We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place for a Wedding too!”
Review of Wright Park

Wright Park
Ranked #16 of 82 things to do in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tacoma, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place for a Wedding too!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Thirty years ago, I was married in the Seymour Conservatory in Wright Park. My husband and I lived in a small apartment next to the park and it has always been dear to us. Over the years some changes and improvements have been made to trails and facilities, but the sense of peace and beauty that emanates from this garden spot in the old heart of Tacoma is still there . The walking trails are perfect for a stroll or serious cardio, depending on your level of effort, and local watering holes on every side let you sit and enjoy the view of trees and grassy verges all year long. A good place to take kids or your great aunt for a day out, or just take a book and read next to the duck pond. The Conservatory is a wonder of exotic plants and amazing seasonal displays and still a beautiful place for an intimate "happily-ever-after" wedding.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    37
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bums Galore”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Unless you are running around the the out side jogging path I would stay away. Even though they have renovated the park they did not find a way to keep the bums and drug addicts out. Not a nice place for kids and avoid at dusk or dark

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Joseph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington, United States
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A family park”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Wright Park - is a great park for Tacoma folks and visitors to the area. The playground is great, for all ages. We love the waterpark in the summer or you could just stroll thru the park. A true gem in Tacoma.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania, US
Level 6 Contributor
544 reviews
151 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Great place for families and kids”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Wright Park is a nice family park with play areas, walking trails, picnic areas and a playground. There is a small pond with abundant waterfowl (please don't feed them!). Strategically placed benches and picnic tables provide plenty of places to sit and talk or read.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank nylady21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Been coming here since the 60's”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

One of my favorite places in the world. Love the trees that have markers on them. Someday would like to take a tour with a person who really knew the history and the names of all the beautiful foliage and trees. They have re-done the pond, which is so pretty now. The splash park is great for the kids. I still find the restrooms scary, and most of the time I see homeless people sleeping. But it is a beautiful park to picnic and play.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jilltoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wright Park also viewed

 

Been to Wright Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing