We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer care”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Tumwater-Olympia Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tumwater
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We first visited this hotel in March/11 as part of our 40th anniversay mini trip. Review in Trip Advisor, including a comment on "minor" dissapointment that hotel did not acknowledge our 40th wedding anniversay like several others. Received surprise contact from Hotel Manager, Rick Zambrowski, apologizing for oversight and offering complimentary one night stay. We availed of this offer on recent mini trip and again found the hotel to meet our expectations, with proviso that I also agree with one prior rating comment that you can easily hear showers taken in nearby rooms. Hotel is dated, but currently undergoing updates and renovations and perhaps this will also address the noise issue. The significant plus is the friendly staff who obviously subscribe to value of providing quality customer care. We intend to return in the future, once renovations are complete.

Room Tip: Rooms in rear are much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJR10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

480 - 486 of 525 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2011

I needed a hotel on short notice for a meeting in Olympia. I found it quite difficult to find a hotel that had decent reviews and didn't cost too much. It seemed like all the hotels in the area (even the ones with more stars) had kind of sketchy reviews. But the reviews on this hotel seemed to be pretty uniform--that it was a no-frills place but decent and clean. And that's exactly how it was. It's not the most modern or sleek place, and there's nothing fancy about it, but it's decent and clean. The rooms are spacious and have a little fridge in them. The walls might be a little thin, as I could hear the TV next door when I first arrived, but luckily they turned it off early enough, and I wasn't bothered by any noise during my visit. I didn't have a lot of interaction with the staff, but they seemed friendly. Check in and out were fast. The location is good, just off the freeway and relatively easy to find, although they could improve their signage. It was a little tricky to figure out where to turn in because there wasn't really a sign, and the hotel is set back a bit behind some other businesses. But it wasn't too hard to figure out. There are several options for food in the immediate vicinity, including a couple of Mexican restaurants, a pizza place, and several fast food options. The complimentary breakfast in the morning is fairly standard, and includes make-your-own Belgian waffles, which is always nice. They might want to think about putting some signs/labels on things, because there was milk, juice, yogurt, and butter in a mini-fridge with no sign on it to indicate that they were in there. I never would have known except I was looking for butter and an employee told me where it was. There also appeared to be about 3 different kinds of syrup (I assume that's what it was) in unmarked bottles. So a few more labels or signs on things might be helpful. It is extremely easy to get to the capitol building from this hotel, so it's a good option if you're going there in the morning. It's on the same street, just a few miles away. Super convenient! Finally, the price was fairly reasonable.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank era451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

I didn't have a reservation. Check-in was fast and friendly and helpful advice was given to find a quiet room.
The room was big with Fridge and Microwave. The bed was good.The room appeared clean. However, under the bed and furniture a cleaning is separately needed. One can hear showers taken in neighboring rooms. The price was very economically.
The Hwy and a busy street is nearby,so, I suggest to book a room in the North-Wing and on the second floor.
Continental breakfast was OK. Check-out was business friendly, at best.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hh8961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

This hotel has absolutely nothing exciting about it: no pretty view, and no exciting amenities. That being said, the hotel serves its purpose greatly. It is a clean hotel, with very polite staff, and very reasonably priced ($95 after tax for our stay). If just want a good nights sleep for not a lot of money and nothing else, this is the perfect place. Because that is what I wanted when I booked this hotel, I left a very happy customer.

Room Tip: The hotel does not have an elevator, so if you request or receive a room on the second floor, you wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A_Tourist_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Third place I've stayed in in Olympia (ok this is technically Tumwater but its 5 minutes from Olympia). Cleanest,quietest and best value I've found in the area. For no frills lodging (with a breakfast and free wi-fi) this is a good one.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rbux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Zabroski, General Manager at Best Western Tumwater-Olympia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2011

Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide a review of the Best Western Tumwater Inn. We hope to serve you even better in the future after we have completed a massive renovation in the fall of 2011.

Again, we appreciate so much the kind words you have shared with other tripadvisor.com users and hope everyone has the same quality experience as you.

Rick Zabroski
General Manager
Best Western Tumwater Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The king bed was comfortable. Complimentary continental breakfast included. The room has many amenities: microwave, blowdryer, small fridge. The staff makes an effort to keep the hotel quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Basketballfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We have no complaints about the facility or our room, once we found the building, which is rather hidden. There is very little in the way of restaurants anywhere close, and while the pizza at a local restaurant was good, we would have preferred something else.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheGrovelandCatLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tumwater
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites - Tumwater / Olympia
1.8 mi away
Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Tumwater
Comfort Inn Tumwater
#3 of 7 in Tumwater
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Olympia Lacey
5.2 mi away
Ramada Olympia
Ramada Olympia
#2 of 9 in Olympia
1,259 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Olympia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Tumwater-Olympia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Tumwater-Olympia Inn

Address: 5188 Capitol Blvd SE, Tumwater, WA 98501-4442 (Formerly Best Western Tumwater Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Tumwater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tumwater
Price Range: $93 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Tumwater-Olympia Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently remodeled in March 2012 with Pillow-top mattresses, 37" HDTV's, Complimentary full hot breakfast buffet featuring fresh baked scones & bagels, omeletes, sausage, bacon, country potatoes, fresh fruit along with your standard continental breakfast favorites, and fresh baked cookies each evening, you're sure to enjoy your stay. With modest prices and a friendly staff to assist you with whatever you might need, we invite you to come give us another look. You won't be disappointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western Tumwater-Olympia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tumwater Hotel Tumwater
Tumwater Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing