We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good view.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Boathouse 19

Boathouse 19
Ranked #21 of 748 Restaurants in Tacoma
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A good view.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

At first the table where you say "table for 4" at was slow and the woman was inexperienced at that job, took us Roughly 30 minutes to get a table. Once we sat down it took us 15 minutes to get our drinks and 35 minutes to get our food. The food was very good quality and before 7:00 pm it's noisey and after 8:00 it's pretty calm.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seamus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    58
    39
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food with a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Depends on the day...some days have great food and service...other days kitchen has issues...not consistent but still our favorite place

Very accommodating with special orders, allergies etc. always fresh and tasty.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sdjweinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma,WA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Food is good, but everything else lacking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

They don’t take reservations. Got quoted for a 30-35 minute wait and waited more like 60-65 minutes and the hostesses didn’t seem to care. They should have at least let the manager know that a table waited extra time especially since they obviously misquoted us.There is nowhere to wait for a table except the bar which is fine unless you have kids. Otherwise you have to wait outside which is fine unless it’s raining.

The Happy hour looks really good and has good prices. The actual food was really good for casual food. I will say the service is very casual and almost lacking at times. For some reason they designed this small place with the bar at about half the size of the restaurant. It seems more geared towards adults. I would go here again but probably without the little one.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tacomarick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
165 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Okay, but overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

My shrimp Po' Boy had tasty shrimp, lightly seasoned and breaded, but far, far too few of them for the price. And the remoulade was glopped on making the bun soggy. Suppose I should have stuck with something more local. Service was quick, attentive, and appropriately casual. The dessert (blueberry crisp with cinnamon ice cream) was quite tasty, though.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mogon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“This place was just what we needed!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We enjoy meals at the Boathouse... And, during the warm weather, eating on the deck is wonderful. The menu is perfect... one is not overwhelmed with a gazillion choices... All the food we have tried is good... Desserts are perfect too! The only reason for not clicking 5 stars... depending on the wait-help... some are more attentive than others. But, please, don't let that comment keep you from visiting the Boathouse!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JerryJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boathouse 19? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing