We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food was great, service was just Ok.”

Sand Verbena Seafood & Grill98590
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Tokeland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Barbecue, Grill, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Montesano, Washington
Level Contributor
107 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Food was great, service was just Ok.”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We ate here with some friends who had been here before and overall we were very pleased. To start we ordered the Crab Stuffed Mushrooms and they ordered the Crab Dip. Both were great. Our entrees were delicious. We had the Beer Dipped Fish Fry (which came with four large pieces of Cod) and the Fried Oysters. The oysters were the extra small size, which is our preference. I had started off with Clam Chowder which had a great flavor and was a very nice creamy consistency.
During the meal it was pretty clear to us that our server was fairly new to the trade. This was ok because she was very attentive. When our bills were presented, there was a $25 difference between ours and our friends. This was surprising because the only difference between the two meals was 2 beers.
The manager straightened it out quickly (they had undercharged our friends, which was left alone, and had overcharged us, which was corrected and our bill was lowered) and was very pleasant the entire time.
We'll be back again, and once their wait staff gets a little more time in service, the place will become a great destination.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    21
    3
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Oregon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Recommendation”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Don't go for the atmosphere, as there isn't a lot. But the view of Shoalwater Bay is nice and the food and service were both very good. It is definitely worth a visit if you are in or around Tokeland, WA.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wazzuski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University Place, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great new place at the beach!”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Based on the view and the food after 2 visits, we will again return. However, the waitstaff needs some very serious training. On the first visit, in February, our waitress admittedly had never served before. However, she could have been trained on the basics of removing salad/soup dishes before bringing entree. We talked to the manager politely and returned in May. Again, different waitress. She brought out the entree and pushed our salad plates aside with the entree plate!! Between February and May virtually nothing had changed. We had 8 people each time and everyone enjoyed whatever they ordered. Drinks are decent and very low priced. $4.50 for something you pay $9 or $10 for in the city. The wine list is large and the pour is generous. And no tax!! Just have to get that service in order.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing dinner!”
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

I read some very favorable reviews prior to my visit, however I did not have the same experience. I did like the atmosphere- fresh flowers on the tables, comfortable chairs, view, etc. But, the most important thing was the food and that was what came up short. I had the New York steak which I ordered cooked medium. It arrived very overcooked. It was served with their special rice pilaf that was bland and tasteless. My father had the baby back ribs. They had a very thick coating of their special barbeque sauce that tasted a lot like a combination of ketchup and cocktail sauce. Yuk! That special sauce was also served with our appetizer-spicey garlic prawns. The prawns were ok. The sauce was not. The hostess did come by and ask how the food was eventually and I mentioned my steak was very overcooked. She did offer to get a new one but I said no thanks since it had been quite some time since the food arrived and the waitress never even came by the table to see if we needed anything or if the food was ok. I didnt want to wait for it at that point so just ate the one I was served. They offered us a free dessert. We got a piece of chocolate cake covered in a chocolate ganache. The cake was moist but the ganache was terrible. First time I ever had ganache that wasn't smooth-the texture was like crystallized sugar granules. I cant believe they served that. This is not a place that I would ever eat anything off of the dinner menu again. Might try it for lunch sometime. Their beer battered fish and chips looked good when I saw the waitress go by with it for another table.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chackney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cosmopolis, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful View”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Great new addition to the Harbor...restaurant is upstairs, however they have an elevator :) . Wonderful view of cannery slough, wetlands and pacific tide waters. The restaurant has elevated seating in the middle, so everyone has a nice view v.s. people just sitting by the windows. The food was excellent, my wife had the Beer Batter Fish Fry and I the Hemp Burger. The fish was plentiful and Hemp Burger tasty, the only suggestion I would have is they need a non gluten alternative for their burger. Will return enjoyed everything...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sand Verbena Seafood & Grill98590 also viewed

 

Been to Sand Verbena Seafood & Grill98590? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing