We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fine dining location”

Stanley & Seafort's Steak Chop & Fishhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Stanley & Seafort's Steak Chop & Fishhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 749 Restaurants in Tacoma
Price range: $25 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Scenic view, Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Pacific Avenue
Transit: Pacific Avenue & 34th Street East
Description: Stanley & Seafort's is a Tacoma landmark restaurant with panoramic views overlooking downtown Tacoma and Commencement Bay harbor. Enjoy a daily lunch, dinner or perhaps a special business or romantic occasion in our warm, inviting and spacious dining room. At Stanley & Seafort's, we serve quality American comfort food including USDA-aged prime rib, flavorful Chicken Dijon and fresh and innovative seafood dishes. Originally from Tacoma, our Chef Bo Newcomer has been cooking local and seasonal American fare for more than 15 years. We also serve the best Happy Hour in town with $4.00 drink specials and appetizers like Dungeness Crab Dip, Buffalo Style Chicken wings or the Stanley & Seafort's Tasting Sampler Come experience why we were voted Most Romantic Date spot for 2011 by Komo News Community. Join our longtime friends and frequent visitors who have enjoyed many fond memories over the years as our guests.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great fine dining location”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Have eaten in the main restaurant and in the bar during happy hour, both are great options. Great views of Tacoma if you can get seated by a window. Creative/elegant menu choices, and classy service. Happy hour dining selections and prices are fantastic. One of the best "special occasion" options in town.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bakerbomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    139
    56
    31
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“A great place to eat with the best view.”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This place is a little more expensive than others, But you have some of the best quality steaks and seafood, This place is a 5 star and everything is awesome! Great service and atmosphere ,

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank keria46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Washington
Level Contributor
112 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A GRAND disapointment”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I had never been there before and was looking very forward to the dinner. Stanley's had always had a great reputation and it held (to me) an aura of....lets just say very, very positive. That changed immediately upon arrival. Arriving 10 minutes early (prior to our reserved time) we continued to have to wait an additional 25 minutes for a table. The crowd of many half-drunk yuppie patrons was also an interesting mix. Once seated, the service was fair considering how busy they were. I ordered prime rib medium-rare. A fairly simple deal right? Not. The nearly uncooked tasteless hunk of meat I got was nearly inedible. Not sending it back was my bad. My wife's meal was also just so-so. I could go on but you get the point. A real let down and I will not be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Texaque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“DON'T PARK YOUR CAR IN THIS PARKING LOT !!!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We recently arrived at SEA-TAC, rented a car, came out to get lunch at this restaurant, and had our car broken into while we had lunch. This was grand larceny, as more than $2,000 of our belongings plus two passports had been stolen. They got an iPad, Blackberry phone, prescription sunglasses, Bose headphones, two nice carry-ons, etc. The response from management? Well, they did very kindly help us to vacuum out the broken glass, but staff members stated that the same thing has happened in this parking lot over a HALF-DOZEN TIMES in recent weeks. What have they done about it? NOTHING. There is a security camera mounted on the top of the building, but it was never plugged in. Management stated that police would not come out, and sure enough, when we called, they said there was no point in their coming out. REALLY? For grand larceny? There is valet parking, but the attendant was not there, and just showed up as we were leaving. The problem is, there is NOTHING being done to prevent this happening again in the future. Oh, and as far as food quality and service? Nothing better than Appleby's although the price tag is far more.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Grizzabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stanley and Seaforts”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stanley's has been a favorite of ours for quite a while. Sometimes I've dined there 3 times in one week! They serve your typical American cuisine-great Prime Rib, Steaks, Seafood, Salads(I love their organic mixed greens with balsamic glaze and blue cheese pecan spring rolls and their Maytag blue cheese salad is also a favorite!). A bit on the spendy side -but you get what you pay for! They have changed management over past several years and the quality of the food and the menu has reflected that bit it looks like they are back on track again-yay! We kept finding some of our favorite items being changed or eliminated all together. The nice thing about this restaurant is that if they take something off their menu you may give them a 24-48 hour notice and they will try to prepare it for your visit. There used to be a fabulous meatloaf slider with bacon with a tangy horseradish that they deleted from the menu so I requested 3 orders for a girls' birthday dinner and Stanley's gladly obliged! The chef (he was newer) even came out to ask me what I remembered about how it was prepared since he didn't work there when it was on the menu. He brought out 3 different varieties for us to try and tho' they weren't as good as the original that they used to have on the menu they were good and I applaud their effort! And he only charged me for 1 order! Now that's service!
The service is almost always good (there's one young guy in the bar that's terrible, but that happens) and there are great views of downtown Tacoma, The Tacoma Dome (real close when attending an event at The Dome) and the Thea Foss Waterway.
One of my fav seasonal dishes that I've had there is the Prime Rib Stroganoff- to die for!
If dessert is your preference Stanley's has (or had) a great chocolate mousse and oven roasted pear bread pudding-Yummy! Again place the order a couple of days in advance if it is currently not on the menu.
Great restaurant for a special occasion or date nite or nite out with family and friends- nice happy hour specials in the bar!
One tip.. join their dining rewards club-Restaurants Unlimited- it's amazing how fast the points add up and they pay their dividends in restaurant credit! Can't beat that!

They also have valet service.
They don't open till 2PM on the weekends which is a bummer as we love to go out to eat after church on Sunday.
Stanley's used to have beautiful lavish Christmas decor-a festive and classy display, but alas that has been eliminated to tacky mangled garland with a few bows. Ugh! If management is reading this.. decor especially during the Holidays DOES matter! Spend a few $. It's the details that matter!
All in all a great place to return to over and over again!














!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HIIMCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stanley & Seafort's Steak Chop & Fishhouse also viewed

 

Been to Stanley & Seafort's Steak Chop & Fishhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing