We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“won't be back”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tonasket
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spectacle Lake Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tonasket
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Don't stay....It looks much better on the website than being there.
Not really kept up, something died by the office and they didn't bother to pick it up, so that stinch was everpresent. The shoreline wasn't kept up, full of dead fish and other uckie things, and it just looked run down. No real place that had a nice view and was clean and quiet. There were lots of families there having a good time, but the overall look of lthe place is trashie and run down. Trash cans full, dirty bathrooms....not a destination.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank tripjunkie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
There are newer reviews for Spectacle Lake Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 17 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2010

Okay so you have to decide what's important to you with this place. First of all, my in-laws made a reservation for a specific lot weeks ago and upon arrival, with two unhappy screaming children in the car, we were advised that they had given away our lot to another person. I won't even list the reason why because it was so bunk. To top it off, the neighbours we had booked their lot ONE YEAR in advance with a confirmation three months ago and they also had their lot "given away." Is the lake nice here? - yes but we will never come here again or recommend it because there are plenty of other beautiful lakes to visit. In addition, they only empty out the garbage here on Monday and Friday which, during a busy summer season, is not sufficient. We have had to deal with overflowing garbage receptacles which have attracted a ton of flies.
We will certainly not return, nor will our neighbours.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank vanmommy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teri2919, Owner at Spectacle Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2010

We are very sorry when the experience at Spectacle Lake Resort is not satisfactory. We try very hard to accommodate everyone and at times it becomes necessary to rearrange campsites or motel rooms to better accommodate all. We did not "give away" a reservation. These folks would have been met with an alternate site or room. We strive to maintain the close relationships we have built with our guests over the last 19 years and will continue to treat them graciously and welcome them as if they were family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

We stayed in the motel (room #5). We wanted an affordable place where we could forego camping. It was $75 a night. It had a great view from the room right on the lake with a picnic table and chairs. It also had a pool that was small, but never crowded and well-maintained. It was a great home base to see the area (I would recommend anyone see the ghost town of Molson!) My only complaints were that the lake was not ok for swimming. The bottom was very muddy and covered with millfoil. My other complaint was the room was very hot. It was almost 100 degrees while we were there. There was no air conditioning and no shade to really cool it down. There is a fan in the room, but I would recommend bringing one from home if you take this trip.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WashingtonMom2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2009

We stayed in the trailer. The lake is beautiful and the resort is a perfect place to stay while exploring the Okanagon. You can get most anywhere with an hour. The view of the surrounding fields, hills and orchards is gorgeous. It was very quiet at night and has all the amenities needed to have an affordable and comfortable vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Countrysam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2008

The owners are wonderful people. Bryce and Teri treat you like you are family.
The cabins are perfect for a fishing getaway. Just want to emphasize that these accomidations are NOT fancy by any stretch of the imagination but they are nice, clean, rustic cabins.
They have a full compliment of utensils and cooking implements, a gas range/oven, and a fridge and freezer combo.
There is a nice common area between the cabins and the lakefront along with fire pits, picnic table and barbeque's.
There is a nice doc to either tie up to or fish off of.
The main office is also a small general store though if you cannot find what you want, Tonasket is only a 15 minute drive to a larger selection.
The campsites and RV spots are also great!
This is a nice quiet area and if you enjoy hiking, biking, fishing hunting or just kicking back and relaxing then this place is awesome.
The rooms do not have tv's or room phones though I think they were talking about putting in wireless access for customers but what this places lacks in modern amenities it has lots of character and is great foir just getting away.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank nautwerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Washington
12
Reviewed July 11, 2006

My husband and i stayed at the wounderful resort spectacle lake while he on home for R and R from deployment in operation freedom. We enjoyed the fishing and beautiful senery. The cabins where a sweet relaxing place to spend some quality time together.we plan on coming back soon and look forward to other wounderful stay. God Bless all. A.K.A Bear and Babygirl

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2005

We have camped and stayed in the motel units on numerous occassions. The experience has always been a pleasure. Spring fishing is a sure bet. A nice clean pool for the kids and relaxation for the adults. The friendly hosts complete the picture for a hassle free get away.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flatttrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spectacle Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spectacle Lake Resort

Address: 10 McCammon Rd, Tonasket, WA 98855-9312
Location: United States > Washington > Tonasket
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tonasket
Number of rooms: 164
Also Known As:
Spectacle Lake Hotel Tonasket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing