We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Stayed here in December 2013 - I cannot think of a single thing I would improve. Staff were very helpful, and room was excellent value for the price paid. I would definitely stay here again if I return to Tacoma.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheButcher27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandi R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear TheButcher27,

Thank your staying with our hotel in December 2013. We are happy to hear that you feel that our staff was great and you received a great value to the price you paid. We hope to see you again when you are in Tacoma, Washington.

Take Care,

Brandi Rutherford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    89
    23
    7
    4
See reviews for
67
49
9
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed here during March 2014, we picked up our college kid and had him fly into Sea-Tac airport. The hotel was convenient to the airport. (They have a shuttle that goes there too) We were within walking distance to family restaurants and museums and on the way home we took a side trip to Point Defiance and the Tacoma Zoo. This hotel had one large room with 3 full beds in one room and micro & fridge too. We did not have to pay extra person fees because the room slept 6. We have 6 in our family and always have to sneak in 2 of the kids. This hotel was big enough for all of us!

Room Tip: I booked everything online and they had the pics to the room we would stay at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank navymom53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandi R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear navymom53,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our two queen size bed suites. We love having these room types for our larger families whom need the extra room.

We love to hear that you were able to get a visit in to the Point Defiance Zoo.

Thank you for staying at our location and we hope to see your family again in the future.

Best Regards,
Brandi Rutherford
General Manager

The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tacoma Downtown does not have a airport shuttle to the Seattle Tacoma International Airport. We are too far to have a complimentary shuttle to/from the Seattle Tacoma International Airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Staff was very accommodating in our request for early occupancy.
Rooms were clean. Beds just right and pillowcase stitching indicated their level of firmness.

Almost absent of road noise compared to other hotels nearby that hear I-5 freeway and train horns as the cross roads near the Tacoma Dome.
Morning breakfast was great, although they missed having gravy for their biscuits.

We happened to have stayed in a room 607 which shares a wall with the elevator shaft. To our surprise, we heard nothing which is not been the case in other hotels.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandi R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Rick Z,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. We love hearing that you enjoyed the new IHG pillows and pillow cases that we have now.

We love to hear that you can barely hear the I-5 freeway and train noise that is near our hotels. We also love hearing that you were unable to hear the elevator next to your room. I know that can be a huge issue at other locations.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Take Care,
Brandi Rutherford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood,Ca.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Staff from the visitor center found the room and confirmed availability. Upon arrival, hotel staff was very helpful in getting us a room and recommending a close, walkable place to eat. Yes, neighborhood looks bad, but we had no problems and did not worry about the walk to the restaurant. First time in Tacoma and staying in a Holiday Inn Express, but was pleased with the accomadations and the helpful staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakewood_Ca_Charkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandi R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Lakewood_Ca_Charkie,

We love hearing that the visitor center was able to direct you to our hotel for over night accommodations.

We love that you had a great stay and enjoyed our hotel and walkable place to eat.

We look forward to having you as our guest again in the future!

Take care,
Brandi Rutherford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

We had a group of about 10 come into Tacoma for human trafficking awareness & training events last week. In spite of our varied schedules, the very wet weather, and our comings & goings, the staff was very accommodating. They even helped with space for our side meetings and suggestions for quick trips to local restaurants.
Thx to their staff our stay went very well.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sheila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandi R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Sheila A,

We are happy to hear that you had a great stay with our hotel during your human trafficking awareness & training events in Tacoma. We love that we have the large breakfast room that can be used for side meetings for our guests.

We love being so close to restaurants in our area that our guests can enjoy.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Brandi Rutherford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

I'll start by saying the drive to the hotel doesn't put you in a positive frame of mind. I was alone and feeling like it was a bad part of town. Wondering if I really wanted to get out of the car. A little signage would have gone a long way. That said, once you enter the hotel, the staff at the front desk are friendly and efficient. Good work. The first night was quiet and uneventful (a Thursday). There were little things (the remote for the TV didn't work--no big deal). But the next day, my room did not get serviced...at all. It was late when I got back to the hotel room, I had the flu, and it was not the time to ask for housekeeping to work on the room or to change rooms. The unfortunate coincidence is that there was a cheer leading competition in town and at some of the groups were staying in the hotel. Let's say they were ...exuberant...until the wee hours.

Overall, it's probably not a bad place (just a bad stay). It just needs some attention from corporate to making a better presentation, training the staff, and making policies for noisy visitors.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandi R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear SusanJ,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tacoma Downtown. I would like to apologize that our property was hard to find. We are looking at ways to improve this for our guests. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the front desk staff at the hotel. I am sorry you catch the flu while traveling and came back to your room without it being serviced. That isn't the way we want our guests to return to the hotel and then to be sick on top of it isn't a great thing. We appreciate your feedback because this allows us to know our shortcomings and fix those issues so we can shine for all guests.

Please know we appreciate you staying at our location and for your feedback regarding your experience. We will use that feedback to better our hotel.

Thank you kindly,
Brandi Rutherford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
137 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

I'm not a fan of Tacoma Downtown. However, my employer insists on continuing to lodge me there. But this Holiday Inn is decent. There is a parking garage so you are not parking on the street. I believe that is a plus. The neighborhood looks a bit run down. I parked my full size pickup in the garage. It is a bit tight but works. I'm glad I don't own a lifted club cab with an eight foot bed. The Holiday Inn looks like it's new, in very good repair. The staff all seem friendly. The rooms are well planned and roomy. The free breakfast buffet was to standard. Nothing spectacular, but you will not go hungry. I'll be staying there four more nights in the next month.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank codyayrton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Les H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
codyayrton,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. It is good to see that you enjoy our wonderful hotel staff and the free parking for our guests. I appreciate your honesty about the layout of the hotel, the amount of space in our guestrooms and the surrounding area. Tacoma is working really hard on the development on the south side of the University of Washington Tacoma campus and we are appreciative of the opportunity to help in that revitalization. If you would like to stop by the desk on your next stay I would gladly go over some of those future plans for the area with you. Thank you again and safe travels,
Les H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tacoma hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Murano
Hotel Murano
#3 of 28 in Tacoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,066 reviews
2.7 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Tacoma Downtown
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tacoma Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown
Address: 2102 S C St, Tacoma, WA 98402-1505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tacoma's newest downtown hotel! With 163 guestrooms and suites and flexible meeting space for up to 120 people, the Holiday Inn Express & Suites is the place to Stay Smart! Located just off I-5 in the heart of downtown, we are just minutes away from the Downtown Business District, Greater Tacoma Convention & Trade Center, UW - Tacoma Campus, Tacoma Dome, the Port of Tacoma, the Museum of Glass, the Lemay - America's Car Museum, the Washington State History Museum, the Tacoma Art Museum, Point Defiance Zoo & Aquarium and much more. Our competitive rates include a complimentary breakfast buffet daily, complimentary on-site self-parking for our overnight guests, complimentary wireless high-speed internet access and business center. Enjoy a workout or a relaxing swim in our fitness center and heated indoor pool, or take a walk downtown to a variety of restaurants, shops and attractions. The beautiful Tacoma waterfront is only a short drive away and offers sweeping views and a selection of restaurants. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing