We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent collection and display”

LeMay - America's Car Museum
Ranked #2 of 77 things to do in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: LeMay - America's Car Museum (ACM), named one of USA Today's 10 Best Museums in Seattle and KING 5's 2014 & 2015 Best Museum in Western Washington, is an international destination where families and enthusiasts gather to celebrate America's love affair with the automobile and how it shaped our society. The stunning, four-level, 165,000-sq.-ft. Tacoma, Wash., facility features 12 rotating exhibits, five annual Signature Events and serves as an educational center, hosting students of all ages.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access
Wa. State
Level Contributor
169 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Excellent collection and display”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

This is certainly one of the best Auto Museums I have been to. The collection rotates so there will always be something new. The admission is reasonable ($12.00 for seniors). $5.00 to park is a bit irritating, but not a big deal.

My only nit is that of the entire exhibit, only one car was displayed with the hood open. Cars with special interest engines should be displayed hood up.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Spokaneman1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    549
    186
    21
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
357 reviews
150 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Nostalgia! Exciting Machines!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

If you enjoy cars for their artistry, engineering, and excitement (not to mention their social possibilities), this is a great collection. Mounted in an innovative, expansive space (most of which is under ground), it's part of the New Tacoma and a good inclusion in your tour of the area.

Dusenbergs! Ferrari's! Indy 500 classics! And my family's ancient station wagon! It's a good chance you'll be able to find a car you knew in your youth. If you ARE a youth, you might see the possibilities of a car that will excite your friends. With the Maker revolution upon us, the ability to custom-make a car (as was done in the 30's and 40's) will soon return, so your design will make you or break you on the street. Here you can find inspiration.

Since the museum proclaims its desire to be a destination three or four times a year, it's going to need to come up with some innovative displays. I'd suggest some on engineering, given the youthful interest and the vast ignorance of how power gets to the ground and becomes speed. Women, on the other hand, might be interested in how coachwork can be done and redone. Decorating on the road! Hope it all works out -- this could be a signature stop in North America.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nail56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Automotive History & Design”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

If you enjoy the seeing the changes in automobile design, size, shape color and power, this museum is for you. Walking through the 3 floors of cars, trucks and horseless carriages was like a "flash-back" to other eras and challenges in automotive design and operation. The classics were all there - Rolls Royce, Cadillac, Mercedes, Duesenberg, Messerchmitt, Pierce-Arrow Brougham, Lincoln, Fords, Chevys, Oldmobiles, Packards, Edsels and more. You will be impressed with the mint condition of each car. Vivid color, original parts and large footprints!! I relived part of my life just seeing some these cars in front of me. A wonderful time for car buffs an those curious about the changes in automotive design and power. Worth your time!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank JohnFirth26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
79 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“cool cars, awesome place to visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

yep, its Americas Car Museum. just opened. glad i brought my camera. very well thought out, had a good time checking out all the cars. we'll visit again- we were told that different cars will be rotated in and out all the time.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank otisscrotis_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, Washington
Level Contributor
205 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wow, An Asset to Tacoma Tourism”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

It was just opened this month and is already a hit with us. We shall bring our kids and grandkids to see this wonderful display of American-made automobile history. Many memories for us of cars we or our parents or grandparents owned and all in beautiful condition. The displays are set up quite well with good information about the permanently displayed cars. Unfortunately, the cafe was not open which would have been a nice break from four floors of walking so we could go back and look a little longer after a break at the cafe. We did not appreciate that we had to pay for parking as well as admission. However, we did get an admission discount since we are AAA members.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelerwmmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LeMay - America's Car Museum also viewed

 

Been to LeMay - America's Car Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing