We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
Vancouver
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Better than we expected”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

This is an older Best Western, located immediately adjacent to the Tacoma Dome in Tacoma. An older part of town, we found the hotel clean, the staff friendly and very accommodating. Not a lot of parking (which is indoor) The AC didn't cool off the room very well, but the windows opened and allowed fresh air. We found the hotel was good value.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWBW, General Manager at Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thank you so very much for your kind words about our property, We are trying our best to improve our service on the basis of guest feedback. Please note best rate and room choices are always available if you book directly from our front desk. We will always be lower than any internet rate, just ask for MRrate. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    249
    157
    38
    35
See reviews for
184
195
38
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We saw the Van Halen / Kool & The Gang show there on May 5th, and stayed one night at the hotel due to it's proximity.

In all, the check-in was the only real drag. They didn't have the room ready when we showed up a few minutes before the check-in, 3pm. It took until shortly after 3pm that they finally had the room available.

Other than that, great location for shows. Literally, walk out of the hotel and through the parking lot to the Dome. Opposite from the dome, the other direction down the hill led to where the Paya Thai Fish and Chips place is, as well as a whole indoor food court in a restored warehouse style building, plus the conveniently located train station/bus station. We took the bus super easy from the airport down and it lets you off right around the corner and down a short hill from the hotel.

Leaving was the same convenience. Buffet breakfast was a super cool thing the next morning. Basic, but of value, no doubt, and all fresh, reasonable American style hot and cold breakfast food (eggs, bacon, waffles, etc.)

Room Tip: Service is marked poor only for the unreasonable wait upon arrival; everything else was very good ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travels808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWBW, General Manager at Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words about our property. We try to improve our services by listening to guest feedback and reaaly appriciate any advise. Please note for best rate and room choice call the hotel fron desk. We hope to see you again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

This was my third time in three years at this hotel and definitely my last. The only view I have ever been able to get is of the Tacoma Dome parking lot. Even though I book reservations far in advance the rooms with a view of the harbor are, according to the front desk, completely booked. Although it is not located in the best of neighborhoods they have an underground parking facility which used to be protected by a security gate. Unfortunately, the gate no longer functions so it stays open all night. There are two parking levels but they refused to open level B; we returned that night to find level A full and had to park in an area that is completely unsecure and unsafe. The TV did not work. The sink produced only hot water so we went out to get ice and found ice machines out of order on our floor and two others. Towels were so threadbare I felt like leaving them some of mine out of sympathy. The tiny toilet low to the floor reminded me of using a ditch for a latrine. Hair from the previous tenant greeted us on the floor of the shower. Breakfast was okay but doesn't make up for the negatives. Thumbs down on this place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrampaTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWBW, General Manager at Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
I am so sorry that you did not feel that your stay was not satisfactory. Please note rooms are first come first serve as far as which side of the building one gets to stay. I checked the ice machines there seem to be no issues with them. Please feel free to get my attension while you are at my property in the future so may fix issues you had while you are visiting.
We do appriciate your repeat business and hope you come back. Also note BEST RATE and ROOM CHOICE is available when you buy a room directly from the hotel. Thank you and hope you have a safe trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
162 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We picked this place 'blind' while on the road. We walked in and got a room for a very good rate. I was expecting a minimalistic room but was pleasantly surprised by a very nice room. The room had nice wooden furniture and rich bedding. The room was immaculately clean down to the bathroom tiles.

The location was perfect as it was just off the freeway, right next to the Tacoma Dome (which we didn't visit), 15 minutes from the zoo (which we did visit) and within walking distance of shops and restaurants.

We also got a free breakfast buffet. What a great variety! There was a a hot food bar, cereal bar, fresh pastries, juice, waffle machines and a delightful fruit salad. It wasn't gourmet food but it was great as far as free breakfasts go!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KimJ_in_Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWBW, General Manager at Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words about our property. We appriciate your feedback and look forward to see you again. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Best Western Tacoma Hotel last night while going to the Jeff Dunham show at the Tacoma Dome. The proximity to the Tacoma Dome was fabulous. While others were fighting their way out of the parking lot, we were already comfortably settled in our room. We went to the bar to have a drink upon our return to the hotel and they were poorly equipped for the large influx of people; not enough tables, not enough wait staff. Several people came into the bar then turned around and left.

Having said that, the room was nice enough but the restaurant was disappointing. We went down for dinner and were met with "we have a very limited menu." We had the option of ordering from a menu that consisted of little more than bar appetizers or the buffet of pastas, veggies, and a roll. Not exactly a very comprehesive menu of choices. There was a notice on their web site stating that the restaurant isn't open for lunch "until further notice." Given how mundane dinner was, we decided not to make the effort to take advantage of the free breakfast voucher that came with the room, instead eating somewhere else.

I realize that their location so close to the Tacoma Dome is a big advantage, but the hotel really needs to up its game if we're going to go back again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IrishEyes0620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWBW, Owner at Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
thank you for your feedback about hotel, please contact the hotel directly for best rate and room choice. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights in May 2011 as part of a wedding party. Hotel was great. Our room was clean and comfortable. The lounge was fantastic and the bartender was awesome to us, which included a rowdy group of middle aged family members. The area was great for walking during the day, with a few small shops in the area if interested. There was many homeless people around but they never came up to us or bothered us. A completely satisfying stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbh32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWBW, Owner at Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind feedback about our hotel. We strive to improve our services from your feedback.
Please call the hotel directly for best rate and room choices. THANK YOU.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

I checked out of my room this morning (room 217) @ 8.30am and called the hotel at 13h identifying that I had left my leather jacket in the room. I have made 5 calls to the front desk requesting the jacket pointing out the jacket is in the room. If was then put through to house keeping who collected the call and then dropped it. I then called several other times and the call rang through to voicemail.

After this I spoke with front desk asking that someone take responsibility to look in the room and which they claim they have done and the jacket is not hanging in the Wardrobe.

I am 100% sure the jacket was hanging in the room.

One of two things has happened : The staff have not bothered going to the room to look for it or the housekeeping staff have not returned the jacket to front desk (or returned my call).

The front desk would NOT give me the manager name or number, where not helpfull and just suggested I call 1800WESTERN.

I am hugely disapointed in (i) the notion of potential theft and dishonesty in your staff (ii) the lack of interest or help from your fron desk and housekeeping staff.

The traking number for this incident is 1202283944 and I am waiting for the duty manager to contact me and resolve this issue.

I keep readers advised of the outcome of this situation

n.b. I do realise that leaving this jacket behind is my fault and responsibility however is the lack of concern of the staff and prompt response that could have solved this issue positively.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cejiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWBW, General Manager at Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Please note the jacket is here at the hotel, guest did not want it mailed and informed us to hold for two weeks as she is coming back in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tacoma hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Murano
Hotel Murano
#3 of 28 in Tacoma
3,296 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tacoma Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Tacoma Downtown
3.7 mi away
Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel
Address: 2611 East E Street, Tacoma, WA 98421-1225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Tacoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome is a full service, upscale, corporate hotel. Our 162 guest sleeping rooms are quiet, well appointed and designed for optimal guest comfort. Completely remodeled in 2006, our guest rooms are 100% non-smoking and feature complimentary high-speed Internet access, cable TV, in-room movies, clock radios, coffeemakers, microwaves, refrigerators, irons and ironing boards, and hairdryers. All of our guests enjoy complimentary deluxe continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tacoma Dome Hotel Tacoma
Tacoma Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing