We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will come back again and again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alderbrook Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Union
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2011

This is now our 4th time at Alderbrook, and again we had an amazing room with a spectacular view, and very nice staff...while it is a little on the pricey side it is truly worth every penny. I can not wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank manhattantraveler24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (697)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

569 - 575 of 697 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2011

Beautiful resort; great location, right on Hood Canal; friendly service. We were here for a family wedding and had a wonderful time. We had a 2-bedroom cabin w/ full kitchen and living room w/ sofa sleeper, and it was perfect for the 6 of us – 3 adults, 3 little flower girls, and a dog, Bones (pets are allowed for a daily fee). It had modern furnishings, super comfortable beds, and there was even a little class bubbling creek running behind us – so soothing to fall asleep to.

We stepped off our front porch onto the big grassy lawn, looking out toward the canal; the kids loved to play on the beach, and in the water. We had a big pig roast on the lawn Friday night, kids played badminton (net and equipment provided) and enjoyed fires in the fire pits. The food at the restaurant was a bit pricey, but from what we tasted from breakfast and the wedding buffet, it was excellent.

There’s plenty to do when we weren’t involved in wedding festivities – we took advantage of the pool every day -- a great design for the often chilly weather – inside, but with glass sides, and a big Jacuzzi (although the jets could have been stronger). There is small playground for the kids, bike/kayak rentals (fairly pricey), and some really beautiful hiking trails across the street on Alderbrook property – there is one view trail overlooking Alderbrook with a big free telescope where you can look over Alderbrook to the other side of the canal. There are also free games and DVDs to check out from the front desk. The resort has a really nice feel, and I would absolutely recommend it.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
Thank SDTraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

I felt my stress leaving as soon as we walked through the doors. Beautiful wood, scent of pines, relaxed people, friendly staff. Be sure to rent a kayak or watercraft from Hood Canal Adventures. And, look for the resident cats in the lobby area: "Alder" and "Brook."

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KDUB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Wonderful spot with beautiful views and lovely rooms. Fun golf course just up the hill. Great spa, with excellent massage and exercise class. And you can rent kayaks right from the pier and cruise around the Hood Canal. Very relaxing place. Great breakfasts, so-so dinners.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Idmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

$260 a night, $100 for a couples meal, $2 for the coffee in your room (no, its NOT complimentary) $5 even for marshmallow's to roast?? Really?? Everything cost more and more the longer we were there...NOTHING is included. Be prepared to spend, spend, spend.

We had booked a 3 night stay here for our Honeymoon. I can't express how disappointed we were. The view was phenomenal, however the rooms were small, musty and dirty. Our window sill had tons of dead bugs in it and built up dust, the wall above the sink had obvious water damage (paint was bubbled and particle board paneling falling apart), the bathroom, in ever crevice had gunk build up. My Husband can reach from wall to wall in the bathroom (while standing in the "soaking tub"), it was tiny. We tried to upgrade our room to find out we were in the upgraded room. $260 a night was CRAZY for the size and filth of our room. Upon check-in, the lady at the desk read over our package we had reserved and read out loud "valet service" but never offered to have the car taken or anyone help us with our bags or anything. The only place to eat is the restaurant which is easily $100 meal for two people. They do have fire pits out by the water, and offer marshmallow's to roast, $5 a bag for 5 marshmallow's. The only coffee available in your room is from a Keurig, but you have to also PAY for the K-Cups, so not even complimentary coffee. The bed was hard, not comfortable. Like staying in a motel 6 on the Hood Canal, but for $260 a night. NOTHING is included in the $260 a night you are paying. Not even the valet that I opted for in my package. No one offered any type of service or help at any time. I would never return, even for free and will definitely try to warn anyone so they don't get as trapped and disappointed as we were, especially on someone's honeymoon :( Very disappointing...

Room Tip: Do not go here, it's a tourist trap
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank krisitehall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

We stopped in on a whim while out on a spontaneous drive through the area and were delighted to find exceptionally friendly, helpful people ( thank you, Shannon!), a stunning location, a fabulous facility and wait, there's more.....a restaurant that was terrific - both the staff and the food. There is more to say, but you get the idea. A wonderful, beautiful, relaxing place to spend as much time as you can allow. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 03ponydriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Great location, not too far from the Seattle area. Secluded and not too small, not too large. We enjoyed our food from the bar menu, and our creekside room. We also enjoyed the indoor pool and hottub.

We got a massage at the Alderbrook Spa which was fantastic. The staff was very kind and friendly. We will be going back. Great place to celebrate an annviersary.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bearfur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Union
0.4 mi away
Robin Hood Village Resort
15.3 mi away
Little Creek Casino Resort
8.7 mi away
Super 8 Shelton
Super 8 Shelton
#2 of 4 in Shelton
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
22.5 mi away
Waterfront Inn
Waterfront Inn
#4 of 5 in Gig Harbor
106 reviews
22.7 mi away
Best Western Wesley Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alderbrook Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alderbrook Resort & Spa

Address: 10 E Alderbrook Dr, 10 E Alderbrook Drive, Union, WA 98592-9426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Union
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Union
Price Range: $69 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alderbrook Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walking hand in hand, you see an eagle soar overhead. You stop to skip stones across the water. Four, five, six skips. A perfect moment suspended in time. A story for dinner. This is the place where memories are made, where families come back year after year. Like having your own waterfront cottage, only better. Cartwheels on the grass. A game of badminton at sunset. Leather couches and a glass of Washington state Syrah. The sweet succulent bite of fresh oysters. Rooms that make you say “wow” when you open the door. Can this hotel be only two hours from Seattle? It can. Welcome to Alderbrook Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Alderbrook Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alderbrook Resort And Spa
Alderbrook Resort Union
Alderbrook Hotel Union

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing