We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty room and noise; unacceptable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tumwater
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Dirty room and noise; unacceptable”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Our one night stay at Extended Stay in Tumwater/Olympia was a complete disappointment. We checked-in late evening, and shortly after realized simple expectations when staying at a hotel were not met; clean room and quiet accommodations.

It was obvious the room had not been cleaned since the previous guest had checked-out. Dirty toilet. Garbage in trash bins. No drinking glasses or coffee mugs. Carpet needed vacuum. No dish soap. Bedding on queen sized bed was fit with twin sheets and was thin.

Again, simple expectations when staying in any hotel is a clean room and quiet accommodations. Front desk closes at 11pm and is literally abandoned all night. This is unacceptable when you check-in and find major problems with your room. The rest of the night was not pleasant; blaring television from the room above and snoring from a guest above or next door. Again, how can Extended Stay rectify a poor and uncomfortable situation for a guest when the hotel is literally not available overnight?

I will not recommend this hotel to anyone. I hope it was just bad timing and an isolated incident.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Ryan - Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Please accept our apologies that you where checked in to a dirty room. As this hotel's manager, I can assure you that this is an isolated incident and I will be working with my team to ensure this doesn't happen in the future. Also, I want to let you know that we always have someone here on-site to assist guests with any issues they may be having. If staff is not available at the front desk, they can be reached by the phone in the lobby. I apologize that you were not made aware of that.

Thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you again soon to show you our enhanced efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    27
    15
    12
    16
See reviews for
34
16
10
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Asked for room on higher floor and was told room next to entry on ground floor was the only one available. Talking and laughing outside window went on early and late. Smoke alarm went off in the middle of the night and fire department roamed around with no explanation. A pile of dry macaroni, paper scraps and dirt adorned the middle of the carpet and heater didn't work in the room with no extra blankets. But the microwave worked and ice trays were full.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yakity_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumwater, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Front desk staff is untrained and not helpful. Fridge in room was not turned on so we couldn't keep our food cold and there is no ice machine. Utensils were dirty. Coffee pot still has a coffee filter in it from who knows when, it's moldy! The bed was badly made with the top sheet and blanket practically short sheeted. The room smelled terrible of chemicals.
This hotel looks nice and was fairly comfortable. The people and the work they are doing are the problem.
I know this is a hard job because I've done it before. But if people would just do the job they are supposed to do right the first time, it is possible to do it right.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BNT71185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We appreciate you letting us know about the cleanliness issues in the room. I want to let you know that this is definitely not our standard here. We are sorry for this issue, and are ensuring that guest rooms are inspected thoroughly before guest check-in. Still, I am happy to read that you where satisfied with your overall stay at our hotel.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Just somewhere to sleep really,no frills. But our room did have a mini kitchen ,not really any grocery around to utilize. 1 fast food place,so that's limited. And bring your blow dryer and toiletries,none provided except I sml bar of soap.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wickedblondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. I'm glad that we were able to accommodate you during your stay. I would like to let you know that we do have hair dryers and additional toiletries for guest at the front desk; I apologize that you were not informed of that at check-in.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were adequate, basic. Beds were comfortable.

Basically, you need to ask for everything you need (hair dryer, soap) but the service is friendly.

No maid service or fitness center.

Free coffee and pre-packaged breakfast bars / muffins.

Located right off highway, next to 7-11 and Jack in the Box.

Stay here if its close to where you want to be... Otherwise no reason to pick this place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citymusiclover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am glad to read that you were pleased with the friendliness of our staff and the cleanliness of your room. As well, it is great to read that you liked our grab-and-go breakfast as well as our hotel's location.

Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Staff was great, room was clean (appeared newly remodeled), microwave and refrigerator worked well, and had a free Grab-N-Go breakfast every morning...everything I needed to live comfortably throughout my 38 day stay. The Tumwater location was only 20 min away from JBLM where I was working for the 38 days, so the drive wasn't too bad. There is a Mall within a few miles of the Extended Stay, so I was always close to a store for anything I needed. Great place...hope I get to stay there again.

Room Tip: I suppose it depends on your preferences....I was on the first floor and enjoyed the convenience of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark1073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Mark - I appreciate you taking the time to write such a positive review. It's great to hear that we were so conveniently located for your job and all your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tumwater
0.5 mi away
Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
1.7 mi away
Best Western Tumwater-Olympia Inn
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Olympia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Olympia Lacey
4.9 mi away
Ramada Olympia
Ramada Olympia
#2 of 9 in Olympia
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater

Property: Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater
Address: 1675 Mottman Rd SW, Tumwater, WA 98512-7833
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Tumwater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tumwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Extended Stay, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Tumwater
Extended Stay Tumwater
Tumwater Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing