We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool cars”

LeMay - America's Car Museum
Ranked #2 of 79 things to do in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: LeMay - America's Car Museum (ACM), named one of USA Today's 10 Best Museums in Seattle and KING 5's 2014 & 2015 Best Museum in Western Washington, is an international destination where families and enthusiasts gather to celebrate America's love affair with the automobile and how it shaped our society. The stunning, four-level, 165,000-sq.-ft. Tacoma, Wash., facility features 12 rotating exhibits, five annual Signature Events and serves as an educational center, hosting students of all ages.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cool cars”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We took our 2 year old here and he loved it. He is a car enthusiast already. We spent 3 hours there and honestly could have spent all day there. We lunch at the Classics cafe and it was pretty good and affordable. There is a great view of Tacoma. Plenty of space to walk freely. Stroller is recommended for little ones. The place has 4 stories of cars on display. Absolutely beautiful cars. Great for all ages.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kerseybears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    566
    189
    24
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Diverse Collection”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

There are many cars here from all different makes. Some themes are covered, such as Ferrari, British cars (some I'd never heard of - such as a 4 door MG), and NASCAR. Great little Lotus race car. Many late 1800s early 1900s. Some motorcycles as well.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
94 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Unique Cars”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Very well done and cars are in great shape. The museum is deceptively large with multiple levels of cars and historical perspective. A good family option, but a bit expensive and you must pay for parking which seems like a ripoff given the large lot and proximity to the museum.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
226 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice museum. Lay out is a little confusing.”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

They say it is the largest collection somewhere (don't remember if it was nationally) and I could easily believe it. Building is also impressive but at the entrance, they need to be more specific about best to see the displays. There is a center flat gallery on all four floors and ramps on either side. The best way to see things is to start down the center and keep going down and turning to the right. At the bottom, take the elevator back to the top and start down the left side ramp. Yes you will have to go through the center ramp again but the displays start at the top and go downward.
The ramp galleries have a theme, NASCAR, English cars, Ferrari, etc. But the center galleries seem to be groups of cars in no particular order. Still worth seeing.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rkatao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah_ACM, Manager at LeMay - America's Car Museum, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Hi rkatao,

Thank you for your review! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit, even if the layout was a little confusing for you. We actually recommend that visitors stick to the right side of the Museum to work their way down, and then work their way up on the left side of the Museum. As you noted, you do repeat through the center ramps.

The center ramps actually are not exhibits, but are storage spaces. Unlike other museums, we keep our entire collection out for visitors to see and experience at all times. Exhibits change, but every car the Museum owns can be seen on any visit.

We hope to see you back again -- our amazing docents lead group tours every day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Real nice collection”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Good variety and well laid out. VW was the feature and there was a good cross section of the old air cooled types. Very good placards full of historical information that kept my wife interested along with enough technical information for me. Spacious and clean. Drinking fountains are sparse so tank up before you go.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LeMay - America's Car Museum also viewed

 

Been to LeMay - America's Car Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing