We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice views and nice dinner with good service!”

Stanley & Seafort's Steak Chop & Fishhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Stanley & Seafort's Steak Chop & Fishhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 749 Restaurants in Tacoma
Price range: $25 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Pacific Avenue
Transit: Pacific Avenue & 34th Street East
Description: Stanley & Seafort's is a Tacoma landmark restaurant with panoramic views overlooking downtown Tacoma and Commencement Bay harbor. Enjoy a daily lunch, dinner or perhaps a special business or romantic occasion in our warm, inviting and spacious dining room. At Stanley & Seafort's, we serve quality American comfort food including USDA-aged prime rib, flavorful Chicken Dijon and fresh and innovative seafood dishes. Originally from Tacoma, our Chef Bo Newcomer has been cooking local and seasonal American fare for more than 15 years. We also serve the best Happy Hour in town with $4.00 drink specials and appetizers like Dungeness Crab Dip, Buffalo Style Chicken wings or the Stanley & Seafort's Tasting Sampler Come experience why we were voted Most Romantic Date spot for 2011 by Komo News Community. Join our longtime friends and frequent visitors who have enjoyed many fond memories over the years as our guests.
Jasper, Georgia
Level Contributor
239 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Nice views and nice dinner with good service!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I was in town with a co-worker and we had heard good things about this restaurant so gave it a try. We decided the same day to try to go and when we called for reservations they only had two times - one being 4:15 pm so we opted to go early. We were able to see views during the daylight (rainy) and then the night by the time we ate.

We both ordered soup and we both really enjoyed it. She had the French onion and I had the Lobster Bisque. She ordered prime rib for her entrée and said it was really not anything special but ate most of it. I ordered the sirloin and thought it was good. The entrée was a bit cold and we assume it is because we took too much time eating our soup so the food must have been "warming" under the lamp.

The views were nice, the service was good but we were slightly disappointed in the food considering the prices. I gave it a very good rating because of the views, service and atmosphere, not the food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank loribledsoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matton B, Guest Relations Manager at Stanley & Seafort's Steak Chop & Fishhouse, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
loribledsoe,

Thank you for the kind words. Happy to hear you enjoyed your visit. Your feedback has been noted and we look forward to continuing to use your review to improve our guest's overall experience.

Cheers - The Stanley's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    138
    56
    31
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
122 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Brie en croute”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Excellent Warm Brie. All the food was very good, but the Brie stood out. The restaurant can be a little loud at night time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Business1st38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matton B, Guest Relations Manager at Stanley & Seafort's Steak Chop & Fishhouse, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Business1st38,

Thank you for the great review and kind words! We truly appreciate them.

Cheers - Stanley's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue WA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Tacoma Star”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This long standing view restaurant has excellent food, good service, a fine bar,and overlooks all of the city. On many of our visits we bring an elderly friend who has to keep a careful diet. The staff fills every one of our special requests. We also go on special holidays with a family and friends widely spaced in age. No one fails to have a fine time and a good dinner.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matton B, Guest Relations Manager at Stanley & Seafort's Steak Chop & Fishhouse, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Al S,

Thanks so much for the kind words and great review. We appreciate all your patronage and look forward to serving you again soon.

Cheers - The Stanley's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon
Level Contributor
128 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Interesting Location”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Tacoma appears to be a blue collar town, and perhaps a bit on the rough side, as we drove through questionable areas of town to get to the restaurant. This establishment desperately wants to be a high classed eatery, and considering its local environment, perhaps it is? The view was nice. The staff was businesslike. The food ordered was average. The prices were high.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FishyBendOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matton B, Guest Relations Manager at Stanley & Seafort's Steak Chop & Fishhouse, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
FishyBendOregon,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and provide your feedback. We appreciate the patronage and look forward to using your comments to continually improve.

Cheers - The Stanley's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“In addition to.”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Get an early reservation, went on a week night and was very busy but still great food, service and the view also..



Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matton B, Guest Relations Manager at Stanley & Seafort's Steak Chop & Fishhouse, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Roger T,

Thank you for the review and feedback. We appreciate the reservation tips!

Cheers - The Stanley's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stanley & Seafort's Steak Chop & Fishhouse also viewed

 

Been to Stanley & Seafort's Steak Chop & Fishhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing