequate services/seating. The noise level was high as well. This made for a difficult experience and one that we will not repeat.

Room Tip: Check hotel activities before selecting your room - we were in a premier room but over a conference...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieKey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankJKenny, Public Relations Manager at Alderbrook Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
KatieKey, Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate that you took the time to write all the things you liked before you shared areas we need to improve. Your feedback is invaluable to us. We hope you will come back as we are always working to balance the high demand and fun times, especially during the busy season, with our tranquil nature settings. Usually we get it right but it sounds like it was a bit too much for you so we apologize. As I said, we appreciate the feedback and do hope to see you again. ~Frank for Alderbrook Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia Washington
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We came to celebrate my bf"s birthday and brought our boat over from Olympia. Good dock, beautiful location, friendly and helpful staff and lovely room over looking Hood Canal. The weather was in the 80s and it was pretty much a perfect two days. Good food, great massages and really nice people. Very much recommend a trip here.

Room Tip: All rooms have either a garden room or a water view. Either way it is beautiful - great grounds, ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcmc1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankJKenny, Public Relations Manager at Alderbrook Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
mcmc1953, Thank you for the ratings and review. Sounds like you had a great time. That is what we strive for. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. We are also glad you enjoyed the spa and all the resort has to offer. ~Frank for Alderbook Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We were guests at Alderbrook for a special family celebration. We were in one of the cottages.
Which was beautifully outfitted with so many conveniences, and quality at every turn. The staff was very friendly and helpful. All the necessities were available for us to prepare our own meals
in the cottage, but why? with choices of casual or fine dining, and the finest service , to
pamper us. Such natural beauty surrounds you there, Breathtaking views are at every turn.
Kudos to ownership, who has respected , refurbished and preserves such a memorable place
in the hearts of all who have know this exceptional spot over the past century. Thanks for our
memories!

Room Tip: We found the cottages to be roomy and exceptional in privacy , flexibitity, and beauty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akity4su
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankJKenny, Public Relations Manager at Alderbrook Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
akity4su, Thank you for the kind review. Our owners, that your mentioned, will be thrilled to know that you noticed. We are coming up on our 100th year anniversary and really do cherish the history of Alderbrook. Thanks again. Hope to see you soon. ~Frank for Alderbrook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I stayed at Alderbrook for a professional conference. The room was large and comfortable, with a good desk, nice bed, and all the things you'd expect from a luxury resort. The food served during the conference was good. Service staff were all friendly and accommodating. I would not hesitate to stay here again for a get-away for myself. On top of all that, the grounds and the views are breathtaking. It is not very far from Seattle, but you feel worlds away in a peaceful little haven.

Room Tip: In some of the garden view rooms (cheaper) you still have a decent peekaboo view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoxEberle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankJKenny, Public Relations Manager at Alderbrook Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
RoxEberle, Thank you so much for review. Sounds like you really enjoyed your stay and the business conference accommodations. Hope you don't us sharing your review with other conference organizers! ~Frank for Alderbrook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We recently spent three nights at Alderbrook on a short getaway from Seattle. The grounds are great to walk around. We had a King room with a view of the canal, it was worth upgrading to the view room as we spent a lot of time on the deck reading and relaxing.

If you are looking for a short getaway, this is a great option from Seattle. It's extremely scenic and quiet if your ideal vacation is getting away with a book or being close to hiking and the Olympic National Park then relaxing in a great room.

Room Tip: Ocean view equals Hood Canal view, worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C_Tobin6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankJKenny, Public Relations Manager at Alderbrook Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
C_Tobin6, Thank you for the ratings and review. It sounds like you had a very relaxing time. We are glad you mentioned how close, yet far away we are, from Seattle. Portland too. Hope to see you again soon. ~Frank for Alderbrook Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake tahoe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2012

My husband and I just spent 3 wonderful nights at Alderbrook in a King Oceanfront room. (the only room available for the nights we wanted) We were a liitle worried about noise but it was not a problem. The day we arived there were 5 weddings. All were beautiful and quiet by 9 P.M.
Food was a little pricey but very good. Scallops and the oysters were delicious!
Take the boat ride. A good way to learn some of the history of the surrounding area.
We also ate at Xinh in Shelton and hiked up by Cushman Lake.
Did not hear 1 child cry or dog bark. All were happy.
Would like to return in early Spring to gather oysters.
Be sure to ask for AAA price. No one mentioned it to us.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms are pricey but we loved looking out to the water, sitting on deck and watching...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tish s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankJKenny, Public Relations Manager at Alderbrook Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
tish s, Thank you so much for the thorough comments and review. Sounds like you made the most of your three days with us. Looking forward to seeing you next spring. ~Frank for Alderbrook Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Union
0.4 mi away
Robin Hood Village Resort
15.2 mi away
Little Creek Casino Resort
22.7 mi away
Best Western Wesley Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
23.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Olympia Lacey
23.9 mi away
Oyster Bay Inn & Suites
Oyster Bay Inn & Suites
#5 of 8 in Bremerton
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alderbrook Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alderbrook Resort & Spa

Property: Alderbrook Resort & Spa
Address: 10 E Alderbrook Dr, 10 E Alderbrook Drive, Union, WA 98592-9426
Location: United States > Washington > Union
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Union
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alderbrook Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walking hand in hand, you see an eagle soar overhead. You stop to skip stones across the water. Four, five, six skips. A perfect moment suspended in time. A story for dinner. This is the place where memories are made, where families come back year after year. Like having your own waterfront cottage, only better. Cartwheels on the grass. A game of badminton at sunset. Leather couches and a glass of Washington state Syrah. The sweet succulent bite of fresh oysters. Rooms that make you say “wow” when you open the door. Can this hotel be only two hours from Seattle? It can. Welcome to Alderbrook Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alderbrook Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alderbrook Resort And Spa
Alderbrook Resort Union
Alderbrook Hotel Union

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing