We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taqueria Mexicana

Taqueria Mexicana
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Toppenish
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bainbridge Island, WA
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We ducked into Toppenish on our way from Yakima to Fort Simcoe State Park, were hungry, and wanted Mexican food. This little place appealed to us - cars out front, people inside - and was cool on a100 degree day. The server was friendly, relaxed, and efficiently served us and the eight other tables of diners. The cook, the co-owner we were told, readily customized our dishes by adding veggies to my tasty burrito and not adding cheese to my husband's tacos. Satisfying meal and stop.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TrailFeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Small town good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We were passing through town and looked for some lunch. This place caught our eye and we were pleasantly surprised. I had a beer and nachos and my wife had a taco salad. Simple dishes that were done well with nice prompt service that was attentive. Our lunch was $21 which was a great value. I will definitely go there the next time I am in the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sgthompson56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Real Mexican Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

I had a delicious chili dinner with a cold beer. The guacamole was perfect. The salsa was good and hot. The wait staff was very friendly and helpful.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Baldy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zillah, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Menudo & Seafood Soup in the Valley!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Only downfall i can think of about this place is that its too small, but the food is Excellent, homemade tortillas, Menudo is the best here as well as their seafood soup w/ shrimp & veggies is my favorite!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kristyj_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
96 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A great find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stopped in Toppenish to get gas and decided to stop for lunch. We picked the Taqueria Mexicana based on the number of cars parked out front. The store front was nothing special, nor is the interior, but the food was great. The salsa that came with the standard supply of taco chips was flavorful and spicy. I had a combination plate with a enchilada and taco. The taco was nothing special but the enchilada was one of the best I've had. On my next trip through central Washington I'll try to run short of gas near Toppenish just so I can return to Taqueria Mexicana.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Russell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taqueria Mexicana also viewed

 

Been to Taqueria Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing