We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious food, but found out something of concer”

Ramirez Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 49 Restaurants in Tumwater
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Tumwater, WA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“delicious food, but found out something of concer”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I really like their food. They have great chips, homemade tortillas, their prices are great, and I love their salad with beans and lots of fresh veggies and salsa on top.

I would give them five starts, but a recent trip, the waiter explained that they re-use their salsa if the current customer doesn't eat it all. I haven't been back since. Maybe he was mis-informed but this is a deal breaker!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marshab13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    20
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mccleary, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Most authentic Mexican restaurant around!”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is not only a restaurant but a grocery store for all of your cooking needs for a very authentic meal. The price is great, you receive a ton of food and the flavor is amazing! The staff is also very friendly and helpful! I have already taken two of my friends there who say they were very pleased and will go back again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Shores, WA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Our first trip here was late this morning. Had the Home made tamales and a pork Torta. They were the best we have ever had.

The service with good, our waiter was attentive and cheerful. Enjoyed the conversation with him. Also talked with the owner who explained his restaurant to me.

Everything here is Home Made, from Salsa, Tortillas and of course the Tamales. If you have room after your meal (unlikely as your plate will be very full) they have fresh made pastries they looked wonderful.

They also have a Mexican Grocery Store with fresh meat and many other Hispanic products.
I agree with most of the other reviewers, the food here is great, the prices are fair & the restaurant is VERY clean.

We will be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beach98569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
181 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
“Great tamales!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Always searching for great tamales across this great nation of ours. Found them in PNW. Really good pork tamales. Huge; masa was perfect; pork was melt in your mouth with perfect (mild) seasoning. Need to try their version of 'buy a dozen to take home' (maybe at Christmas). For sit down meal, these were done right.
It is actually a store/restaurant. Ample seating. Comfortable; feels warm like sitting at home. If you are searching for any Mexican foods, meats, breads, spices, treats, they will probably have it. At a minimum, don't leave without taking home a bag full of Mexican sweet breads/rolls. They are $.75 each or $8.00 a dozen. Inexpensive. Cheaper than donut run. And so much better.

Taste: Tamales were wonderful!
Price: Inexpensive (for two, $13.50...come on!)
Service: Good
Serving size: Huge
Selection: Everything you could want or take home
Location: Right off I-5, exit 102
Random: Plenty of parking

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dylann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Burrito in town!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

When ever I feel like Mexican, Ramirez Mexican Restaurant never lets me down. The food is very authentic and always delicious!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Parkertw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ramirez Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ramirez Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing