We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”

Marzano's Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 754 Restaurants in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Washington state
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We have eaten at Marzano's several times over the last few years. It seems to me that the food just keeps getting better. We went there about 2 weeks ago with friends. I truly felt it was one of the best meals I have ever had. My wife and I had the Chicken Scaloppini. Our friends had the scallops and pork shank. Our Scaloppini was melt-in-your-mouth flavorful. The sauces were terrific. Presentation of the pork shank was Bon Appetit cover material. For dessert we shared Canneloni and a fruit custard. Service was good. We brought a couple of expensive bottles of wine from home. The corking fee was $15 per bottle but worth it as it would have cost that much for a glass of wine each off the menu for some rather ordinary wine. This is an old converted house so there are several different rooms. Tables are close together which did not bother us but it might some people. We had a delightful time and no one hurried us out of there even though they were at capacity. Try this place. I don't think you will be disappointed. Prices are a little steep but the value is certainly there.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    30
    9
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Port Orchard, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Love this Place!”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Beyond Good! We like to get two entrees, and trade off and on through-out the meal!! We especially love the lasagna and the fettucini.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dmbfaninwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
128 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Super 159th Birthday”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Hers 4/29 Mine 5/5 Started at 45 and now we are up to 159
From shared Appetizer to Main Dish then shared Dessert the meal was
outstanding. The service was excellent. The wine list is extensive.
Yes the tables are close together but always remember the restaurant
is housed in former house. Even with my hearing aids we were able to
have a conversation with no problems.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington
Level Contributor
194 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Excellent experience!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Had lunch with family at Marzano's when dropping off our son to PLU. The place is very nice and comfortable, service is attentive and efficient. We found the food from appetizers to dessert very high quality, well presented and made with fresh ingredients. Excellent wine selection too. Will come back when in town!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PixieSam59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Level Contributor
120 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent service, menu, drinks, and experience”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I was looking for a nice spot for dinner in Tacoma after a visit to the Glass Museum with some out of town friends and selected Marzano after some research on-line. One of my friends is vegetarian and Marzano's menu had a couple of good-looking options. The restaurant is right next to Pacific Lutheran, has some parking out back, and is home-like and comfortable inside. The service is friendly and attentive. The wine list is extensive -- we selected a couple of good glasses from that list -- and they have a selection of beers, both Italian and local micros. The menu is centered on Italian, but it's a modern, diverse, and updated Italian, and offered something for everyone in our party. And the food was terrific! Oh, and be sure to have reservations.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MkTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marzano's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Marzano's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing