We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fire pits outside”

The Social Bar and Grill
Ranked #127 of 749 Restaurants in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Dupont, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fire pits outside”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This was my first trip here. The food was great. There aren't many places to get good poke outside of Hawaii.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    16
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, WA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Having a rare date night with my husband while our two young kids were at events. Decided to try something new. It was awful. First, we had a reservation and they were initially going to sit us at a table near the door away from all the action. Seeing the look on my face they sat us in a booth. It was 6:30 and only half full. The service throughout the evening was cursory at best. I think we saw the waitress maybe 3 times the whole night and her demeanor was not overly friendly or attentive. The food was atrocious. I had the Spanish braised duck. It was a duck leg swimming in a sauce of oil, a few chopped tomatoes from a can, and some undercooked white potatoes. Yuck. My husband had a tiny, stale hoagie sandwich with fatty and scant beef. He said it was barely edible and it looked revolting. The menu is good in the sense that there were several items on it that I could have chosen. The two we chose were so bad that we would not return. As well, they greeted us with two hush-puppy-like balls of luke warm dough. Stick to fresh bread with some oil and balsamic vinegar and call it good. Did not like the atmosphere as I could not see anybody else in the whole place. The view is lovely and I can imagine that sitting outside on a nice day would be great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank teatown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food badly executed”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stopped in last weekend because it was close to the marina where we were staying on our boat. Liked the menu, and the space is attractive, especially the outdoor seating.

We waited a long time for our order to be taken, and then we waited 30 minutes more, at which point the waiter let us know they were out of the appetizer we ordered. So we said "OK, just bring the entrees." After another long wait, I finally got up and complained to the manager. At that point, we still did not even have silverware.

Finally our entrees arrived. They were very good. But by that time our mood had soured. This was not helped when our server brought us paper napkins instead of cloth. They were out of table linens as well as menu items.

Both the manager and the server were quick to blame it on the holiday weekend. But that just points out the poor execution at this place. To not have anticipated that they would be busy over Labor Day, to run out of menu items as well as linens, etc. two days into the three day weekend. Really??? The long wait to be served, reflecting inadequate staffing.

Just a badly managed restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank joreyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
123 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Next Door to Museum of Glass”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stopped for lunch before visiting the Museum of Glass. On the plus side, they validate parking at the MOG and make good french fries. On the minus, disappointing service (15 minutes to discover they were out of the special I ordered and appetizer that had obviously waited a while to be picked up).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TomRuthWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food & happy hour outdoors”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

One of Tacoma's best restaurants. During summer is even better on the deck with fire. The food & service have always been superb.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luluslounge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Social Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Social Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing