We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food choices”

Galanga Thai Cuisine
Ranked #61 of 760 Restaurants in Tacoma
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food choices”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I was very lucky to stumble across this restaurant. So close to the building I was working in and great prices overall. The spring rolls were fantastic as was the #14. Can't recall the name but it made my taste buds sing. The Thai iced tea is delicious. Service is sufficient. I have been for both lunch and dinner and eat in and take out and have not been disappointed in any of my choices there. I just wish they took Amercian Express!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isedso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    23
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington State
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Thai food in Tacoma”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Our area is fortunate to have many Asian restaurants including Thai and Vietnamese but Galanga Thai is the absolute best, and I have tried them all! It is run by a Thai woman and her American husband. The food is fresh and perfectly spiced and the presentation is always beautiful. The Swimming Rama is made with fresh spinach instead of the limp steamed spinach often found at other Thai restaurants, and their homemade peanut sauce is perfect and does not overwhelm the flavor of the spinach. My other favorites are Drunken Noodles, a wide rice noodle with lots of basil and veggies and the Paeneng curry. The Tom Kha and beef soups are also perfectly flavored and the portions are enormous. It gets very busy over the lunch hour with downtown workers and the parking can be tricky but it's worth it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fulita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University Place, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not so sure about our dishes”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

A friend on my van pool recommended this place. My boyfriend and I went for dinner. The Thai coffee was good, but the food was so-so. I've had better. It could have been the dishes we chose. But each dish ha the same flavor and was drenched in sauce. We might go back to check out there lunch, but probably not for dinner unless I'm invited,

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BrookeAPerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lunch spot”
Reviewed March 15, 2012

I have had lunch several times and always been pleased. I have not tried dinner infact, I don't know if they are open for dinner.

Helpful?
Thank edrasa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good place for Lunch in Downtown Tacoma”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I work pretty close to this restaurant and it is a nice place to run for lunch. I usually get the Kamongean (probably spelling it wrong), but it is a green curry base with meat or tofu, noodles and a ton of fresh vegetables. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mataturider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Galanga Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing