We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in South Seattle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Seattle South/Tukwila
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Tukwila
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, MB
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“A great place to stay in South Seattle”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stayed at the Residence Inn Seattle South for 5 nights during a recent visit to Seattle. It's proximity to many local services, and it's high rating on Trip Advisor were the two key factors for choosing this property! The Trip Advisor community did not disappoint!

First off, the property is very large and sprawling, and consists of 18 two storey buildings plus the lobby. Each building has 4 suites per floor. We were lucky enough to get building #18 (room 1811), which was at the far end of the property, and nearest to the only parking lot that isn't completely full by 10pm! Check in was a breeze, and no issues with our reservation. A quick swipe of my credit cart, and we were off to see our home away from home. We took a ground floor studio suite, which is an open concept room, complete with hideaway bed, fire place, and full kitchen. We never did use the stove or microwave oven, but the fridge kept our drinks cold! The room was extremely clean, and appeared to be in perfect repair. There was new carpet throughout, which is a big plus for us, as worn carpet can make a clean room look poorly. The kitchen was spotless, and the appliances looked brand new. Clearly, they don't get a whole lot of use, or they had been replaced recently. The washroom was immaculate, and a good side as well.

A continental breakfast is included with the room, including hot items like eggs and waffles, as well as cereal, fresh fruit, breads, and juices. We only took advantage of this on our last day as we were checking out. Apparently they also host a "happy hour" in the lobby in the late afternoon, although we were never around during this time, and did not participate. There is also a nice flat screen TV in the room, though we didn't use that, either. One thing we did use was the free WI-FI. Although a little clunky to log in to every time we turned on our devices, it was fast and got the job done. Our room was fairly quiet. The first couple of nights, there must have been a young family in the room above ours, so there was some stomping, but this did not affect us. The air conditioning in the room worked perfectly, which was good, since we happened to arrive on one of the warmest days in Seattle so far this summer!

There is a creek running behind the property, with a paved walkway alongside. Nice for a stroll. The property also has a small swimming pool and badminton court which looked nice. There is a 7-11 convenience store right across from the lobby, in the same parking lot. Across the street, there is a Taco Bell and a Jack in the Box. The mall is a 5 minute drive due west of the property.

We would definitely recommend this property to family and friends, and look forward to returning here on a future trip to the area!

Room Tip: Suggest ground level (first floor) room. No Stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StewieYWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TukwilaGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Seattle South/Tukwila, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you very much for the glowing review. I was excited to read your review and happy to hear your time in Seattle was enjoyable. I'll make sure to share your kind words with our staff in our daily stand up this morning. We look forward to seeing you next time your travels bring you back to the area.

Safe travels,

David Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    72
    30
    4
    11
See reviews for
99
53
12
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syosset
2 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2014

I stayed on two separate occasions and both suites were very clean. The towels are super soft - unlike any I've ever seen in a hotel. The staff go out of their way to accommodate. Traveling alone I felt very safe. Airport transfers are free and fast. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

The pillows are way too fat, but I discovered a soft flat pillow in the closet so there's nothing to complain about. :)

Room Tip: You will hear footsteps above if you're on the first floor. Also avoid rooms near the recreatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TukwilaGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Seattle South/Tukwila, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I'm glad to hear that you've enjoyed our hotel during your past few visits. We hope to see you next time your travels bring you back to the Tukwila area.

Best regards,

David Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Found myself stranded in Tukwila WA at the very last minute due to business.

My "regular" place to stay is at the Residence Inn; in the past, it has been my home away from home and everything about them has been Awesome!! I have previously reviewed this property and really really boasted about how they go the extra mile for their guests...

Well that was then, and now is now and now they kinda suck...

Harsh, true...but if there is one thing I despise about companies is their apparent lack of loyalty to customers who are loyal to them.

Let me explain: As mentioned, I was stranded in Tukwila. I checked every single hotel chain for rooms...nothing for 36 miles. Marriott's web site said they (Residence Inn plus all their other local properties), were all sold out. So...I called the Residence Inn. Being a frequent traveler I know most hotels block a room or two for emergencies...I was hoping that my previous relationship and loyalty to this property would help me get a room. Not only was that an EPIC FAIL, the lady at the front desk (one whom I haven't already met and so I did not know her by first name) was like "Sorry, we are all sold out". I explained I am Marriott Platinum Elite...to no avail. I explained I stay there regularly...to no avail. And with that, she promptly ended the conversation and hung up.

Pissed off is an understatement...Was about to ask her to check the other local properties to see if she could arrange something, but nope, "bye bye" and dead phone.

So, what did I do next? I drove to the Courtyard (by Marriott) --- 3/4 of a mile away from the Residence Inn --- and the extremely nice lady there booked me the last of their 2 blocked rooms. Yes, it cost me $300, but it was a hell of a lot better than sleeping in the rental car!!

For those out there who will correctly point out that it is not the Residence Inn's fault I was stranded: You are correct, it is not their fault. Let me turn this back however and state that "Hospitality" and "Customer Service" looks for solutions and NOT blame. I do not blame them for me being stranded, but I darn sure blame them for a terrible efforts to help a once-loyal customer.

Residence Inn Seattle South / Tukwila will NOT be seeing me or other members of my company any time soon if I have my way about it. No excuse for lack of service or loyalty to their customers!

Room Tip: Unless you are with Boeing or Microsoft...Good Luck in getting rooms. Book well well in advance if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TukwilaGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Seattle South/Tukwila, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm sorry to hear that you had such a bad experience with our hotel. For the past several months the Tukwila area has been very busy with summer, and business travelers. I can assure you that we don't hold back rooms and when you called we really didn't have any rooms available. I agree with you that we should have made the effort to call around or check online to see if any Marriott's in the area had rooms. I will be bringing this up in my next meeting so that my staff may be reminded to give great service to all of our guests. If you'd like to discuss this a bit more please feel free to reach out to me at 425-226-5500.

Best regards,

David Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Our Soccer team stayed at this hotel July 22-28, 2014 and was presently surprised at the quality of service and accommodations. The majority of our team arrived early and they were greeted warmly by the receptionist Sonja who were one of many receptionists who accommodated us to all ends starting with an early check in. We had the use of their conference room at our disposal where we ate and stored our meals. We had the door opened and our items were never tampered or moved. At night the parents were able to relax and wind down int his room and they offered us anything they could to help make our evenings comfortable. Our Shuttle driver Laura was friendly and always available to shuttle our families to and from the airport and to and from Starfire Field. Thank you for a wonderful weekend our boys will never forget!

Green Features: Being from Alberta Canada I was unaccustomed to the lack of recycling services the hotel provided. All bottles were thrown in the trash.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TukwilaGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Seattle South/Tukwila, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm glad to hear that the team had such a great stay. We hope to have you again next year.

Best regards,

David Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed at the Residence Inn Seattle South / Tukwila for four nights in mid July. We found the staff members friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. Having said that, we have stayed at many Residence Inn properties from Arizona to Washington State and are accustomed to the standard usually achieved by these hotels. From our perspective, when you pay $230 - $259 per night (our rate changed during our stay) in a suburban location like this, you should not encounter the following:
(1) No hand lotion or bath bars in the room. We asked at the front desk and were given hand lotion but, at this price, asking should not be necessary.
(2) No schedule of Manager Receptions in the room. We suspect that they were trying to avoid having guests know when the receptions were going to be held. We asked when the schedule would be posted in our room and were told they were being printed but we never did see one.
(3) No hot tub. In a location like Seattle, where an outdoor pool is really only useful for a third of the year, one would expect at least one hot tub for a hotel of this size.
(4) A very modest fitness room - a couple of treadmills and not much else. No air conditioning in the fitness room.
(5) No guest access to the propane barbecues. We were told that we could (go and buy briquettes and) use the barbecue that was on the grounds. Really? So many Residence Inns allow access to propane barbecues!
(6) When the air conditioning in our room stopped working and the temperature in the room climbed to 81 degrees, we were given one fan. Note, there were only two windows that opened in the unit and they only opened about 5" each. The hotel (very willingly) refunded our money for the night due to our discomfort.
(7) Barely adequate parking at night time.

We would characterize the stay as "fine" but not certainly not great.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VancouverLove2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TukwilaGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Seattle South/Tukwila, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel I'm glad to hear that you found our rooms clean and comfortable. I always look forward to reading reviews to hear the good things, but also areas we can improve. I'm aware that we weren't able to get our manager's reception schedule of events into the rooms on time and can assure you it wasn't an attempt to not notify our guests. I'm truly sorry for the troubles with your stay. You brought up quite a few good points and I will be addressing them with my team. We hope to see you again to show you how we've improved.

Best regards,

David Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We spent last weekend at Residence Inn. It was very comfortable, clean. The living area was a little small for four adults. It had great access to I-405 and shopping. It took less than ten minutes to get to SeaTac airport, fifteen minutes to downtown Seattle. Would defininately stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamajujubee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TukwilaGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Seattle South/Tukwila, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thanks for your review. I'm glad to hear that hear that your stay went well! We hope you decide to stay with us next time you're back in the Seattle area.

Safe Travels,

David Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed two nights last week-end. My sister and I arrived early and the staff did not have a room but said they would call as soon as one was ready. They called while we were having lunch. The room was very welcoming and immaculate. The staff was very helpful in giving us directions to the home care where another sister of ours was staying. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Velia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TukwilaGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Seattle South/Tukwila, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Velia,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and our friendly staff!

Best regards,

David Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tukwila hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Seattle/Southcenter
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Seattle - Tacoma International Airport
0.2 mi away
Ramada Tukwila Southcenter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites Seattle - Tacoma Airport / Tukwila
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Seattle Airport - Southcenter
0.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Seattle Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Seattle South/Tukwila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Seattle South/Tukwila

Property: Residence Inn Seattle South/Tukwila
Address: 16201 W Valley Hwy, Tukwila, WA 98188-5529
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Tukwila
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tukwila
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tukwila
#2 Family Hotel in Tukwila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Seattle South/Tukwila 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re traveling to Seattle for business or leisure, the Residence Inn by Marriott Seattle South/Tukwila offers you the perfect ‘Home away from Home’. Our renovated all-suite property features new 37” HD flat screen TVs and has fully equipped kitchens in each guest room featuring granite countertops, stainless steel appliances, full-size refrigerators, 4-burner stove, oven, and microwave. Join us each morning for a complimentary hot breakfast buffet featuring a variety of healthy and indulgent items. Unwind at our Evening Social held Monday through Thursday featuring a light dinner with beer, wine and soda. Stay connected with our business center and complimentary WI-FI throughout our hotel. Residence Inn Seattle South/Tukwila is conveniently located close to Seattle Tacoma International Airport and only 15 minutes to downtown Seattle. Minutes from the Museum of Flight, Starfire Sports complex, and the largest mall in Washington State, Westfield Southcenter Mall, it’s the perfect location for shopping, dining and entertainment. Boeing Training and Flight Services and Boeing Field and Delivery Center are also just down the street, providing a hassle-free commute for our corporate travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Marriott and Hotwire so you can book your Residence Inn Seattle South/Tukwila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Seattle South / Tukwila Hotel Tukwila
Residence Inn Tukwila
Tukwila Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing