We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Convenient!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Tacoma Downtown
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here while attending wedding at Union Station. Very Convenient. Clean room at good price. If you need a hotel in downtown Tacoma that is near to the Glass Museum, Convention Center, Union Station or UW Tacoma Campus I highly reccommend.

Only complaint is that the air conditioner was quite loud and kept going on and off all night.

Room Tip: The corner rooms with double queen beds are huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CourtneySeattle_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanLady, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

The variety of museums within walking distance is amazing: Museum of Glass, WA History Museum, Children's Museum and Tacoma Art Museum! Thanks for choosing Courtyard!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 324 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was in Tacoma just one night to go to a wedding. Staying in a downtown location can always be a bit questionable but I'm glad I stayed here. The front desk staff was excellent, informing me about things to do, where/how to park in their various parking lots, and just happy to help. The room was nice and even though it looked down on the ice rink and main streets the window kept out the noise. Had a great view of the Tacoma Dome and the train station.

They are a bit hard to get to due to one-way streets, dead-ends, and construction that was going on, but it was worth the couple laps we took around the block. The location made it surprisingly close to the wedding location. I'd come back here if I had to go to Tacoma again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing East and North have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pcarlman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanLady, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

We look forward to your return! One-way streets catch me off guard when I travel, too, but you get to learn the neighborhoods quickly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The hotel is directly across the street from the Greater Tacoma Convention Center. This is primarily a hotel for the business traveler - no restaurant (morning breakfast buffet is $12) and the small lounge is open 5 p.m. to 10:00 p.m. only. Staff are all friendly and efficient. Rooms are small, but suffiiciently sized for two people.

The restaurant on the corner by the hotel has a 50% off menu BUT you have to sit in the bar area to get it. There are several good restaurants on the 1700-1900 blocks of Pacific. The Harmon Brewery has good supper specials - the Monday $3 steak with garlic fries was quite tasty and was only 4 ounces but you can order two. You can also catch the light rail to other areas of downtown, there are stops just across the corner from the hotel.

Room Tip: The wireless access on the 6th floor is very, very poor. It works for basic email but is slow and wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ITravelMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanLady, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Glad you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for the tip about the steak and fries. Yum!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel is located right across the street from the Convention Center. There are plenty of dining options within walking distance so another plus. It's about a block off of Pacific Ave. so the traffic noise is not too bad. Very professional and courteous staff. Parking is not too expensive and they do have valet parking as well. Breakfast buffet is $11.95 which is not too bad considering the omelet bar that is included. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duc N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanLady, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Being located next to the Convention Center makes it easy for conference goers to get to their meetings quickly. Another benefit of our location is that we are on the free light rail line that runs through downtown to theaters, museums, shop and more. Thank you for the nice comments about our staff - they appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is clean and comfortable, but close to major roads. It was just too noisy to sleep! In addition, the room next door had a party going on all night. People were running up and down the hall, laughing and slamming doors. The location is good, and the staff is wonderful. Breakfast is available but expensive. The wifi is free, but it is very slow. All in all, adequate, but I am sure that there are better hotels in this city. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerzdevlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanLady, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

I am glad you found the rooms clean and comfortable. However, I am sorry your stay was disrupted by noisy guests. I will contact you directly to discuss further. Your satisfaction is important to me!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is my opinion from a business perspective, I can see how it would be skewed if you were spending 2 days in downtown tacoma and everything is within walking distance, if that is the case, then this place is ok. If you aren't, then I would stay somewhere else.

The rooms are very nice, clean, and have extra outlets by the bed for charging phones (big plus). I did have a small refridgerator and microwave as well. I had a really noisy heater, so did another guy, but maybe we were just really unlucky.

$12 for a Courtyard breakfast is just not realistic. Much better to walk somewhere or stay in Puyallup's Fairfield and get a free breakfast. Also the gym was just way too small for this size of a hotel. 2 treadmills, a recline bike, and a elliptical machine with some weights in the back that you can't even get to when there is a single person trying to use them.

If you need to be downtown in Tacoma, this makes sense. If not, I'd go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Falqon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanLady, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

I'm glad you enjoyed your clean room and the thoughtful amenities like additional outlets for cell phones and computers. I'm sorry to hear the heater was noisy. Once maintenance issues are reported to our Front Desk staff, we send a request to our maintenance team for service or repairs. We appreciate your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the beginning of January on a trip to visit family in Tacoma. Its location is fantastic - it is literally close to everything you would want to do in Tacoma - my two very young children were with me, and we were easily able to walk to the University of Washington Tacoma campus, the Museum of Glass, The Spaghetti Factory and the Tacoma Children's Museum, all of which they enjoyed. As we were there during the holidays, there was even a community ice rink set up right next door! We stayed in room 505 and it was quite a bit larger than your standard hotel room, and it even had a good-sized sitting area with a couch and a couple of chairs. It also had a fantastic city and mountain view. This hotel also has some great perks - they put out free apples and oranges during the day (great for kids who need a snack), they have wonderful complimentary coffee all day, they serve cookies in the afternoon, and they have a large library of DVDs that can be borrowed free of charge - my kids had a great time choosing two movies to borrow. They also have a nice swimming pool that is no deeper that 3 feet, 6 inches, which was nice because my son could play around in the whole pool and know that there wasn't any place where his feet didn't touch. We will definitely be staying here again!

Room Tip: We had room 505 - I think the rooms on that side of the building would have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BellinghamBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanLady, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

We are so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay! Other fun, family-oriented things to do include the living animal park (Northwest Trek) and Point Defiance Zoo and Aquarium. It would be a pleasure to have you stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tacoma hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Murano
Hotel Murano
#2 of 27 in Tacoma
3,405 reviews
2.4 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tacoma Seattle
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Tacoma Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Tacoma Downtown

Address: 1515 Commerce St, Tacoma, WA 98402-3306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tacoma
#5 Business Hotel in Tacoma
Price Range: $146 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Tacoma Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale design and down-home comforts meld perfectly at this urban hotel. Situated in the heart of downtown, Courtyard is just steps from museums, restaurants and the Tacoma Convention Center. With European-style spa and salon as well as award-winning restaurant, pool and fitness center under one roof, your choices for relaxation abound. In-room executive desk, complimentary wi-fi, DVD player, large HD TV screen, microwave, mini-refrigerator and Marriott Plush Bedding make traveling a pleasure for both business and leisure. Walking/biking trails and waterfront activities are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Tacoma Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Tacoma Downtown Hotel Tacoma
Tacoma Marriott
Tacoma Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing