We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best beds ever. Clean, typical of Marriott quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Tacoma Downtown
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
131 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best beds ever. Clean, typical of Marriott quality”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We wanted to buy the beds, they were so comfortable. The rooms are spacious. Since we stayed on rewards points, we can't speak to price, but the point requirement was typical of Tacoma and Seattle hotels. We had a pleasant and comfortable stay with quiet nights. Parking is available across the street at the convention center for $10 per day for Marriott customers. Valet parking is available for $14 per day. The hotel is located just a few blocks from the Courthouse, Glass Museum and the center of downtown. Numerous good restaurants are close by. Evening walks are pleasant and safe.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank radar63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanLady, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Aren't the beds great?! I love all those extra pillows, too. It's nice that guests can walk around downtown and enjoy food, shops and museums. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    125
    26
    10
    8
See reviews for
76
53
16
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
185 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I have stayed here many times since this hotel opened and keep coming back. The service is solid, the location is excellent with lots of restaurants close by, and it is business friendly. The one thing they could improve on is the parking lot. It is a bit of a walk down the street and dark/dirty, especially late at night. They do have valet which I would suggest if this concerns you.

Room Tip: Stay on a high floor as the road noise can be bothersome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manzanitabay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanLady, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you so much for coming back to stay with us when you're in Tacoma. Repeat guests make our jobs more fun - we like getting to know you. Thank you for the tips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainbow Lake, New York, United States
Level Contributor
206 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My wife and my son stayed here to attend my daughter's wedding which was being held in a nearby town. The location of the Courtyard Tacoma was the best choice for us. It was very close to the art and history museums of Tacoma. It is also within walking distance of some fine eating establishments. A short drive from the hotel is a Casino. The service was excellent. I especially appreciated the valet parking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanLady, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Wedding guests always make it a special time for us - so much excitement and joy! I'm glad you had a chance to visit some sights. Thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I have stayed here many times. This hotel just never disappoints. The rooms are recently updated and many have a great view of Rainier (on a clear day) and/or Puget Sound. This hotel has a more upscale feel than many Courtyards. The main reason to stay here is the people. Every interaction I had with an employee was positive, even just passing someone in the hall. The manager must have some type of training for the team, because it is consistently good.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Mt Rainier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerringW33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanLady, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for the nice comments! We enjoy having you stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel twice and I've been pretty happy with it both times. Its clean, the staff are pretty friendly, and it has what you need for a business trip - access to free wifi in your room. That's a big thing for me since other hotels in the area charge up to $18 a day for Internet access.

The buffet is good but not amazing. The restaurant downstairs has really good seafood at decent prices. (And this is coming from a Vancouverite.)

I would suggest though that you try to get a room away from the elevator though. The sound of the elevator bell is very loud and the sound proofing of people chatting outside is not very good. Had some very loud people keeping me up.

Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanLady, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you, Natalie! We appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I pricelined a hotel in Tacoma. Much cheaper than Seattle. It's Labor Day Weekend, and I got it for $65 + tax + $10 self park. Probably b/c this is a business district and no one is working...I got a great deal. The hotel is great. It's very clean. In room fridge, microwave...comfortable beds. They have a pool, hot tub, and coin laundry facility on site (we are travelling across the country for 5 weeks and needed laundry tonight!). The staff is super. Museums are close by and so are restaurants within walking distance. No continental breakfast ( I thought there was one...) but otherwise great. Parking is $10- which is a bummer, but that's ok. I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of Mt. Rainier on the East side of building. We stayed on west side and only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spud577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanLady, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit with us! You really did get a super deal! Sometimes the holiday weekends are the best deals you can find at business hotels like ours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arkansastraveler74
Level Contributor
352 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel! Very clean! Room was very nice. Enjoyed the view. Would stay there again! Bar was nice for a night cap when we arrived. Liked the fresh cookies at the front desk. Do the valet parking for $4.00 more

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arkansastraveler74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanLady, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Arkansastraveler,
Thank you for the review! I agree with your travel tip to use the valet service. Any time I travel, I find it's worth a few extra dollars to let someone else deal with the parking, especially in big cities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tacoma hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Murano
Hotel Murano
#3 of 28 in Tacoma
3,297 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown
2.4 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tacoma Seattle
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Tacoma Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Tacoma Downtown

Property: Courtyard Tacoma Downtown
Address: 1515 Commerce St, Tacoma, WA 98402-3306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tacoma
#5 Business Hotel in Tacoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Tacoma Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale design and down-home comforts meld perfectly at this urban hotel. Situated in the heart of downtown, Courtyard is just steps from museums, restaurants and the Tacoma Convention Center. With European-style spa and salon as well as award-winning restaurant, pool and fitness center under one roof, your choices for relaxation abound. In-room executive desk, complimentary wi-fi, DVD player, large HD TV screen, microwave, mini-refrigerator and Marriott Plush Bedding make traveling a pleasure for both business and leisure. Walking/biking trails and waterfront activities are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard Tacoma Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Tacoma Downtown Hotel Tacoma
Tacoma Marriott
Tacoma Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing