We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A VERY Happy Hour on the deck” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lobster Shop South

Lobster Shop South
Reserve with OpenTable
Lobster Shop South is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 741 Restaurants in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A VERY Happy Hour on the deck”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

I've lived in Tacoma for years, but hadn't been to the Lobster Shop in quite a few. On one sunny afternoon a couple of weeks ago, we decided to try the happy hour (3 to 6). We sat on the deck overlooking the water of Commencement Bay. The happy hour menu has a number of small plate selections from a hamburger to lobster bisque. We had the fried calamari: delicious slices of calamari steak perfectly fried and served with two sauces, an aioli and a romesco sauce accompanied by roasted peppers.It was delicious and nicely presented. The hamburger was perfectly cooked and the rosemary fries were seasoned to perfection and not greasy at all. The on-tap selection is a little sparse, but the IPA was good. The house salad was wonderful, with slices of Granny Smith apple and honey glazed pecans providing a perfect complement to the bleu cheese vinagrette. Service was good, but a little slow during the afternoon transition, but the food rocks, and the deck on a perfect sunny afternoon in Tacoma is close to perfect. Twilight dinners and lunch specials are also offered. Menus are available online. Enjoy!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mikeoftacoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    97
    41
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
276 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great view of Commencement Bay and excellent food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Having been to this location several times, this last visit was the best so far. As others have mentioned, sitting on the deck during a warm, early summer evening was delightful. The service was attentive and swift as well as having our water and wine brought out. We ordered from the twilight menu as we arrive just before 6pm and enjoyed a wonderful three course dinner for $19.00 per person. We ordered fried oysters, shrimp and the sirloin steak dinner. The fried oysters were outstanding without heavy batter or an overly briny flavor. The shrimp was predictable and the steak was a bit overdone but overall, this was a delightful meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank camodoc9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Bluffs
Level Contributor
102 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious and delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Went for dinner. We had sole and steelhead entrees which were delicious. We also has lobster bisque which was pure cream. We tried a few signature drinks - honey drop and a gin/champaign concoction and enjoyed both. We will definitely return. Nice view overlooking the sound with friendly, helpful staff.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SusanCouncilBluffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
129 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely view and service. Okay food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Went for lunch on a beautiful sunny day. The restaurant is well-appointed with a majority of tables having the great view of Commencement Bay. Staff was very courteous and attentive. The food(expensive) was presented well, but it was just mediocre. I had the fish tacos and they were not worth the price.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 741lolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
98 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice deck ....food so so.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Being able to sit outside on a nice deck and enjoy Puget Sound with a wonderful view is great. It would be even better if the food was good. My husband and I went to the Lobster Shop to celebrate our anniversary and were disappointed with the food. My husband had clam linguini and I had halibut. Both dishes were so so. On a positive note the service was good and the deck was a great place to enjoy the water.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lobster Shop South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing