We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, intement,great setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lobster Shop South on Soundview - CLOSED

Lobster Shop South on Soundview
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Small, intement,great setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

Has been here for years and you always need a reservation well in advance. What more can I say.

Helpful?
Thank edrasa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    12
    3
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Maybe the New Menu is the Solution”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

The Lobster Shop used to be a favorite local restaurant. The lobster bisque couldn't be beat and the Twilight Menu was a good value.

About two years ago the service declined and the food was inconsistent. How many ways can you screw up crab cakes?

A new executive chef was just hired and I have my hopes up.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City
Level Contributor
166 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“NIce place and nice service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

The restaurant is has a very warm atmosphere with the rock bar and rock walls. The service is fine and the food is fine.
Bar selection is large but expensive on many selections. But, if you are willing to pay it they are willing to sell it.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upland california
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“wonderful view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

get the twighlight special and not only will you save on the food but the drinks are half off as well. the view is unbelievable on the point looking across the bay. we would go again!
steve and ellen
california

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank el4chocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Overpriced but Excellent Food and Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

I went to the Lobster Shop whilst on vacation with my spouse and parents. I ordered the Alaskan King Scallops. The dish was overpriced for the type of seafood at $30 which I thought was worth $20. The scallops are local and come with a very nice tomato risotto and asparagus. Those in my group also order the fried oysters (which is a posh version of fish and chips), they both enjoyed very much. Our waitress was lovely and very attentive to our table. The place is very small and we had to wait an hour and fifteen minutes for a table as we did not have a reservation on a Thursday night, but the food made up for it. Overall I felt the dishes were overpriced for each type of seafood and I come from Scotland where we get a lot of seafood from the North Sea. The location of this restaurant is also not the best, practically no parking spaces anywhere and many fisherman hanging out the side of the dock, we felt a bit out of place dressed nicely for the Lobster Shop and hanging out near the dock whilst waiting for a table.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lobster Shop South on Soundview also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing