We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant staff, ok food”

Ammar's Mediterranean Grill
Ranked #29 of 746 Restaurants in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Hawaii
Level Contributor
660 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Pleasant staff, ok food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

The food was fair--grape leaves mushy, hummus bland, chicken good. The pita bread was good. Staff members were pleasant and the servicewas very good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kupunakane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    27
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Puyallup, Washington
1 review
“Ammar's is AMAZING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

I recently had dinner at Ammar's - I ordered the chicken kabobs, which came with seasoned rice, greek salad, and pita bread. The food is FANTASTIC!! The wait staff is friendly and Ammar comes through and personally talks to the customers! I love the atmosphere - simple, classy, and inviting - not overdone or tacky as some Mediterranean restaurants I've been patron at. I will be visiting this establishment frequently to try out more of the delicious cuisine!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Namira1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
2 reviews
“Ammar's is AMAZING!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

I have been eating Ammar's food for years - first at the Freighthouse Square location, and now at the new location on E 26th St! Same incredible quality, new offerings and atmosphere. The thing that brings me back every time is the freshness of the ingredients, incredibly and consistently executed dishes overall, and passionate and friendly owners/management. Do not hesitate - eat here, and you will be very glad you did!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AJSHarbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Oregon
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful Mediterranean Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and I came here for lunch on our way to the Chihuly Museum of Glass. This is not a "catch your eye" type of restaurant: the building is plain both inside and out. But the food is fabulous. We had lunch, and I ordered the tzadeki with pita and the spanakopitia. The pita was slightly warmed and is different from the typical pita, and very good. The spanakopitia was everything that it should be and so often isn't - the phyllo dough was light and crisp and obviously freshly baked. The spinach-cheese filling was rich and plentiful.

My husband ordered felafel. It came in a pita wrap, much like gyros, with onions and bell peppers and sauce. He said that the accompanying spicy Caesar salad was one of the best he's ever had.

With such great food, we decided to go full hog and order dessert - baklava - which we both love. This was on the spendy side, but absolutely worth it. The phyllo was perfect, the amount of honey was just right, and it was really wonderful. So good that although we'd ordered just one to split between us, and even though we were full from lunch, we ordered another!

The restaurant is fairly plain, with concrete floors and plastic laminate tables and chairs, but there is a full wine and beer list and the food is marvelous.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We went to this restaurant last night which was recommended by our hotel and a number of people on Trip Advisor. We were really disappointed. Our starter of Calamari was inedible and had to be sent back. The manager explained they were new calamari and first time they had been used. He offered to not charge for them! Next we had the lamb kebabs. Also inedible as we so tough and full of gristle. After that we left. There was no sign of the manager when we departed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ammar's Mediterranean Grill also viewed

 

Been to Ammar's Mediterranean Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing