We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always fun!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosewood Cafe

Rosewood Cafe
Ranked #47 of 741 Restaurants in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kansas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Always fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Great soups, and sandwiches well stuffed and well presented. I had a lovely Italian Soda too, but they offer nice wines. I always enjoy this place and return every time I visit Tacoma.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NewretireeKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    35
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Homer, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Friendly lunch with art”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

One of my daughter's favorite with a pleasant intimate neighborhood feeling. Small, with local art and good wine selection. Outdoor dining if the weather permits. We had soup and salad, nice serving sizes so you don't overstuff yourself and kept my water filled. Sandwiches sounded great and the cowboy cookies, too. Next time...

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gurgi89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
141 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I visited the Rosewood Café on a whim. She mentioned the place only in passing only after a friend of hers used the location as a landmark when giving directions. So after some difficulty considering a decent place to have our father-daughter date, she mentioned it and we went.

Holy crap... what a surprise. Don't get me wrong, the Rosewood is small, loud, and a few years past a needed remodel, but the food and service are amazing. Immediately welcomed with smile and service upon walking in the door, we both felt wanted and appreciated for choosing the Rosewood to eat. The attentive service continued with waters, drink requests, special descriptions, and recommendations. This is what you want from every restaurant but are lucky to get at 20% of them anymore.

My daughter ordered the ham with Granny apple sandwich, and I ordered the Turkey with bacon and Havarti. Both sandwiched were perfectly grilled, perfect sized, delicious, and instant enticement to want to try everything else on the menu. They were that damn good! I also had the cup of Spanish Beef soup of the day which was incredible. As a rule I don't like broth based soups, but this chunky, spicy wonder completely turned my head. I could have happily made a meal of the soup and the local sourdough bread.

We stuck around for the cowboy cookie and apple tart for dessert and weren't disappointed. The flaky crust on the tart was one of the best I've had and the cookie, a dessert gourmet's guilty pleasure.

I am bringing back my daughter for more date lunches, and my wife for dinner fare at first chance. The Rosewood is a gem in the rough well worth a vista... and for me steady patronage. I want to run the menu and already plan to revisit what I've already tried. The food and service are that good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank navswo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Members of our family have visited this restaurant several times now--each time hoping for a better experience. However, each time there have been problems with service, serving size and, more importantly, disappointing flavors. If you are looking for neighborhood ambiance and reasonable prices, this is a good option, but don't go looking for good value.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalStPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great lunch in a good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stopped in here for a lunch with two friends. We each had a delicious lunch, the sandwiches and salads were fresh and well balanced. It's a small cafe--think quaint, not crowded--with very friendly service and a happy atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosewood Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Rosewood Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing