We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“View Tacoma's waterfront and enjoy appetizers and drinks”

C I Shenanigan's Seafood & Chop House
Reserve with OpenTable
C I Shenanigan's Seafood & Chop House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 746 Restaurants in Tacoma
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Scenic view, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Home Style
Cross street: McCarver
Description: This classic Tacoma waterfront seafood and steak restaurant has been entertaining guests since 1983. CI's dining room provides warm, casual elegance with sweeping views of the Olympic Mountains and Commencement Bay. During the summer months, join them for casual dining or an impromptu gathering on their spacious deck. Guests enjoy succulent steaks, brilliant fresh seafood and other fine Northwest Cuisine. Choose from an extensive list of Washington and California wines, freshly shaken signature martinis and cosmopolitans; the ultimate accompaniment to any menu choice. Try one of their freshly made desserts to top off the memorable experience. CI's banquet facilities can accommodate parties as small as 10 and as large as 200. Their Special Events Coordinator will be happy to provide all the information and help needed to plan such events. Please come enjoy the service and hospitality of the gracious staff at CI Shenanigans.
Steilacoom, Washington
Level Contributor
95 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“View Tacoma's waterfront and enjoy appetizers and drinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

C I Shenanigans is not only a beautiful waterfront restaurant but it is has a lively waterfront bar. Happy Hour on the water features a menu of half price appetizers like golden artichokes, crab and shrimp stuffed mushrooms with garlic toast, sliders, or even a burger. It could include a glass of wine in a cozy booth with friends. From 2 to 6 they have special drink prices and many food items to choose from. This my favorite stop after work on Friday nights. Relax with a walk along the Ruston Way waterfront then grab a bite to eat before you head home.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelPair1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    98
    44
    44
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Lake Tapps
Level Contributor
113 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Something has Changed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

This has been our absolute Tacoma waterfront favorite...but not anymore. Two recent visits left us frustrated and discouraged. We love to sit out on the deck and enjoy the view of the sound. While the view is great, the service and the food is not. We have been ignored by the wait staff and when our food comes, it is cold.
We don't plans on returning anytime soon.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nwfireguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
109 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good Wednesday happy hour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Wednesdays are ladies night... and women get special discounts on food, on top of the regular happy hour menu. The wait service was okay, the view spectacular both from the bar and from the patio, the food (with all the discounts) was reasonably priced and tasty. Nurse your drink and stay awhile, I did not feel rushed at all, or pressured to order more.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fishie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What's wrong with this picture?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Nice location, perfect view, nice decor? Not enough. You can see the signs when you walk in. Lots of empty seats a 4 hostesses and wait time. That means that customers won't come back. Food was ok at best. Service was ok at best. What a shame.

Helpful?
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
283 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good appetizers, great location -- that's about all”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

It was a perfect evening in a perfect location. Gorgeous waterfront view. Crowded outside, so we (party of 5) ate inside. Nice.

It was difficult to get the waitperson’s attention. After drinks, which were overpriced and watered-down bourbon and waters, we finally were able to order appetizers, which were very good: calamari and bacon-wrapped scallops.

The waitperson then came over to take our orders, and, as he explained the menu, he seemed very rushed… hard to follow.

We ordered two different dishes between the five of us: lingcod fish and chips and crab-stuffed prawns wrapped in bacon. Oh, yes, and razor clam chowder, which was overflowing with potatoes. The clams we tasted were pretty good, but didn't have the distinctive razor clam taste we love. Then we saw the specialty appetizers, and we ordered Wild King Salmon Pot Stickers with spicy peanut sauce, kalbi sauce and sweet chili: delicious!

The fish and chips were mushy and pretty tasteless. Should have gone with the cod and chips. We asked for an order of the fish and chips to go for my mother-in-law, but I haven't heard what she thought of them. The prawns had an ever so slight bit of crab meat, and the bacon overpowered the taste of the prawns.

Overall, not a good evening, considering it was a birthday celebration. I tried to email the manager using the email link on their website, but it came back as undeliverable. So I called them and talked to Debbie, one of the managers. Very nice, very apologetic.

There are lots of great restaurants in this gorgeous part of Tacoma, and I may make it back to Shenanigans some day, hoping this was just a one-off evening for them.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RAMWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed C I Shenanigan's Seafood & Chop House also viewed

 

Been to C I Shenanigan's Seafood & Chop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing