We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Happy Hour”
Review of Pacific Grill

Pacific Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Pacific Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 757 Restaurants in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: South 15th Street
Transit: Convention Center/15th & Commerce LINK light rail station. Pacific Grill is also serviced by many Pierce Transit and Sound Transit buses.
Description: Pacific Grill is Tacoma's Premier Dining Destination. Housed at the Historic Waddell Building in the heart of Downtown Tacoma, Pacific Grill is the perfect location for a delicious dinner, business lunch Boozy Weekend Brunch or Happy Hour. Past Food & Wine Magazine Best New Chef, Gordon Naccarato, brings Tacoma & the South Sound a creative mix of New American, Seafood, Steaks & more. Enjoy Western Washington's Best Happy Hour in our Bar & Lounge!
tacoma
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Great Happy Hour”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This downtown restaurant has happy hour all day Sunday. Their small plates were fun and tasty. The oysters and humus particularly good, the crab dip not so much. A fabulous red blend wine for 5.00. All in all a great experience!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carol y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    429
    197
    76
    22
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Safety Harbot
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice treat for upscale dinner”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Celebrated my sister's birthday while visiting Tacoma at Pacific Grill. The wait staff ga e her special treatment and made her evening. We had a party of five and we all raved about our choices. The steelhead fish was delicious. The mushroom risotto made for a great side dish along with the special soup of cauliflower and Gouda cheese soup. My wife also enjoyed the grilled scallops. We topped off with desserts of bread pudding, chocoholic cake and apple crumble that were all hits. Pricey but worth the trip for special occasions.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fig2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The integrity of the chef's Caesar salad is negatively impacted by a warm protein?”
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Seriously? I have ordered Caesar salads all over the planet with warm protein - grilled chicken or shrimp or steak. But at the Pacific Grill that is not possible. Even if you offer to pay extra. The chef says this ruins the integrity of the dish. Ok. Then I better have the best Caesar salad of my life. Alas, when it arrived I had large pieces of romaine even though the menu says chopped. And the romaine was very wet and tasted like it may have been salted (dressing was on the side so the moisture was not the dressing).
I don't need chefs telling me about the integrity of wanting to eat a warm piece of protein with a simple salad. Come on.
Service was very nice. Setting is fine. All is good - as long as you accept this Chet's definition of integrity. Of a salad?
Seems like the other diners were reasonably happy. Guessing if you order exactly in conformity with the Chet's integrity you will be fine.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank japdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earth
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal with good martini menu”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The Pacific Grill highlights Northwest cuisine and preparation. Overall the service and menu are outstanding... the martini menu is a highlight.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fafaaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stellar meal and service, had reservations- still an awkward wait in curtained foyer overshadows good experience”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Amazing dinner with husband and our 5 year old child. Surprisingly, the Pacific Grill had a kid friendly vibe and kids' menu. My husband and I had lobster and rib eye steaks- amazing and would order again. We had a wonderful bottle of wine and attentive service. Having worked in the service industry and high-end boutique restaurants all through college, I take some levity and personal knowledge when writing an evaluation. This experience could have had 5 stars had the hostess not make us wait 25 minutes beyond our reservations. On top of that, it was in a small closet, awkward-like entry where the "check-in" podium is located. Understandably, a heavy black curtain shields the dining room from the uncomfortable chill that seeps through the front door. That said, it was quite uncomfortable with seating for two...even more uncomfortable as more guests are piling in with standing room only also waiting for their tables. Needless to say, the hostess has an important job of "directing" the seating in the dining room- such where it creates a flow and forces turn-over of tables. Thus communication among the hostess, bussers and servers is paramount in creating and directing that flow.

I love the food at this place and will eat here again... just to see if the seating/hostess situation has improved. FYI, if you're forced to wait almost 30 minutes beyond your reservation, a little "comping" goes a long way.... a drink, appetizer, or dessert could have buffered any mishaps at the front door. I believe in giving everyone a second shot and empowering the sever and hostess for these reasons:)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frk3907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pacific Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing