We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Baseball up close and fun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cheney Stadium

Cheney Stadium
Ranked #10 of 76 things to do in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Puget Sound
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Baseball up close and fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Our Rotary club has an annual outing to the Tacoma Rainiers. We have been doing it for the past two years and plan to do it again. The club reserves a "party deck" out in left field and we typically have 50-60 attendees. The baseball is close, the food is typical, the activities between innings especially for kids is fun. The party deck is perfect for our group as we can sit to watch the game or get up , walk around and vist. The fact that we are coming back is a testament to the good time had by all at Cheney Stadium and baseball with the Tacoma Rainiers.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Danspar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    41
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
100 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Triple A Baseball across the aisle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Cheney is home of the Tacoma Rainiers. They just renovated the stadium, but the prices have stayed reasonable, even for the concessions. There is not a bad seat in the house, they have great group packages, and parking is cheap and close. My only complaint about the renovation is that they moved the bullpens. (You used to be able to watch pitchers warm up literally at arm's length!) Highly recommended. We have watched any number of great players on their way to the majors.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Seattle_Hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Play Ball”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

The remodeled stadium, home of the Tacoma Rainiers, is a great place to enjoy baseball, and a good value for families. Best time to go is a sunny afternoon game or a Friday night game, when a fireworks show punctuates the evening.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnHTacoma_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Remodeled AAA ballpark is great fun.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Minor league baseball is often more fun, and certainly less expensive, than the majors. The newly remodeled park has comfortable seats and excellent sight lines. The best bargain, and the most fun if you have small kids in tow, is to sit on the berm in right field. Food and beer are pricey.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great remodel and fun atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

There is not a bad seat in the house. The prices are very reasonable for a ticket. There are a lot of promotions do the food and drinks are reasonable. We brought a group and they even flashed "Foss Car Audio" pn the scoteboard for our group. You can find free parking close by and traffic seems disperse pretty quick after a game.

Helpful?
1 Thank Edweber7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cheney Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing