We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great neighborhood place.”
Review of Engine House No. 9

Engine House No. 9
Ranked #107 of 751 Restaurants in Tacoma
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Engine House No. 9 was built in 1907 to provide fire protection for Tacoma's North End. For many years it served as battalion headquarters. It was the last station in Tacoma to convert from horse-drawn to mechanized equipment-in 1919 when Rufus Harben and Earle More made the final symbolic run aboard an Amoskeg steam pumper drawn by the horses Nip, Dick and Joe. Engine House No. 9 was in service until 1965 when it was abandoned and fell into disrepair. Vandals touched off no less than three fires in the building in the ensuing seven years. Although the structure remained, it was stripped and battered and its bones exposed to winter snow and rain when it was discovered by a young newspaper reporter in 1971. Win Anderson and Bob Lane purchased and restored the building, converting the lower floor to a tavern and the second story into an apartment. In August of 2011 the Xitco and Paradise families, having been longtime admirers of Engine House No. 9, became proprietors and stewards of one of Tacoma's Historical Landmarks. Today the building is listed on the National Register of Historic Places
Washington State
Level Contributor
228 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood place.”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We recently moved back to the area, and this is become our go-to place. The food is very good. Standard pub food, but also great finds like their meat loaf, which is out of this world. They have a good variety on their menu.

The atmosphere is fun and relaxing, unless it's really crowded. And then it gets a bit on the noisy side. But then you can't expect anything else, when the dining and bar area is all open. Also, the service, which is usually great, can get a little slow when it's busy.

Try this place. You'll enjoy the food and atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elle1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    46
    12
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The beer is terrible”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Hadn't been here for years due to a bad past experience, decided to try it again, it's still bad!

The beer is warm and tastes bad, we had a beer sampler and not one was even decent (or cold). Yuck. Food is mediocre and very greasy.

The staff is friendly and the old building is pretty cool.....to bad the beer and food don't match that!

Helpful?
Thank PNWlove21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia Falls, Montana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pizza & beer were fantastic!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We were in town visiting friends and we always like to go to a local brewery on our travels. This was hands down the best food in a brewery. Their beer was really tasty as well.
We had a pizza with artichoke & cheese. Best pizza we've ever had. The crust was so good I ate the top part of the crust. The fish & chips were really good as well.
We had a server in training and she did very well getting answers about the beer & food.
We saw a couple of plates of nacho's; they were huge. Big enough to share with 4 or 5 people at least.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Smiths2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and beer”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

My husband loved his bison burger and I really loved my pizza with blistered tomatoes and artichoke hearts. The bear was local and very good. The service was good, our waitress was able to give descriptions of the different beers and offer recommendations. This is a fun place in an old fire house that still has a lot of memorabilia to look at. This is a seat yourself restaurant and there is a sign, so for the reviews that say they didn't know and someone kinda told them, read the sign that is clearly posted :0). Great place and we had no wait on a Saturday night at 5.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food and fun after dark”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

You can bring the whole family to this restaurant most of the day for good food, fun and great atmosphere with plenty to look at in a historic building. Excellent service, food is tasty if not adventurous. After 9 p.m. the Saturday night we were there, the place filled up and became a rockin' karioke bar.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank broncomom78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Engine House No. 9 also viewed

 

Been to Engine House No. 9? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing