We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“trail running doesn't get any better”

5 Mile Drive & Trails
Ranked #6 of 77 things to do in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“trail running doesn't get any better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Point Defiance is really accessible to all. There are long term residents that don't miss a day at the park. There are annual family and cultural celebrations that spend a warm day barbequeing, weddings, receptions, reunions, and my favorite Sunday trail runs. It is an amazing gem on the water.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank nonie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    31
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pretty Drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Very pretty drive. Sane time for mommy while baby chills in car seat. HAHA it's rare I get time alone & this was very relaxing. So Relaxing I did it twice.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A Tacoma Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

I feel so fortunate and lucky to have Point Defiance Park and the Five Miles Drive in my "backyard". Part of my lunch time 15 mile cycle loop 2-4 times a week, I never get tired of the old growth Doug Fir and cedar, the views of the Olympics, and the different flowers that bloom across the year.

The pot smoking kids add flavor too. I get lots of cheers from them when I wear my Pink Floyd bike jersey. And, no worries about them speeding either.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank targhee42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
260 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Fun drive great views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Nice drive to go on and do some Geo Caching. Views are great just watch out for the hikers and bikers while on the drive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank altonjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“spine trail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

chose this trail as it's 2.6 miles roundtrip and takes you to a variety of views, including Gig Harbor. The weather became a bit overcast and chilly, but the walk was great; hope to explore some of the others next visit

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Kgeorge16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 5 Mile Drive & Trails also viewed

 

Been to 5 Mile Drive & Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing