We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We won't be back!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Tumwater
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tumwater
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The hotel itself is OK. Upon arriving, we found that the room wasn't very clean-stuff all over the floor to where we left a note and asked housekeeping to please be sure to vacuum the room. Small lobby with not enough room for people to sit around and talk. We were there while there was a youth sporting event going on near by and the lobby was full of people most of the time. The breakfast area is also small, but seemed well stocked.
We had a reservation for a king suite. In the bedroom, our TV didn't have sound for 2 days and then on the second night, had someone in and out of our room until midnight. Finally, on the 3rd day, we got a newer TV (after repeated calls to get the problem addressed). The guy that was working on our problem (while also working the front desk) was really nice and suggested that we talk to the manager to see about getting a discount on our room for the problems. He said that he would be upset if it were him and said that it shouldn't have been like that. The manager was quite rude and didn't even want to hear about our problem.
On our 4th day there, someone thought it would be funny to put the "Do not disturb" sign in the door so our room didn't get cleaned. When we called down to ask for clean towels, there was no attempt to try to rectify the situation. We realize that things like this can happen, but there were teenagers in the halls at all hours and it didn't appear that there was any attempt to try to control it. Several times, we even had teenagers yelling and screaming into the elevator intercom while we were riding in it (from outside of the elevator), which was pretty annoying.
We went down to use the hot tub and it was so gross that we got out as soon as we saw all of the crud in the water and the layer of grossness on top of the water.
We have stayed at Comfort Inn and Comfort Inn & Suites many times before and we were very disappointed in this stay. We won't stay at Comfort Inn after this stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AlisaZ503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnTumwater, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Tumwater, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2011

Dear AlisaZ503,

Thank you for taking the time out of your travels to bring such matters to my attention. We try very hard as a company to accomodate all of our guests, however small the request may be. I am sincerely sorry that you had to go to such lenghths to get what you deserved from the very beginning. The staff member that you are speaking of do you remember his name? He should be commended for treating you as you should have been treated by each of our staff members including management. If you would be so kind as to email me the details of your stay so that I can commend those that need to be commended and repramand those that need to be repramanded. Again I am very sorry that your stay with us wasn't an enjoyable stay, and I would like the opportunity to win your trust back, please email me at marketingcomfortinn@comcast.net. I would like the opportunity to retify this horrible experience in any way that I can!

Thank you again for taking the time out of your travels to bring these matters to my attention, I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,
Rhiannon Holloway
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn Tumwater
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 244 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

Bed was comfortable, room was clean, great continental breakfast with a wide variety. Personnel were friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MovingChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnTumwater, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Tumwater, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2011

Dear JuneauChris,

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your travels to write such an informative review on our property. We look forward to continued visits from you!

SIncerely,
Rhiannon Holloway
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Not much to say here except that once you are checked in, you're non-existent. The rooms are clean and comfortable and include microfridges. The fitness room was below average and if you're standing at the front desk needing assistance...forget it, if the phone is ringing.
The staff, including the mgr is under trained. Maybe it was an off week for them. Clean hotel and comfortable for a nights stay but I wouldn't do a week there again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cliffsiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Excellent service; the guest laundry was wonderful and busy; great breakfast; but, watch out for the complicated TV remote.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theresa_bert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnTumwater, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Tumwater, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2011

Dear Theresa B,

Your review was short but intuitive and very funny. Thank you for taking the time to review us! We hope to see you again soon, and hopefully next time one of our remote control specialists will be on staff to help you with that tricky remote :)

Sincerely,
Rhiannon Holloway
Sales and Catering manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

There's no getting around it.. the mattress and boxspring were cheap and well beyond their intended service life. Definitely not what the typical Comfort Inn offers. In addition, the bedframe squeaked loudly when getting in or out of bed. My room (on 2nd floor) also had an uneven floor that made it seem as though you were either walking uphill or downhill depending upon where you were in the room. Not a problem really, but unusual.

Other than these issues, the Hotel is actually pretty good. Secluded location, very friendly staff, and very clean. Breakfast was also good and was served in a nicer setting than most Comfort Inn's have to offer. Unfortunately, (for me at least) the "hot" items offered were biscuits & gravy (yech), and the usual messy self-serve waffle routine. Not interested in either. On the other hand.. the Yogurt offered was a local brand that was much better than the usual CI Yoplait junk. I liked the local touch there.

Overall, I'd stay again. I'd just ask for a room with a better mattress.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank room_surveyor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnTumwater, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Tumwater, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2011

Dear Room_serv

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy travels to write such an informative review on our property. The company has been working very hard to replace our beds as we value how comfortable our guests stays are.Please check with us next time you are in town so we can make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible. Thank you for taking the time to notice our breakfast as well, we try very hard to set ourselves apart from other choice hotels, however we have to follow brand standards, but we are glad that you enjoyed our yogart and hope that we get to see you again and again. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and we hope to see you again so we can exceed your expectations!

Sincerely,
Rhiannon Holloway
Sales and Catering Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed here on the eighth day of our family trip when we were returning home, and the room we stayed in this hotel was the best of of all. It was very clean, spacious, and very quiet. The complementary breakfasts were excellent, and we have not seen such variety anywhere else, not only in this trip, but everywhere in general. The staff are also very friendly, and so this turned out to be a perfect place to rest.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnTumwater, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Tumwater, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2011

Dear Galina M,

Thank you for taking the time out of your travels to write such a thoughtful review on our hotel. We as a family are so glad that we got to have you as part of our family during your travels. We value all of our guests stories and reviews during their travels here and we are thrilled that we were privledged enough to be apart of your vacation! We look forwad to seeing you again soon! Thank you again for your intuitive review on our property and enjoy the rest of your trravels!

Sincerely,
Rhiannon Holloway
Sales and Catering Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 1 nite while travelling up the West coast. We were given a suite, because it was the only room available. The room was very nice, clean, and the cost was 109. including a buffet type breakfast. The help was great, no probs here at all. This hotel proudly displays the Tripadvisor recommended decal on it's front door, and we can understand why it does!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrolds69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnTumwater, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Tumwater, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2011

Dear Mrolds,
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your travels to write such an intuitive review on our property. We appreciate your review! We hope to see you again on your travels and I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Rhiannon Holloway
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tumwater
0.0 mi away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Tumwater
1.7 mi away
Best Western Tumwater-Olympia Inn
2.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites - Tumwater / Olympia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Olympia
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Olympia Lacey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Tumwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Tumwater

Address: 1620 74th Ave SW, Tumwater, WA 98501-5751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Tumwater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tumwater
Price Range: $86 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Tumwater 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn(R) Conference Center Tumwater-Olympia hotel in Tumwater will get you rested and ready for anything. We're merely minutes from downtown Olympia and the Washington State Capitol Campus. You'll find plenty of other sites and activities to explore near our smoke-free leisure hotel in Tumwater, some of which include: East Bay Waterfront Park Olympia Regional Airport Tumwater Falls Park Hands On Children's Museum Our pet-friendly Tumwater hotel caters to both vacationing tourists and business travelers alike with complimentary services and amenities such as FREE Continental Breakfast, FREE WiFi, FREE Daily newspapers, access to indoor heated pool, Exercise room, Business center and guest laundry facilities. What does FREE BREAKFAST mean to us? We offer everything from eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, waffles, cereal, oatmeal to healthy options like yogurt and fresh fruit. Comfy guest rooms are furnished with TVs, coffee makers, microwaves, refrigerators and hair dryers. Select rooms include kitchenettes, desks and whirlpools. Create your perfect stay at the Comfort Inn Conference Center Tumwater -Olympia. We offer spacious and comfortable rooms with all the amenities you can count on. Get rested, set, go-book a room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Tumwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Tumwater Hotel Tumwater
Tumwater Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing