We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Tacoma”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Tacoma Downtown
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
Brookings, Oregon
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Best in Tacoma”
Reviewed March 30, 2007

Very nice hotel and from what I've seen driving around the rest of Tacoma, it's the nicest. They do charge for parking, I think it's $14/day for valet. They only had one valet attendant which made getting my vehicle slow and frustrating, but the courtesy and pleasantness of the employee made it tolerable. Everyone was exceptionally nice. We stayed in a ridiculously highly over priced room in the "loft". Room had a great and very comfortable bed. The bathroom had a h-u-g-e jacuzzi tub and a heated towel rack. The flat screen TV in the bedroom was a bit small. There's also a TV in the bathroom. One of my only complaints would be that the room thermostat doesnt adjust to lower than 67, but it felt much warmer. I was too warm and uncomfortable at night due to this. My male co-worker had the same complaint about his room so it wasnt just my hot flashes! My main complaint would be the room service. It was HORRIBLE. (appearance/tasted awful) Also, they only have dinner room delivery from 5-10pm so your outta luck if you want breakfast or lunch delivered, plus, the dinner delivery menu is very very very limited. My co-worker ate breakfast at the buffet ($12) and said it was good. There are tons of wonderful restaurants to eat at for lunch, within just a few blocks but downtown kind of rolls up the streets in the evening. Over all it was a great visit and I was impressed. (photos to follow once I get home!)

  • Liked — Upscale accomdations. Great location for day time business.
  • Disliked — Minor issue with thermostat. Most dislike was the food from room service (yuck)
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pamela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    125
    26
    10
    8
See reviews for
76
53
16
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Milford, CT
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2006

Booked this hotel based on trip advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. The staff was very friendly, the room and bedding were clean, and the bed was very comfortable. Only complaint is that they charge for parking and did not tell us this at check-in (we would have parked on the street) and there is no complimentary breakfast. Other than that a very pleasant stay.

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — pay for parking, no complimentary breakfast
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyS-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2006

My husband and I stayed at this hotel because it was the closest to the convention center, where I would be attending a workshop. It couldn't have been a better location for that purpose, but the hotel is in downtown Tacoma, which isn't the safest neighborhood.

Our room was very comfortable with nice sheets, pillows and comforter. We brought a lap top computer and especially enjoyed having complimentary internet access in our room. The hotel itself is very attractive and the staff is friendly. The only thing that kept this from being an excellent stay is that they did not offer a free continental breakfast.

I would definitely recommend staying here if you will be going to the convention center and do not mind paying a little extra for the location.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The price
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Jenniferigor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2006

This is a perfect hotel to stay in for a business trip. In my 3 night stay here, there was never an issue or grievance. The hotel is in walking distance to many restaurants and museums. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HelloJennyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2006

For a Courtyard by Marriott, this is MUCH ABOVE AVERAGE. Very nice rooms, clean, modern, etc. Great price too! If you stay on the side facing east, you hear some of the freeway noise in the a.m., but it's not awful. You get a FABULOUS view of mt. ranier on that side, so I'd say the tradeoff is well worth it. WOW.

The only complaint I have is that they charged me $10 a day for self parking (which is expected ... to be charged in a downtown location) but the problem is that they charged me $10 for each physical day I was parked (versus each 24-hour time period). So I arrived on Thursday night at 7 p.m. and left Saturday morning at 9 a.m. So I wasn't there even two 24 hour time periods. But they charged me three days of $10 parking. Given that the parking lot is mostly JUST for Courtyard, this seems kinda crazy. They don't charge you three days of hotel charges if you check in on Thursday and leave on Saturday!!??

So when checking out, I raised the issue and was stated the policy which I explained did not make sense, and the front desk person did remove one $10, but that's only b/c I asked. I think the place ought to revise their policy. If you stay there, you should ask about this, if enough folks do, they'll probably change it.

Other than that, GREAT place.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank profwho88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 27, 2006

I have stayed at 4 other hotels in the Tacoma area with-in the last 2 years, as I travel alot to Tacoma. This is the 3rd time I have stayed here and is by far the best place to stay. Great customer service. The rooms are clean with nice clean sheets. Breakfast is very good with other places to eat with-in walking distance. There is a free trolley/train service that will pick you up and take you to different places in Tacoma. You won't be disappointed with this place.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2006

I loved this hotel and location. The service and staff are excellent. Very friendly and down to earth...loved it. Rooms were very clean and homey. It was a wonderful weekend away...and also adding to the great the PBR contestants also stayed there...was an awesome weekend. I am looking forward to going back the the Courtyard.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PBR-fan06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tacoma hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Murano
Hotel Murano
#3 of 28 in Tacoma
3,276 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown
2.4 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tacoma Seattle
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Tacoma Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Tacoma Downtown

Property: Courtyard Tacoma Downtown
Address: 1515 Commerce St, Tacoma, WA 98402-3306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tacoma
#5 Business Hotel in Tacoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Tacoma Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale design and down-home comforts meld perfectly at this urban hotel. Situated in the heart of downtown, Courtyard is just steps from museums, restaurants and the Tacoma Convention Center. With European-style spa and salon as well as award-winning restaurant, pool and fitness center under one roof, your choices for relaxation abound. In-room executive desk, complimentary wi-fi, DVD player, large HD TV screen, microwave, mini-refrigerator and Marriott Plush Bedding make traveling a pleasure for both business and leisure. Walking/biking trails and waterfront activities are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Tacoma Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Tacoma Downtown Hotel Tacoma
Tacoma Marriott
Tacoma Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing