We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the Worst Stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Seattle/Southcenter
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Tukwila
Certificate of Excellence
Hillsboro, United States
1 review
“Not the Worst Stay...”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Overall, disappointing. Could hear the neighbors in their rooms and people in the hallway. Hot tub was lukewarm and dirty. Staff seemed as if it was a bother to check us in. Housekeeping was great, bed was dependably comfortable. Breakfast was passable. Will not be my first option going forward for my monthly trips to Seattle area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    251
    105
    34
    21
See reviews for
197
224
45
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
136 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Located near South Center Mall with easy access to and from highway 405 and I-5, this well kept property is right in the middle of a group of hotels. Our price was reasonable compared to the other hotels but was every bit as upscale. The hotel staff was most helpful and very friendly offering maps to places I need to find. I travel quite a bit and my expectations were exceeded in that department! The beds were comfy (room was on the smaller side but not cramped for 2 adults) and the bathroom big, clean and functional.

Our first floor room in the #120 range was close enough to the lobby and breakfast area but far enough to be quiet. Ice/vending was close by as was the fitness room and the doorway out to the beautiful pool area. Shades on the window were cellular blinds that kept out noise and light. Very nice!

The bathroom has a real hair dryer (not an on the wall unit that hardly does the job) and has 3 angled mirrors. The mirrors are not angled enough to see your back but they do have better views and increases the lighting. The doorway in is on an angle opening up the bathroom itself so as not to be cramped.

Our room also had a refrigerator and a nice flat TV with a bed-buddy desk. On the far wall when entering the room, located next to the window was a desk and a tall slim closet that seemed to be all one unit but classy.
Plugs were located on the wall between the 2 beds (nice for charging my phone and allowing my alarm to be close by) as were 2 lights with separate on/off switches.

Out the entrance 2 lights to the left is Strander Blvd...that takes you to the shopping area of South Center Mall. Starbucks is next to Barnes and Noble about .3-.4 miles down Strander on the left.

Out the entrance to the right at the second 2 light is the entrance to highway 405 north.

**If you are headed to the Hampton Inn from 405 north and you get off at the Valley Highway exit, when you come off the exit to the light and turn right, get into the left lane immediately...the Hampton comes up just under the highway on your left. Well landscaped you might not see the property or the turn for the entrance so be prepared. there is a traffic light there for your turn left.

Room Tip: rooms on the first floor mid-120 range were still quiet but close to lobby/ breakfast/ pool/ vending...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NifT33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at the Hampton for a couple of nights, combining a Spring Break getaway with picking up someone from the airport.

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful during our stay.

From my perspective, standard Hampton expectations were met, though I hoped for evening cookies that some Hamptons offer. The room and bathroom is a bit smaller than other Hampton hotels we have stayed at and the closet was at the end of the room, instead of by the door. Our room was quiet as we faced the road.

The hotel is right by the exit from the 405 and is close to South centre mall (by car) and SeaTac airport. Of the nearby hotels, it is the closest to the 405. There are 2 fast food restaurants (hamburger and Mexican) within walking distance, but a good selection of restaurants are by the mall which is a quick and straight-forward drive away. The airport was close by.

A tip for those with older GPS units, you can access the hotel by going straight across at the first signal off the exit, instead of turning right and then two lefts.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden, Idaho
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Our stay is leisure and we enjoyed the room. Great bed, bathroom roomy and very well supplied. Breakfast is great also. We did hear the trains late at night but were not usually loud. Stayed on first floor, middle part of hotel. did request a quiet room. Overall, we recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank berkshire70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
198 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

This is a solid hotel, newer feeling property, clean and not run down. The front desk staff was prompt and efficient. The rooms were OK and the breakfast was as expected: TERRIBLE. In fairness almost all of them are - Holiday Inn, Comfort Inn, etc. So, no meaningful knock on the Breakfast it's free ANC often in life, we get what we pay for.

My only real beef with this place is the price. For a place that is CLOSE (but not in) Southcenter it is priced like it's in. For $10.00 more you can stay at the Embassy Suites and walk to dining and shopping.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cachims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock
Level Contributor
156 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My second time to stay at this hotel and it was as nice the second time as the first. Friendly staff, clean rooms and good hot breakfast can be expected. The location was great for me due to the close proximity to a Boeing facility that I had meetings at. If you are looking for a property close to some of the more popular tourist attractions, Space Needle, Public Market, etc, this is not really where you want to stay. While it is a nice community with good restaurants and shopping nearby, it is not really near some of the more popular tourist attractions. As other reviewers have stated about this property see if a room away from the interstate is available at check-in unless the sound of traffic has a tendency to lull you to sleep!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fox50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Small but clean room, with basic hot complimentary breakfast and friendly staff. Most positive is the location near airport, major highways with easy access. Just a few interstate miles from my business. Good parking, and in vicinity of large mall, fuel stops, and grocery stores. Also next to Metro train station, so a train horn sounded from time to time but not obnoxious.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tukwila
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Seattle Airport - Southcenter
1.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Seattle Airport
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites Seattle - Tacoma Airport / Tukwila
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Seattle-Airport/28th Ave
0.2 mi away
Ramada Tukwila Southcenter
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Seattle - Tacoma International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Seattle/Southcenter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Seattle/Southcenter

Property: Hampton Inn Seattle/Southcenter
Address: 7200 S 156th St, Tukwila, WA 98188-5549
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Tukwila
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tukwila
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tukwila
#4 Family Hotel in Tukwila
#5 Business Hotel in Tukwila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Seattle/Southcenter 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn Seattle/Southcenter offers free shuttle service to/from Seattle-Tacoma International Airport and minutes from sports stadiums, Museum of Flight, Elliot Bay Waterfront and Pike Place Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Seattle/Southcenter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Seattle / Southcenter Hotel Tukwila
Hampton Inn Tukwila
Tukwila Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing