We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New and Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“New and Nice”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hotel is new and very nice. Comfortable beds, plenty of room. The bathroom has a nice size shower, no tub, which worked for us. The staff was very helpful and offered assistance with everything we needed. The few drawbacks I had was, it was hard to find, not your usual Holiday Inn Express, don't look for a sign, just look for the cross street. Also, the parking. I usually drive a bigger Chevy pick up which would not fit in their parking garage, limited to about 6'6". The breakfast selection was a bit slim for what HIE usually has, maybe because it's so new? Only one of the two elevators worked which made it a longer wait especially in the morning when we were leaving. Overall, I would recommend this location and would definitely stay again, I'm sure things will work themselves out over time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaTacHIExpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear John D,

Thank you for staying with us and for your thoughtful review. We appreciate your suggestions and comments which help us improve our service and amenities, such as our complimentary breakfast.

Our complimentary parking is covered and the clearance level on floors 2 and 3 is 6'8" high. For larger vehicles, free parking is also available in front of our hotel during your stay. I apologize for the temporary interruption in our elevator service as we awaited our final inspections.

If you visit our area again, we hope to see you then!

Best regards,
Vickie M., GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    95
    25
    8
    4
See reviews for
71
53
10
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The location in downtown Tacoma is excellent and being new, the rooms are very clean. Its greatest asset are the staff, who though spread thin and very green continue to be very kind and helpful as they attempt their best to fix the problems of this recently opened hotel. corporate should give each one of them a bonus for having to explain why things were wrong or weren't working. I hope the staff doesn't burn out via having to explain and apologize, for I noted I wasn't the only one at the desk .... It would be nice to work somewhere were one could have pride - Don't think the owner's of this place do or they wouldn't of left it running so thinly. As I said, it's clean and close, wonderful staff, which is what may save them if they ever become more.... organized. Reservation, billed for 2 nights only asked for one - asked for 2 queens bed received a king and couch that I had to make up- the room temp was set at 77. The AC only works if there is motion in the room hence it would be warm t/o the night as I had to inform them - When asked for another room told there weren't any and so on...Hope corporate helps these hard working folks out - really they should be ashamed of themselves!!!! This was my 86 year old mother last visit to Tacoma, they made did make it memorable ;) BKF is pretty processed and Coffee not up to PNW standards~ Again, can't say enough about the staff........WOW lots of work to do~

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moynihan425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaTacHIExpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Moynihan425,

Thank you so much for staying with us at our new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tacoma Downtown and also for your very kind words about our responsive and friendly staff. We are very proud to be a part of this community.

We are working through our few temporary new-construction inconveniences to provide our guests with a comfortable, clean, friendly and enjoyable experience. I appreciate you bringing the items we may improve upon to my attention. We take your suggestions and use them to better train our staff and improve our product.

We hope to see you again on your next trip to the Tacoma area!

With hospitality,
Vickie M., GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This hotel clearly is recently remodeled or renovated, and it shows. The rooms are big, including the bathrooms. The rooms are well-appointed and the beds are comfortable. There's a decent amount of closet space. Air conditioning is surprisingly quiet for wall-mount units. The staff is friendly and helpful. Common areas are well-decorated and very pleasant.

Parking is included, as is breakfast. Breakfast is eggs, sometimes bacon, pancakes, cereal, pastries, coffee, tea, and juice, as well as yogurt.

There's a pool; can't say that I checked to see if there's a fitness center.

In general, I was very pleasantly surprised. I've certainly paid a lot more for a lot less. I would happily stay here again.

If it matters to you that your soap is wrapped in cardboard, rather than plastic; or that you drink from a glass rather than a plastic cup, then you should stay elsewhere. But if those aren't deal-breakers you should seriously consider this Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJOWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaTacHIExpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear SJOWG,

Thank you for your positive review and thank you for staying with us--we appreciate your business.

You are correct--we are brand new and opened our doors just one month ago today. We do have a fitness center on our 4th floor, open 24 hours with free weights and three types of cardio available. I am glad you had the opportunity to try our hot breakfast buffet with a variety of menus each week.

We hope to host you on your next trip to Tacoma!

Vickie M, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale, Arizona
Level Contributor
207 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

The staff & room was great. One elevator was broke needs to be fixed though. I was only here for a short time but I would stay here again in the future. Overall great stay & experience :). I would recommend to my friends & family to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelermanPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaTacHIExpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear travelermanPhoenix,

Thank you for staying with us!

I am glad you enjoyed your visit and that you took the time to share your review of our hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Tacoma!

Sincerely,
Vickie M., GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
144 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

You've got to be kidding!? An 8 story hotel with no functioning elevator? My company booked me here before the elevators were working. It's a brand new hotel. Beautiful. Bed had never been slept in. But it got old walking up and down the stairs- with my luggage.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaTacHIExpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Steven C,

Our elevators are in service!

I am so very sorry for the inconvenience during the first portion of your stay due to our temporary delay in our opening inspection. I am so glad you enjoyed the many other attributes of our brand new hotel.

We look forward to your next stay with us!

With hospitality,
Vickie M, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We just stayed at this new hotel (not even open a month yet) on August 1st. It was easy to find, and had a wonderful lobby. Both guest service agents greeted us and were very helpful and personable. The parking requires a key card for access - nice security. The elevator worked well, and we were upgraded to a king suite. We had a nice view of the Tacoma Dome to one side, and the docks and city of Tacoma in front of us - we found it a very interesting view. Everything in the room was lovely and comfortable - the AC worked well, the room was quiet, and the bathroom well appointed with a great shower. Our breakfast was great, as usual at Express hotels, with a very spacious breakfast room. All in all, I would definitely recommend this hotel and we'll stay again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HIMetrotown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaTacHIExpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Hotelgalvancouver,

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us in Tacoma and we look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you for your stay and for sharing your review on TripAdvisor--we appreciate it!

Best regards,
Vickie M., GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I just stayed at the new Holiday Inn Express in Downtown Tacoma that has only been open a few days, while taking care of some business at the Port. Upon check in, I was made aware that the elevator was temporarily out of service, but the folks at the desk immediately offered many different ways of overcoming this slight inconvenience. Parking is available on the second or third floor so the trip to my room only lasted for two flights of stairs. The room was spacious, from the large desk area, large windows (Mt Rainier was out in all its glory), king size bed, and finely stocked bathroom. The room was extremely clean and the bed was comfortable, I needed a good night’s sleep and that is what I got. The next morning after my date with the fitness center, I went down to the Breakfast room, which is very large, roomy, and pleasant. The Breakfast offered healthy options along with the eggs and those wonderful cinnamon rolls. What I liked best about this Holiday Inn Express is that I felt safe, the property was exceptionally clean, and I felt sincerely welcomed from the minute I walked in until I checked out.

Great Location and I will be back.

Room Tip: My east side room had a fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rydercup F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaTacHIExpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Rydercup F,

Wow! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive experience with us and with the traveling public. We are so happy to be here in Downtown Tacoma!

I am very glad to hear you felt welcome, safe and comfortable and that your guestroom and breakfast were to your liking. Those warm cinnamon rolls are definitely a favorite with our guests.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Tacoma.

With hospitality,
Vickie Molzer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tacoma hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Murano
Hotel Murano
#3 of 28 in Tacoma
3,299 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel
2.7 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Tacoma Downtown
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tacoma Seattle
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown
Address: 2102 S C St, Tacoma, WA 98402-1505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tacoma's newest downtown hotel! With 163 guestrooms and suites and flexible meeting space for up to 120 people, the Holiday Inn Express & Suites is the place to Stay Smart! Located just off I-5 in the heart of downtown, we are just minutes away from the Downtown Business District, Greater Tacoma Convention & Trade Center, UW - Tacoma Campus, Tacoma Dome, the Port of Tacoma, the Museum of Glass, the Lemay - America's Car Museum, the Washington State History Museum, the Tacoma Art Museum, Point Defiance Zoo & Aquarium and much more. Our competitive rates include a complimentary breakfast buffet daily, complimentary on-site self-parking for our overnight guests, complimentary wireless high-speed internet access and business center. Enjoy a workout or a relaxing swim in our fitness center and heated indoor pool, or take a walk downtown to a variety of restaurants, shops and attractions. The beautiful Tacoma waterfront is only a short drive away and offers sweeping views and a selection of restaurants. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing