We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the visit and tour”

Wolf Haven International
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Tenino
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Provides sanctuary for captive-born wolves, guided visits and educational programs about wildlife.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
173 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Worth the visit and tour”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Please take the tour. Hosts are well informed about the species and take pride in this facility and what it does. Very educational. Just to look at one of these beautiful creatures face-to face and up close is moving. This is not a zoo nor a theme park. It is an educational and support center for the benefit of wolves.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank WisconsinRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    23
    10
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Went to Wolf Haven last year and totally enjoyed it. The guides were very informative. I have lived in the area for years and can't believe I have never been here. I recommend this to EVERYONE!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Joan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilwaco, Washington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice place to take your family”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This was an unexpected joy on our recent Spring Break trip. We enjoyed learning about and seeing the wolfs. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and informative. We learned a lot about why people should not have pet wolfs or breed them with dogs. The gift shop was nice also. If you are in the area I recommend this place especially if you have children.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ilwacohawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Day with the Wolves”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We had a group of about 15 people of all ages and I didn't hear one bad review all day. The guide was very fun and full of knowledge and very eager to answer our many questions, you could tell he loved being there. The place is a bit hard to find but our GPS had no trouble finding the location. Could use a few signs on the road though. The walk in the field and thru the cemetary is well worth the time.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank LauraJW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olympia, wa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Watch Out For The Stragglers”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

The attraction is located a bit off the beaten path so a map would be handy for those visiting from outside the immediate area.The guide instructed us before we started the tour that we should stay together in a tight group, "because wolves are predatory and large groups are intimidating to them, whereas stragglers are vulnerable." Needless to say, none of us wanted to be a "straggler" so we followed on the heels of the guide in lock-step through the gate into the unknown all the while casting about nervous glances. Ah, but it was all in vain. It's not a free roaming compound for wolves as I had first anticipated. It's not a zoo either. It's a place that primarily maintains a wolf population that have fallen upon hard times and/or unfortunate circumstances. Essentially it's a series of high fenced enclosures within the main compound, each containing several wolves. They are not allowed together in a pack. So much for picking off wandering junior, although a foolish individual sticking his hand through the wire mesh might wish he hadn't. The tour was short in distance, but interesting. It's worth an afternoon visit and the admission is for a good cause.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cheezemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wolf Haven International also viewed

 

Been to Wolf Haven International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing