We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Clean comfortable rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Tacoma Downtown
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great location. Clean comfortable rooms”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Typical Courtyard. Friendly staff. Clean comfortable rooms and free wifi. I would stay here again. Ir seemed a little higher priced. That would be my only comment. Price seemed to high. Parking is either in the convention center or valet. Valet was 14 dollars per night. Valet staff quick.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanLady, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
We are excited about our upcoming make-over for the lobby and cafe. Starting in 2014, we will have the Bistro concept for breakfast, dinner and cocktails. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    125
    26
    10
    8
See reviews for
76
53
16
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

This was a nice hotel and I would stay here again. Good location. Walking distance to some okay restaurants. If you have kids however, get ready for room service if you don't make it out before 8:30pm as you're not allowed in most places with a minor. The breakfast was very nice. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baumburgerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanLady, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! We are excited about our upcoming remodel to the Courtyard Refreshing Business concept that will have food in the Cafe both morning and evening. It will be easier for families (and others) to come down from their rooms to relax and visit with eating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

45 day advance reservation and they did not have the room I reserved. Offered a king and sofa bed instead of two queens when staying with a friend to attend a function. They offered NOTHING to apologize.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ConnieLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanLady, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
My deepest apology for the problem with your room! I would like to speak with you directly to see what I can do to take care of you. I will email you personally. Carol Pica, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC, USA
Level Contributor
364 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Approaching the hotel, the proximity to the major roadways gave me and my work colleagues a cause for concern about noise. However, not only was noise not an issue; this is definitely an upgrade from your standard Courtyard. You arrive with a valet parking option (self park is available just across the street). The marbled-tiled lobby is spotlessly clean. The staff was very friendly. It is in a great location: walking distance to restaurants and museums. For extra security, the elevator requires a key card for all floors. I was in a corner suite; which was enormous. The room and bath were clean and well maintained. I have read some complaints about wi-fi access, but I used it both for work and to stream Netflix without any issues. Really, it was all that you could want for a hotel in downtown Tacoma.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanLady, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
We are happy to announce that we are adding more WAPs (wireless access points) in the hotel and wireless internet services will only get faster. Thank you for staying with us! Carol Pica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I did not actually stay at this hotel, but I was a guest there for three days while I attended a conference. The staff is very friendly, and helpful. The lobby and dining areas are well appointed and maintained. It is overall a very nice place to be.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLOSue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanLady, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Friendly amenities and welcoming staff always make a stay better - I'm glad you enjoyed them. We appreciate your business! Carol Pica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Spent three weekend days here and was very impressed. No fuss at check in although booked through external "priced" website. Friendly staff even when I checked in at 1AM. Parking was $10 for the stay and across the street but mostly convenient. Fresh coffee and tea near the fire in lobby at almost all hours of the day. Room was clean and comfortable. Location is great with good views, across street from convention center, walking distance from bridge of glass, university and downtown restaurants. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedRaider05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanLady, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
It sure makes a different to have a warm welcome when you arrive, especially at 1:00 in the morning! We're happy to hear your experience was enjoyable. Thank you! Carol Pica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, CA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We pulled in to the hotel pretty late after a long day. There was (a very welcome) valet service for only $15 for the night. The check in was smooth and quick (and there were cookies at the desk for us - yum!). The room was beautiful and the bed cozy. We walked over to the Pacific Grill for dinner (it's within the same block). All in all, the hotel had everything we need - they made good service look easy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanLady, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
In addition to the award-winning Pacific Grill, there are several restaurants and attractions with walking distance -- so many choices and so little time! We appreciate your review. Carol Pica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tacoma hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Murano
Hotel Murano
#3 of 28 in Tacoma
3,276 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown
2.4 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tacoma Seattle
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Tacoma Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Tacoma Downtown

Property: Courtyard Tacoma Downtown
Address: 1515 Commerce St, Tacoma, WA 98402-3306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tacoma
#5 Business Hotel in Tacoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Tacoma Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale design and down-home comforts meld perfectly at this urban hotel. Situated in the heart of downtown, Courtyard is just steps from museums, restaurants and the Tacoma Convention Center. With European-style spa and salon as well as award-winning restaurant, pool and fitness center under one roof, your choices for relaxation abound. In-room executive desk, complimentary wi-fi, DVD player, large HD TV screen, microwave, mini-refrigerator and Marriott Plush Bedding make traveling a pleasure for both business and leisure. Walking/biking trails and waterfront activities are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard Tacoma Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Tacoma Downtown Hotel Tacoma
Tacoma Marriott
Tacoma Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing