We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable place”

Chinaberry Hill - A Luxury Urban B&B Experience
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chinaberry Hill - A Luxury Urban B&B Experience
Ranked #7 of 11 Tacoma B&B and Inns
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Adorable place”
Reviewed November 3, 2011

This is a great place to stay in Tacoma. The location was close enough to walk to some places and an easy drive to others. Our room had a jacuzzi, which we loved and even a step stool to get onto the bed. The decor is great, pretty with a hint of quirky. Breakfast was very good as well

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kylie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    5
    1
    4
    1
See reviews for
6
15
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

My husband and I stayed here after a long search for somewhere affordable and low-scent near Seattle. I have allergies to perfumes and chemicals, and the owners were very aware of these concerns. They also catered to my food allergies with the best breakfast I've ever been served! Kudos to the cook - he's a real gourmet!

We loved our room, there was nice dedicated parking, and the B&B was beautiful, with views of the bay.

We will definitely stay there again when we are in the area.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, the room overlooking the bay is amazingly romantic. The other rooms are also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodwinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Chester, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

This is my third stay at the Chinaberry. I am enchanted by this B & B, the careful collection of beautiful furnishings and eclectic objects, the perfectly curated music mix from Cecil's ipod playing in the downstairs rooms, the ridiculously sumptuous and delicious breakfasts.
The coffee is perfect, the rooms, even the big rooms, feel cozy. There's a well-stocked cookie jar downstairs and a little fridge in the kitchen with complimentary soft drinks.

It's not an inexpensive stay, more than I would usually spend for a hotel visit, but Chinaberry is more than a hotel. It feels like the Victorian home you wish you lived in, and the proprietors are friendly and helpful without being fussy or overbearing. I hope to return again and again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drpg01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Our stay at the china hill was an absolutely wonderful experience. To find such a gem in Tacoma was a wonderful surprise. Cecil is a superb host, the breakfasts were delicious with enormous portions. The room was a charming visit to the past and the antiques were. To die for! We have stayed at many B and Bs over the past 6years and must rate this among the best.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Stayed here (in the 3rd floor suite) with our two adult children. The beds were oh-so-comfortable and the whole place was cozy and comfy. It was nice to have a space for the whole family to hang out together....the suite included a living room and a kitchen.

The hosts are accommodating and gracious. It's not "plush" or "fancy", but it is wonderful and warm.

Just wish I'd discovered it a few years earlier!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2010

Spent 2 nights here for a December getaway, and absolutely loved the environment. The house is stunning, with a view of the water and enormously high ceilings, beautiful dark woodwork, and common areas furnished with with unique items. We enjoyed our upstairs rooms in the carriage house - quirky but comfortable. Yarrow's breakfasts were delicious, and big enough that we didn't need lunch.
Old-house enthusiasts will enjoy roaming the neighborhood, where each massive home is unique and many are truly works of art. It's an easy walk to the museum district as well.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Cecil and Yarrow make you feel at home at the Chinaberry Inn. On my arrival date, I received a phone call from Cecil stating that he had to leave and would not be there when I arrived. He left very clear instructions as to where I would find my instructions and keys. Everything was exactly where he told me they would be. I stayed in the Wild Rose Suite which was very nice. The room was decorated in period furnishings and the bed was very comfortable. The only issue I had with the bathroom was the sink was very small. (not really a problem) I was able to put my toiletries on a shelf above the sink so that was not an issue.

The breakfast served at the Chinaberry Inn are outstanding! I had to tell Cecil to cut my portions in half. (I hate to waste food) Everything was done to perfection! They are very thoughtful and ask about dietary restrictions and would cook accordingly if you had any. Everyday was a real treat with different dishes presented to the guests.

If you enter from the front door, be prepared to climb some pretty steep stairs. If you enter from the back there are only a couple of small steps to the back porch. From the porch you can enter the kitchen and access the main house.

If you are looking for friendly innkeepers, excellent food, and nicely decorated rooms, you should consider the Chinaberry Inn B& B.

Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tacoma hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Murano
Hotel Murano
#3 of 28 in Tacoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,217 reviews
1.1 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Tacoma Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel
2.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tacoma Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chinaberry Hill - A Luxury Urban B&B Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chinaberry Hill - A Luxury Urban B&B Experience

Property: Chinaberry Hill - A Luxury Urban B&B Experience
Address: 302 N Tacoma Ave, Tacoma, WA 98403-2737
Location: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Tacoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* * * Bay Views ~ Fireplaces ~ Private Jacuzzis ~ Guest Cottage * * *Perched on a hill overlooking Puget Sound, this 1889 Grand Victorian Estate offers a unique mix of upscale historic Tacoma Seattle bed and breakfast accommodations. Chinaberry Hill - A Luxury Urban B&B Experience has been featured in several publications, including Amazing Getaways, Best Places to Kiss Northwest, Best Places Northwest, Coastal Living, Conde Nast Traveler, Fodors, Frommers, Sunset Magazine, Travel & Leisure, and many others. "This is one groovy place... better-than-restored with decor that's bold, eclectic, opulent and inviting. A delightful place with secluded garden, hilltop privacy, yet great urban access." --- The Unofficial Guide to Bed & Breakfasts in the Northwest Chinaberry Hill - A Luxury Urban B&B Experience is a Top 10 Frommers pick for both hotels and b&bs in the entire state of Washington. Listed on the National Historic Register, the inn offers retro Victorian ambiance and coffee house cool. Downtown Tacoma shops and theaters, waterfront restaurants and Antique Row are just a few blocks from this remarkable garden retreat. Great breakfasts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Chinaberry Hill - A Luxury Urban B&B Experience reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing