We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic American Roadside Motel”
Review of Idle-a-While Motel

Idle-a-While Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Twisp
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Idle-a-While Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Twisp
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed there for two nights at the end of the season. It was clean, quiet, seemed safe, nothing to write home about but I had no problems with it at all. Plenty of hot water for shower in the AM (not sure why the other reviewer had a problem). The gal behind the front desk was friendly and helpful. WiFi worked just fine, Cable TV also was fine. As noted, my co-workers who had two dogs were able to stay there also. If you are looking for a B&B for a romantic get away, look elsewhere. If you are looking for a standard overnight stay, this suits the bill just fine.

Don't miss the Cinnamon Twisp bakery a few blocks away on the main street (one block off Hwy 20) for breakfast.

Room Tip: The gal behind the desk mentioned she was giving us a room in the "quiet end" (closer to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8string
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 44 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We called to reserve a room and was told they would hold it until 6pm. We arrived at 5:45 and think we woke up Sandy as she came out in her grey cotton nightie (with no bra underneath?!) looking likely she'd been napping. She couldn't find the reservation and hollered to the back at her co-worker who claimed she didn't take the call in a grumbling manner. A joke-sign behind Sandy's head said something about charging 10% extra to grouchy patrons and I almost asked if we could get 10% off for having to witness this.

The room was alright, no frills (fridge or coffee pot) but hey, they have a hot tub we didn't use and coffee on in the reception area at 7am. Think it's a little steep in price for a very basic room in a town of 900 people with no continental breakfast included at least.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karensheffar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Group of 8 of us motorcycling to the West Coast - none of us had travelled Hiway 20 west so did not know much about towns along the way - however when we started looking for accomodations along the way - this was the first that would accept a booking for less than two nites. Check in was great - we had cabins which were just fine - nothing fancy but everything worked and they were clean. We were even provided some cloths etc. for wiping down motorcycles. Short walk to the Twisp River Pub for supper ( great place with outdoor patio and good food). Overall excellent value

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billk54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

1930's type cabins with separate bedrooms, bath, living room and kitchens, dog friendly, lot of space for walking. Twisp is a small, charming community with a great bakery and several good restaurants. The drive from Sedro Wooley (I-5) to Winthrop/Twisp on Route 20 is one of the top scenic drives in the west. The road is good for bikes, motorcycles, rally groups and offers a pleasant family outing. Local farms (many organic) offer honey, cider, produce, cheese...we head back every fall and spring.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brenda002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This place has so much potential!

This little place on the outside looks wonderful! The grounds are kept very clean and well maintained. The outside of the buildings and cabins look fresh and clean. If the cleanliness rating was based on this alone it would be Excellent!

It is past the doorway that my average rating comes from.

We booked a 2 bed room. First, when checking in we were not made to feel very welcome. A motorcyclist had walked into the office before me and inquired about a room for the night. The lady behind the desk asked if he had a reservation and when he stated that he did not she curtly told him “not tonight”. He questioned her as I believe he was confused somewhat by her demeanor and she stated “not tonight – you can’t stay here tonight”. No apology or recommendation of where to stay or nothing. She then started my registration handing me a card saying she needed our license plate and last name. When checking our reservation her comment was “wonder how you got that rate on that room”. After getting the keys (one of which was not for our room but the one next door) without a thank you I certainly didn’t feel very happy about spending $89.00 for the night.

Unlocking our room the first thing we got was the overwhelming smell of old cigarette smoke. You can tell that while it is now a non-smoking room that it had been one in the past. It was though there had never been any attempts to clean the odor out of the room.

Our room had 2 double beds in it, the standard TV and telephone and small bath. What it did not have was an alarm clock, coffee pot, ice bucket or towel bar in the bathroom. The towel bar had been ripped from the wall at some point and time but no one had bothered to patch the holes in the wall. Ice had to be obtained at the office but only by asking at the desk for it.

The bathroom floor had to have had the original flooring on it, harvest gold, burnt orange and tan. The cabinet with the sink was old and worn and the Formica on the top had to have been original as well.

The beds were actually comfortable and had nice quilts on them. Some of the pillows had seen better days as the stuffing was hard and broken down but there were 2 extra ones in the room on the closet shelf that were nice.

This hotel has such potential to be a great destination place in the area. Hopefully it will have some TLC given to it soon.

One other note – not all of the rooms were taken (or at least not all of the parking spaces were filled). Perhaps the motorcycle rider could have stayed after all.

Room Tip: Ask for and pay for the cabins. While as outdated as the rooms I think they would be worth the extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank J and G W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We love staying at Idle a While. It's perfect for us. We are big outdoor people and would rather camp but sometimes is too much work for us b/c we have a 9 mon old now. So, we aren't looking to spend a lot of money or have luxury. So, this is perfect. We have never stayed in their motel rooms. We only stay in their little cottages. I think it's only $10 more to stay in a cottage that has a kitchen, bedroom, bathroom, and a living room. It is definitely old but totally works. They are also dog friendly and only charge $8 a night for each dog. Sometimes they don't charge us at all. Bed is comfortable, have always had hot water, wi-fi, AC, cable, and a huge field behind the place where our dogs play. They also have a pretty nice indoor hot tub and spa. We never even think to check out other hotels anymore when we go fishing/hiking in Winthrop and Twisp. We always know there is room at the Idle a While. People who own it aren't overly accomadating but they get the job done. The housekeepers are super nice though. They even did the dishes for me one day. :-)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mavandray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Since we split the cost with a fellow rider, this was really a bargain for us. Reserved a two bedroom cabin and it gave us plenty of space to spread out and repack our motorcycle bags. Lots of fresh towels and hot water, comfortable beds, tv and internet. Good stay, good value, would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gogators52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twisp
8.1 mi away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 8 in Winthrop
410 reviews
8.2 mi away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#2 of 8 in Winthrop
481 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#7 of 8 in Winthrop
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
164 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#3 of 8 in Winthrop
331 reviews
0.5 mi away
Twisp River Suites
Twisp River Suites
#1 of 5 in Twisp
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Idle-a-While Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idle-a-While Motel

Address: 505 N. Hwy 20, PO Box 667, Twisp, WA 98856
Location: United States > Washington > Twisp
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Twisp
Price Range: $50 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 12 Motel rooms with 1 queen or 2 double beds & 4 Kitchenettes with 1 queen bed each & full kitchens. We also have 9 cottages with full kitchens. Satellite TV & Wi-Fi. Hot Tub & Sauna. Lots of parking for vehicles. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Idle-a-While Hotel Twisp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing