We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”
Review of The Melting Pot

The Melting Pot
Reserve with OpenTable
The Melting Pot is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #52 of 751 Restaurants in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 21st
Description: Dip Into Something Different
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

A dining experience everyone should experience at least once in thier life. Service is great and so is the food!

Visited December 2012
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    39
    26
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A chain restaraunt experience....”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Read between the lines on the reviews....fondue is fun, cheese is good, but this restaurant serves it like going to A chain restaurant and works hard on the upsell with limited service. We came into this particular one on a slow late afternoon. We had been before both here and other locations. The service was mediocre at best and the food was average/sub-par compared to other locations. Would just go to another venue next time as this one was pushing the upsell from the preset meal we had purchased, then up sold the cooking style without differentiating the price, brought the food at a slower than normal fondue pace, and upon departure did not acknowledge or thank us for coming to their overpriced, boiled food fare (let's face it, it's the cheese or the dipping sauce that has the flavors here not the stale bread or meats...you can get dipping sauces at McD's). Live and learn, it's the wait staff that can make the difference here and they have the same monologue at very table as you listen to them (when you see them). Finish this off with an expensive price even at 1/2 off and I would enjoy more flavor and food elsewhere next time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank papat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great server, great food…bad bar service”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We started our evening in the bar, and after ordering and receiving our drinks, the bill was dropped by the server before we could even order an appetizer. After several minutes we were able to flag her down, and request a Brie plate, and another round of drinks. Upon receiving our next round of drinks, we found fruit flies in not one, but two of our drinks!! We notified the server, and although she apologized, she offered us nothing more but new drinks. I am a bit surprised a manager didn't stop by the table to apologize and offer an apology comp, or a future incentive to return. I have worked in restaurants for 8 years, and this is normal protocol. Once we were seated at our actual table, our actual server took over, and saved the night with her outstanding service! Thank goodness for her, or I don't know that we would be back!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kuuipo7778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Appetizers ok, service and entrees were sub-par”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My boyfriend and I went to The Melting Pot because we wanted a nice night out at a nice restaurant. We arrived hungry. This was a mistake. The service was terrible and it took forever from one course to the next, so we spent most of the evening at a table with no food. It took 10 minutes after being seated to place our drink order. I ordered a red wine and 15 minutes later, got a white wine. It was another 10 minutes to get the right wine. For the first 30 minutes we were there, we sat at a table without so much as a glass of water. We finally got our drinks and placed our order. The cheese fondue was good, and the salad was OK. We waited....and waited....and waited....for our entree. The restaurant was only 1/2 full so I'm not sure what the holdup was. Finally got our entree. At this point we had been there for an hour and a half, one hour after we ordered. The food is raw and you cook it yourself so it's not like they had to cook our food or anything. When you're hungry it's kind of aggravating to have to cook your meal one bite at a time. The dessert came and was good but it took 2 hours before we left and we were still a little upset about the entree, the huge wait before we even got a drink and the large gap between courses. I would go for happy hour appetizer, but never again for a full meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Melt in you mouth!!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Birthday Party/Girls Night Out!!! Very nice place for Couples too....I wouldn't bring the kiddies......they wouldn't know the difference. The varity in the cheeses was excellent and so was the desserts.....Strawberries, brownies, bannans, pound cake, marshmellows, dipped in melted chocolate is a very good thing for your taste buds.....and the cocktails are very good too a little pricey but you only live once so live a little spend a lot....

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jazzierose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Melting Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing