We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a meal.....but an experience!”
Review of The Melting Pot

The Melting Pot
Reserve with OpenTable
The Melting Pot is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #57 of 757 Restaurants in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 21st
Description: Dip Into Something Different
Tacoma, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
611 reviews
316 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Not a meal.....but an experience!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is the second time I have reviewed this restaurant. Last time I gave it 4 stars and this time 5 stars. We again used a groupon (I had been hoping they would have a deal again). This time we added a little more food to the basic groupon deal and that was more than enough to fill us full. Yes it cost us a bit more, but it was worth it. The service this time was also OUTSTANDING! Our server was Rashard and he was fantastic!! He made some great suggestions of flavor combinations and he was right on! He also never seemed to be in too much of a rush to be friendly, but yet he was busting his behind! This restaurant is all about environment, romance, service, and food. Our 4 course meal took just over 2 1/2 hours to eat. This is the place to go for a special occasion! Thanks Rashard for the great service! Oh, make sure you make reservations. They are very busy in the evenings.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    39
    26
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bonney Lake
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sneaky or honest mistake?”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Have been wanting to go to the Melting Pot for a LONG time but i always talk my self out of it because of the price. They had a special for unlimited entree's so we figured we'd give it a try. So very glad we did, the flavor of the food was great. Not sure it was worth what we paid for it but tasted great. We started out with Filet Mignon as one of our choices and that was the only thing we really wanted more of but when they brought the refill it was regular steak. When we asked the waitress said that wasn't possible but she would bring us more, she brought us more of the same thing and let us know the cook was thawing more filet Mignon and that just gave us Angus Steak the second time and the cook just didn't tell her. I don't know if they were just trying to cut cost and be sneaky or if it was just bad communication. We understand running out of something but don't try to pass off something else as the same thing.
Other then that everything was great, it was a fun experience if you want free stuff on special occasions sign up for their fondue club on line. We got a free box of chocolate covered strawberries with a coupon they emailed me.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MoonDancer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Celebrating my wife's birthday she decided on here and I'm glad she did. All the staff was very friendly and helpful and one the managers came by to make sure everything was well. The food was awesome worth every penny. Which does add up to quite a bit, but one of the only places I have thought it was totally worth every dime. We had the 4 course meal, classic entree which was a great combo. Easy to cook and by the end you are stuffed. Great choice for celebrating or having a romantic dinner. Would definitely get reservations before going.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ntw0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A Great Romantic Meal”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Melting Pot is a fondue restaurant with an excellent selection of cheese fondues, great green salads, and a wonderful selection of seafood, meats, and vegetables to cook with lots of dipping sauces. You can have lobster, chicken, fish, pot stickers, steak, shrimp, or a combination to suit your likes. We love the Mojo which is Caribbean-seasoned bouillon with garlic and citrus. Even if you don’t have any room left you can’t leave without having a little chocolate fondue. Dipping fruit, cheesecake, marshmallows, and everything else in chocolate is pretty amazing. The entire meal is huge and takes at least two hours. It is a romantic place and not suitable for small children, you do have an extremely hot pot in the center of the table that you are cooking your food in, or at least dipping. The foods for dipping and cooking are beautifully prepared. The prep staff does a great job. The service is also great.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A fun three generation meal”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Grammie, parents and teenage girls had great fun cooking the meat, fish, and veggies. The five of us ordered three meals and there was plenty of food. Servers replenished vegetables as we ran out. We also had cheese fondue; the cheddar was the favorite.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank nancyvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Melting Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing