We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Tacoma Downtown
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I pricelined a hotel in Tacoma. Much cheaper than Seattle. It's Labor Day Weekend, and I got it for $65 + tax + $10 self park. Probably b/c this is a business district and no one is working...I got a great deal. The hotel is great. It's very clean. In room fridge, microwave...comfortable beds. They have a pool, hot tub, and coin laundry facility on site (we are travelling across the country for 5 weeks and needed laundry tonight!). The staff is super. Museums are close by and so are restaurants within walking distance. No continental breakfast ( I thought there was one...) but otherwise great. Parking is $10- which is a bummer, but that's ok. I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of Mt. Rainier on the East side of building. We stayed on west side and only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spud577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanLady, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit with us! You really did get a super deal! Sometimes the holiday weekends are the best deals you can find at business hotels like ours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 324 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel! Very clean! Room was very nice. Enjoyed the view. Would stay there again! Bar was nice for a night cap when we arrived. Liked the fresh cookies at the front desk. Do the valet parking for $4.00 more

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arkansastraveler74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanLady, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear Arkansastraveler,
Thank you for the review! I agree with your travel tip to use the valet service. Any time I travel, I find it's worth a few extra dollars to let someone else deal with the parking, especially in big cities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Perfect location downtown as advertised. Near convention center, art museum, UW Tacoma, Union Station and all things in downtown Tacoma. A little annoyed with 10$ self park or 14$ valet parking option but staff was very nice. Great pool and and hot tub. Small workout room but a slice of good equipment for cardio, and free weights. Has nice amenities including, a barber, spa and restaurant. Nice place!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RenoNVUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanLady, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

El-Taco-Jefe,
First of all, I love your name! Thank you for your comments about the great location of the hotel. Another plus for our location is that we are located on the free Light Rail ("Tacoma Link") that runs through downtown to the museums and theater district. We appreciate you staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I was looking last minute accommodations in the Tacoma area and found this a gem of a place. It is located in the heart of downtown Tacoma right across the street from the convention centre and most downtown businesses including the restaurants. I found the staff to be most friendly and courteous with a completely painless check in. The hotel has an expansive lobby, an on site restaurant plus a small store where one could buy snacks and drinks. The rooms were very clean and the beds were among the more comfortable I've slept in my more than ten years of travelling in the US. For the price, it provides very good value and the location is second to none. This is one place I would recommend to anyone who wants a centrally located hotel in Tacoma.

NB: I would recommend to take the valet parking option as it only costs only $ 4 more than self parking and would save you time and the parking area could be a five minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smrgeog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanLady, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Smrgeog,
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. You should be a professional travel writer! I am glad you enjoyed it here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Very well maintained and clean property. Great staff, very friendly. Self parking can be a chore as the lots are across the street in the convention center. Free Wi-Fi in all areas, 42" LCD TVs, DVD players. No safe in the room, very minor. Road noise can be a bit of a bother with the ocassional loud car or motorcycle, but nothing insurmoubtable. Breakfast buffet at $12, good omlettes, and other breakfast fare. Woud definitely stay here again!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanLady, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Thank you, Jason M, for your review. I appreciate your honest assessment and am glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

My wife and I found the staff at this hotel to be very caring and friendly. Every time we passed a staff member (housekeeping, security,etc.) we were asked if we needed anything or how we were doing. Chose the location to tour museums and play golf in the South Puget sound region without having to go hotel to hotel. The Courtyard worked out well as a central base for our activities. All museums are a short walk away except for the LeMay Car Museum. Regularly scheduled light rail (which stops at the Courtyard) can get you to the LeMay which is very much worth the visit. Ate at TwoKoi. Still great! (I have previously reviewed TwoKoi). The made-to-order breakfast had good variety and was worth one visit. All-in-all, had a very restful and pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TQJ66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanLady, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Thank you, tqj! It sounds like you had a fun mini-vacation and took advantage of several of the fun things there are to do in Tacoma!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Courtyard Tacoma is centrally located in Tacoma and it is a nice place to stay. It is located across the street from the convention center and is within easy walking distance of many Tacoma attractions. The staff are helpful, friendly and knowledgable. They prepare a nice breakfast bar with the option of ordering from a menu. The only negative I would note is that the rooms are a little smaller than I would expect for this kind of a hotel. Still, there was enough space for the two of us. Also, the Pacific Grill restaurant is located next door and that is a very good place to eat.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanLady, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tacoma Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Hi, Gary W - thank you for your review. I love the Pacific Grill Restaurant, too! Did you know their chef and owner, Gordon Naccarato, was named one fo the top ten new American Chefs by Food and Wine Magazine? Here's a tip: if you like queen size beds, the rooms here with two queen beds are more spacious than some of the king rooms, plus you have a place to put all your "stuff". I always stay in rooms with two beds, even when traveling alone. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tacoma hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Murano
Hotel Murano
#3 of 28 in Tacoma
3,371 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown
2.4 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tacoma Seattle
4.2 mi away
Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Tacoma Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Tacoma Downtown

Address: 1515 Commerce St, Tacoma, WA 98402-3306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tacoma
#5 Business Hotel in Tacoma
Price Range: $170 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Tacoma Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale design and down-home comforts meld perfectly at this urban hotel. Situated in the heart of downtown, Courtyard is just steps from museums, restaurants and the Tacoma Convention Center. With European-style spa and salon as well as award-winning restaurant, pool and fitness center under one roof, your choices for relaxation abound. In-room executive desk, complimentary wi-fi, DVD player, large HD TV screen, microwave, mini-refrigerator and Marriott Plush Bedding make traveling a pleasure for both business and leisure. Walking/biking trails and waterfront activities are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Tacoma Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Tacoma Downtown Hotel Tacoma
Tacoma Courtyard
Tacoma Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing