We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away, STAY FAR AWAY!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tumwater
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This hotel is probably the worst hotel I've ever been in and that includes real dumps on the side of country roads. The place reeks of cigarette smoke, it's filthy, the staff will keep your mail and messages unless you specifically ask for them, it's falling apart (bits and pieces of ceiling come down from the person above the room walking across their room), the staff is rude and inconsiderate, if you are told a rate over the phone you better get it writing somehow because when you get there you may or may not get that rate, loud parties in the rooms management will do nothing about, There is rarely more than one person on staff at any given time so good luck getting any help if you need it, the "updates" that were done on the hotel rooms are very shoddy, the bathroom fan sounded like a jet landing, the "continental breakfast" was oatmeal and coffee, the walls are paper thin, the toilets are power flushers that will spray you and the surrounding area if you don't close the lid before flushing. I don't know how these people stay in business.

Room Tip: Avoid the entire hotel.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snowyegret51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It was disheartening to read that our hotel did not meet your expectations. As this hotel's manager, I can assure you that I am working with the staff to enhance the services and amenities we offer. Also, I am coaching them on how to provide better customer service moving forward to ensure that all of our guests needs are attended to in a professional as well as warm manner.

Thank you again for posting your review. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations, in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
There are newer reviews for Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 136 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2013

The room was very clean (updated) I was happy with the good service from Ashley at the front desk. The price of the room was very low. I booked through Priceline.
The only small downside was that it was a bit difficult to find , not having a GPS.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Glen - It is so rewarding to read that you had a good stay with us. Thank you for your comments. It's great to hear that Ashley provided you with such great service. I will let her know your thoughts, along with the rest of our staff.

Thank you again for your kind words. The staff and I would love to provide you with another comfortable stay in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Our one night stay at Extended Stay in Tumwater/Olympia was a complete disappointment. We checked-in late evening, and shortly after realized simple expectations when staying at a hotel were not met; clean room and quiet accommodations.

It was obvious the room had not been cleaned since the previous guest had checked-out. Dirty toilet. Garbage in trash bins. No drinking glasses or coffee mugs. Carpet needed vacuum. No dish soap. Bedding on queen sized bed was fit with twin sheets and was thin.

Again, simple expectations when staying in any hotel is a clean room and quiet accommodations. Front desk closes at 11pm and is literally abandoned all night. This is unacceptable when you check-in and find major problems with your room. The rest of the night was not pleasant; blaring television from the room above and snoring from a guest above or next door. Again, how can Extended Stay rectify a poor and uncomfortable situation for a guest when the hotel is literally not available overnight?

I will not recommend this hotel to anyone. I hope it was just bad timing and an isolated incident.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Ryan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Ryan - Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Please accept our apologies that you where checked in to a dirty room. As this hotel's manager, I can assure you that this is an isolated incident and I will be working with my team to ensure this doesn't happen in the future. Also, I want to let you know that we always have someone here on-site to assist guests with any issues they may be having. If staff is not available at the front desk, they can be reached by the phone in the lobby. I apologize that you were not made aware of that.

Thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you again soon to show you our enhanced efforts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Asked for room on higher floor and was told room next to entry on ground floor was the only one available. Talking and laughing outside window went on early and late. Smoke alarm went off in the middle of the night and fire department roamed around with no explanation. A pile of dry macaroni, paper scraps and dirt adorned the middle of the carpet and heater didn't work in the room with no extra blankets. But the microwave worked and ice trays were full.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yakity_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Front desk staff is untrained and not helpful. Fridge in room was not turned on so we couldn't keep our food cold and there is no ice machine. Utensils were dirty. Coffee pot still has a coffee filter in it from who knows when, it's moldy! The bed was badly made with the top sheet and blanket practically short sheeted. The room smelled terrible of chemicals.
This hotel looks nice and was fairly comfortable. The people and the work they are doing are the problem.
I know this is a hard job because I've done it before. But if people would just do the job they are supposed to do right the first time, it is possible to do it right.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BNT71185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We appreciate you letting us know about the cleanliness issues in the room. I want to let you know that this is definitely not our standard here. We are sorry for this issue, and are ensuring that guest rooms are inspected thoroughly before guest check-in. Still, I am happy to read that you where satisfied with your overall stay at our hotel.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Just somewhere to sleep really,no frills. But our room did have a mini kitchen ,not really any grocery around to utilize. 1 fast food place,so that's limited. And bring your blow dryer and toiletries,none provided except I sml bar of soap.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wickedblondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. I'm glad that we were able to accommodate you during your stay. I would like to let you know that we do have hair dryers and additional toiletries for guest at the front desk; I apologize that you were not informed of that at check-in.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were adequate, basic. Beds were comfortable.

Basically, you need to ask for everything you need (hair dryer, soap) but the service is friendly.

No maid service or fitness center.

Free coffee and pre-packaged breakfast bars / muffins.

Located right off highway, next to 7-11 and Jack in the Box.

Stay here if its close to where you want to be... Otherwise no reason to pick this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citymusiclover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am glad to read that you were pleased with the friendliness of our staff and the cleanliness of your room. As well, it is great to read that you liked our grab-and-go breakfast as well as our hotel's location.

Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tumwater
0.5 mi away
Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
1.7 mi away
Best Western Tumwater-Olympia Inn
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Olympia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 9 in Olympia
126 reviews
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater

Address: 1675 Mottman Rd SW, Tumwater, WA 98512-7833
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Tumwater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tumwater
Price Range: $82 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Extended Stay, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Tumwater
Extended Stay Tumwater
Tumwater Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing