We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced but Nice.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Tacoma-Mall
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Overpriced but Nice.”
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

This is a nice property with a friendly staff but is is really overpriced for the market and not the easiest access. The property is pretty modern and the rooms are omfortable and relatively quiet.

One concerning feature is the parking lot gates are closed and locked from dawn to dusk. Also the elevators and the stairwell doors all require key cards for access. It appears that security and safety have been a concern at some point.
One must remember: It is Tacoma after all.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Cachims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    187
    48
    17
    7
See reviews for
202
113
34
233
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
louisville
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The hotel was great, staff was exceptional all in accordance with Hampton/Hilton policy but the neighborhood was questionable. You have to use your key card for all access-business center, elevator, pool, etc. Seemed to be some transients on the sidewalk as we pulled in the parking lot so we were aware. Be cautious, I wouldn't walk to any restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJScar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I mainly stay at Hampton if chains are whats on the menu. This was the highest quailty I have seen in a Hampton and they are all usually very good. I could see small details like wall paper seams and door entry ways were seemless and decorated well. I was impressed. Everything was clean and hotel also had a courtyard. Hot tub was closed for repairs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasFight1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was a great hotel, very clean and modern, great continental breakfast. We did find that this is not within walking distance to the Tacoma Mall, you need to drive there, but there are lots of great restaurants close by. Thanks to the reception gal who guided us to their location after we got lost, she knew exactly where we were!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadianCalgary_AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Very nice clean room. Spacious bright bathroom.

Included buffet breakfast that was more than just rolls and coffee. Had omelets, waffles, fresh fruit, cereal, muffins, juices and more in a very spacious and airy area off the lobby.

My only complaint was that the shower head was quite high up and I was barely able to reach it at 5'8" to adjust the massage head.

The inn is very convenient to the interstate and was a good central location for us since we were 20 minutes away from Gig Harbor, 5-10 minutes away from the Hot Shop Glass Blowing where Dale Chihuly recently did a 5 segment tv show from, 10 minutes away from the aquarium/zoo and traffic cooperating 20 minutes away from downtown Seattle.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, West Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We travel to Tacoma after finding Seattle too busy for us. We bookd in on the Sunday night on our way to Portland. The rooms were great, the breakfast was nice.

The reception staff were exellent. As we checked out, we rebooked for Wednesday night on the way back to Seattle. we were enjoying our visit to Tacoma so much we asked reception if we could stay a extra night.
Charles and Jesus on reception were very helpful sorting out two rooms near each other for us. Our granddaughter loved the pool. We had a very pleasent way.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel as we were here for a kids baseball tournament. We were aware of the neighborhood and just did not venture out at night. The hotel and the rooms were clean, breakfast was just OK. Staff were friendly enough. I wouldn't normally have chosen this hotel but the rest of the team stayed here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainy_Vanc0uver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tacoma hotels
4.8 mi away
Hotel Murano
Hotel Murano
#3 of 28 in Tacoma
3,316 reviews
6.5 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel
0.5 mi away
Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma
4.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tacoma Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Tacoma-Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Tacoma-Mall

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Tacoma-Mall
Address: 8203 S Hosmer St, Tacoma, WA 98408-1044
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tacoma
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tacoma
#3 Business Hotel in Tacoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Tacoma-Mall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Tacoma-Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Tacoma-Mall Hotel Tacoma
Hampton Inn And Suites Tacoma-Mall
Hampton Inn Tacoma
Tacoma Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing