We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Tacoma Near McChord AFB
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Having lived a long time in Tacoma, when I booked this hotel, my expectations were pretty low but I have to say, I was pleasantly surprised. We need a place to stay for a funeral and didn't want to drive back to Seattle between events on Friday and Saturday. I also didn't want to pay a ton of money for a short stay that would be just a nights sleep.

Pros - Great rate. Room was updated with decor to include flat screen, free internet, nice desk area, microwave and mini fridge, new carpet. We liked the San Francisco Soap company items in the bathroom and shower area. The water was hot and we had the iron, ironing board, and a hair dryer. There is a fitness center and a pool/hot tub though we didn't have time to visit them but good to know we could especially if we had brought children. Location to restaurants is also very good. We will head down to have breakfast before we leave. All these amenities for the price I paid was pretty amazing. My other family stayed at a hotel near by that is of equal/slightly less quality and paid double. The young lady who checked me in was nice and efficient and gladly answered all my questions. Location to JBLM is great. Also, not far from things to see and do in Tacoma (Lemay car museum, concerts at Tacoma Dome, Glass Museum and hot shop)

Cons - The blankets were a little thin and it was a cold night. My wife is not a big fan of hotels with doors to the outside. There were a few minor maintenance issues such as the towel rack (room 210) needs a couple of screws and the door sweep needs repair. There was a bit of a gap under the door that was letting cold air flow into the room. Blocked it with a towel which helped the room get warm. The heater seemed to struggle to get warm so I had to take the blankets off the second bed to help keep us warm. It eventually warmed up which was nice. The proximity to JBLM is also a problem in that the hotel seems to be right under the flight path which can be pretty loud.

If you are from the area and have avoided the Howard Johnson, I would suggest you reconsider.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yameekia S, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Tacoma Near McChord AFB, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to respond regarding your recent stay at Howard Johnson, Tacoma. My condolences to you and your family on your recent lost. Thank you for allowing us to provide you with a place to stay while you were in town. All reviews good and bad allow my staff and I an opportunity to grow. We will look upon your review and take the pros and cons in to account. Please consider us again for a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    83
    82
    72
    65
See reviews for
179
65
25
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yakima, WA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed Saturday and Sunday nights. The staff was wonderful in helping us, especially with finding a church including service times and mapping our way out and back. The internet was very fast and worked well on both our i-phone and lap-top. The room was dimly lit but otherwise was clean and cozy. I think the people writing negative feedback must have been staying elsewhere or they were expecting five star quality for a very small price.

Room Tip: Rooms with only one bed or with one bed and a hid-abed are quite roomy. Upstairs rooms have a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerryYakima_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yameekia S, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Tacoma Near McChord AFB, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
I’m happy to hear your stay was enjoyable with us and you enjoyed the very fast internet. I will definitely pass along the comments to my staff in regards to your recent stay. If your travels bring you back to Tacoma we look forward to accommodating you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Front desk was rude. We booked a 2 room suite with a Jacuzzi tub. It was just 2 adjoining rooms where they pulled the bed out of one room and replaced it with a couch. "Jacuzzi" Tub wasn't near the bedroom. It was in the bathroom they chose to make the living room. Only one light worked in each room and they were on the opposite end of the room so you had to stumble around in the dark to find the one tiny button. Old semen stain on back of bathroom door. Black mold in the corner of the bathtub. The heaters were both turned off and the rooms were ice cold as if nobody had stayed there for awhile. I set them for 72 and they never did get there by the time we checked out. The sheets on the bed were thin and there was no comforter provided. The curtain in the "bedroom" was hanging off of the runner on top. There was an old abandoned broken little grill outside on the patio that had obviously been there for awhile. They ran out of most of the food for breakfast by 8am. They pulled the coffee from the lobby at 9am when they stopped serving breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Edward R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yameekia S, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Tacoma Near McChord AFB, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
We make every effort to provide guests with a quality stay. On behalf of my staff and the management I apologize that your trip was less than enjoyable. I look forward to improving on the issues you mentioned in your review. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tacoma hotels

Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Internet was non-existent, even though there were several access points from which to choose. The room was covered in dust on the credenzas (we stayed in a suite). Blankets had holes/stains and were very thin. Curtains were broken, towels were sandpaper, bathroom floors needed to be mopped and floor was buckled, no knob to turn the shower valve on - only screw sticking out of faucet, and I don't even know what was all over the tp rolls. i normally do not even write reviews, but I feel that others should be warned. Unless major changes are made with regard to maintenance and housecleaning, I would NOT stay in this establishment again. There are so many other hotels/inns on the strip that this is unacceptable.

We get out of the house looking to get a night away from the stresses of life and our stay only introduced more stresses. So much so that we were happy to return home again. On a positive note, the front desk staff were very nice and professional. I did not expect them to provide IT support for the lack of internet connectivity. We requested a fridge/microwave and that was provided for us. All I have to say is buyer beware, especially if you are out of towners and don't know the area.

Room Tip: Judging on the condition of our room, I assume many of the rooms are in the same state since this is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GracIeC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yameekia S, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Tacoma Near McChord AFB, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to complete a trip advisor survey. Your feedback is important to our continued growth. I apologize for your dissatisfaction and the condition of the room at our property. We do pride ourselves on every guest having an enjoyable stay, from a clean comfortable room to a wonderful breakfast. I’m happy to know our front desk staff provided a great check in experience and great service. I would love for you to make contact with me directly at the property at your convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tacoma hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 28 in Tacoma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Tacoma
Red Lion Hotel Tacoma
#14 of 28 in Tacoma
3.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crossland Economy Studios - Tacoma - Hosmer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Tacoma
Comfort Inn Tacoma
#11 of 28 in Tacoma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
6.9 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Tacoma Near McChord AFB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Tacoma Near McChord AFB

Property: Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Tacoma Near McChord AFB
Address: 8726 S Hosmer St, Tacoma, WA 98444-1837 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Tacoma/Joint Base Lewis-McChord)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Tacoma Near McChord AFB 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Interstate 5 the Howard Johnson Inn And Suites has been newly remodeled. Within minutes of Joint Base Lewis-McCord and Madigan Army Hospital we are a perfect fit for long term stays with numerous two room suites. The Tacoma Dome and Tacoma Area Conference Center are close by without the burden of the Downtown Tacoma traffic. We offer free Continental Breakfast and free Wi-Fi internet access in all guestrooms and public areas. Go for a swim in our seasonal outdoor pool and spa. Our hotel offers guest laundry service and free parking for vehicles of any size. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Tacoma Near McChord AFB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing