We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Day with the Wolves”

Wolf Haven International
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Tenino
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Provides sanctuary for captive-born wolves, guided visits and educational programs about wildlife.
Edmonds, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Day with the Wolves”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We had a group of about 15 people of all ages and I didn't hear one bad review all day. The guide was very fun and full of knowledge and very eager to answer our many questions, you could tell he loved being there. The place is a bit hard to find but our GPS had no trouble finding the location. Could use a few signs on the road though. The walk in the field and thru the cemetary is well worth the time.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank LauraJW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    25
    10
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
olympia, wa
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Watch Out For The Stragglers”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

The attraction is located a bit off the beaten path so a map would be handy for those visiting from outside the immediate area.The guide instructed us before we started the tour that we should stay together in a tight group, "because wolves are predatory and large groups are intimidating to them, whereas stragglers are vulnerable." Needless to say, none of us wanted to be a "straggler" so we followed on the heels of the guide in lock-step through the gate into the unknown all the while casting about nervous glances. Ah, but it was all in vain. It's not a free roaming compound for wolves as I had first anticipated. It's not a zoo either. It's a place that primarily maintains a wolf population that have fallen upon hard times and/or unfortunate circumstances. Essentially it's a series of high fenced enclosures within the main compound, each containing several wolves. They are not allowed together in a pack. So much for picking off wandering junior, although a foolish individual sticking his hand through the wire mesh might wish he hadn't. The tour was short in distance, but interesting. It's worth an afternoon visit and the admission is for a good cause.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cheezemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonney Lake, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“wolf haven Tenino WA”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

A great adventure with our granddaughter. The staff is very informative on each species represented and were happy to answer any questions. Peaceful, quiet setting.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank tlah2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellsworth, Maine, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful wolves”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My friend and I enjoyed an informative afternoon tour of the facility. The staff are glad to answer any questions you may have.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“neat place.entertaining and educational”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Lots of animals to see and lots of information from people who know about wolves.up front honest staff.nothing like the sham " wolf center" in winchester idaho

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jed7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wolf Haven International also viewed

 

Been to Wolf Haven International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing