We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the stop”

LeMay - America's Car Museum
Ranked #2 of 77 things to do in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: LeMay - America's Car Museum (ACM), named one of USA Today's 10 Best Museums in Seattle and KING 5's 2014 & 2015 Best Museum in Western Washington, is an international destination where families and enthusiasts gather to celebrate America's love affair with the automobile and how it shaped our society. The stunning, four-level, 165,000-sq.-ft. Tacoma, Wash., facility features 12 rotating exhibits, five annual Signature Events and serves as an educational center, hosting students of all ages.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Well worth the stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

If you like cars this museum is truly a great experience. Cars from the turn of the last century to present day. Some very rare autos are included. All the cars are in pristine condition and include both American and European models. Well worth the price of admission

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank VancouverBCDrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    550
    186
    21
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lynnwood, Washington
Level Contributor
353 reviews
167 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
“A Trip Back In Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

Any casual or die hard car fan will enjoy this museum. The museum has four levels of quite a variety of cars. British, Ferrari, NASCAR just to name a few. Most are spaced out so you can enjoy each one and read a little history on a lot of them. I've heard only about a quarter of the collection is out at one time, so there's a good chance you will get something different each time if you space out your visits. Even though we followed the museum's suggestion to stay to the right, we did find ourselves backtracking a bit with the layout. There are activities for the kids and a cafe upstairs if hungry. Nice view of town if you go on a good weather day which we didn't. If driving, be prepared to pay for parking. Discounts are given to AAA members which helps a bit. The Lemay is a great place to spend a rainy day, or a sunny one too.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainier72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cool cars”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

We took our 2 year old here and he loved it. He is a car enthusiast already. We spent 3 hours there and honestly could have spent all day there. We lunch at the Classics cafe and it was pretty good and affordable. There is a great view of Tacoma. Plenty of space to walk freely. Stroller is recommended for little ones. The place has 4 stories of cars on display. Absolutely beautiful cars. Great for all ages.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kerseybears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Diverse Collection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

There are many cars here from all different makes. Some themes are covered, such as Ferrari, British cars (some I'd never heard of - such as a 4 door MG), and NASCAR. Great little Lotus race car. Many late 1800s early 1900s. Some motorcycles as well.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
93 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Unique Cars”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Very well done and cars are in great shape. The museum is deceptively large with multiple levels of cars and historical perspective. A good family option, but a bit expensive and you must pay for parking which seems like a ripoff given the large lot and proximity to the museum.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LeMay - America's Car Museum also viewed

 

Been to LeMay - America's Car Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing