We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Internet? Hope you don't need it for your presentation.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Tacoma Downtown
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Internet? Hope you don't need it for your presentation.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a Thursday and Friday. Thursday was more expensive, yet could not get internet for more than 5 minutes. If your redoing your intent do it on sat and Sunday when no business people are around hello. And you'regoing to change me $12 for a breakfast buffet? Hello I can get that at the silvercloud for free. Skip the charge especially since you're costing me $100k on this presentation. Thanks will not be staying at ANY Marriott again. Thanks for the $100k loss to my income.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank jspeanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanLady, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
We will be contacting you directly to discuss your concern. From Carol Pica, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    121
    26
    10
    8
See reviews for
74
52
16
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jasper, Georgia
Level Contributor
237 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is a good location for where we were working and there are a few restaurants within easy walking distance and the room was clean and the elevators were fast too. There are 6 floors and it was fairly quiet as well. There is a light rail (free as of now) and some museums close by. There is even an IGA market within walking distance.

Our breakfast was included in our room rate (business) and this is one of the locations with a buffet but the eggs can be made to order. There was bacon and sausage each day as well - not your plain continental breakfast type facility.

See other reviews for more to do in the area.

Room Tip: Upper level - elevators are quick so not a problem waiting
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loribledsoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanLady, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
The hotel offers a number of packages that include tickets to local attractions as well as breakfast, so be sure to watch for our money saving deals. Thank you for the nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

We live nearby in Seattle but came down for the night to see a play at one of the downtown theaters.

The Courtyard was, like others mentioned, true Courtyard: very clean, excellent staff, etc.

Valet parking was surprisingly fast even though there were a line of people ready to check out.

We had the pool to ourselves at night, which was a nice treat. The pool is only 3'9" at its deepest so it was perfect for a kid.

Oh, and the beds were excellent!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hildeborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanLady, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay! We partner with the Broadway Center for Performing Arts in Tacoma so watch for special deals on their web site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
138 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Typical Courtyard. Friendly staff. Clean comfortable rooms and free wifi. I would stay here again. Ir seemed a little higher priced. That would be my only comment. Price seemed to high. Parking is either in the convention center or valet. Valet was 14 dollars per night. Valet staff quick.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanLady, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
We are excited about our upcoming make-over for the lobby and cafe. Starting in 2014, we will have the Bistro concept for breakfast, dinner and cocktails. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

This was a nice hotel and I would stay here again. Good location. Walking distance to some okay restaurants. If you have kids however, get ready for room service if you don't make it out before 8:30pm as you're not allowed in most places with a minor. The breakfast was very nice. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baumburgerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanLady, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! We are excited about our upcoming remodel to the Courtyard Refreshing Business concept that will have food in the Cafe both morning and evening. It will be easier for families (and others) to come down from their rooms to relax and visit with eating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

45 day advance reservation and they did not have the room I reserved. Offered a king and sofa bed instead of two queens when staying with a friend to attend a function. They offered NOTHING to apologize.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ConnieLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanLady, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
My deepest apology for the problem with your room! I would like to speak with you directly to see what I can do to take care of you. I will email you personally. Carol Pica, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC, USA
Level Contributor
349 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Approaching the hotel, the proximity to the major roadways gave me and my work colleagues a cause for concern about noise. However, not only was noise not an issue; this is definitely an upgrade from your standard Courtyard. You arrive with a valet parking option (self park is available just across the street). The marbled-tiled lobby is spotlessly clean. The staff was very friendly. It is in a great location: walking distance to restaurants and museums. For extra security, the elevator requires a key card for all floors. I was in a corner suite; which was enormous. The room and bath were clean and well maintained. I have read some complaints about wi-fi access, but I used it both for work and to stream Netflix without any issues. Really, it was all that you could want for a hotel in downtown Tacoma.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tarheelblue89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanLady, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
We are happy to announce that we are adding more WAPs (wireless access points) in the hotel and wireless internet services will only get faster. Thank you for staying with us! Carol Pica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tacoma hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Murano
Hotel Murano
#3 of 28 in Tacoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown
2.4 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tacoma Seattle
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Tacoma Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Tacoma Downtown

Property: Courtyard Tacoma Downtown
Address: 1515 Commerce St, Tacoma, WA 98402-3306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tacoma
#5 Business Hotel in Tacoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Tacoma Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale design and down-home comforts meld perfectly at this urban hotel. Situated in the heart of downtown, Courtyard is just steps from museums, restaurants and the Tacoma Convention Center. With European-style spa and salon as well as award-winning restaurant, pool and fitness center under one roof, your choices for relaxation abound. In-room executive desk, complimentary wi-fi, DVD player, large HD TV screen, microwave, mini-refrigerator and Marriott Plush Bedding make traveling a pleasure for both business and leisure. Walking/biking trails and waterfront activities are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Tacoma Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Tacoma Downtown Hotel Tacoma
Tacoma Marriott
Tacoma Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing