We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Kettle Korn”

Point Defiance Zoo & Aquarium
Ranked #5 of 82 things to do in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Treat your family to a special day at Point Defiance Zoo & Aquarium. Where else can you see seahorses and sharks, peacocks and penguins, wolves and walrus, all in one place? The 29-acre Zoo is large enough to offer an awesome array of animals yet small enough to let you get really close to them. Our keepers often roam the grounds, taking animals on strolls so you can see them up close. Who knows? You might run into a lynx on your way to see the polar bears! Be sure to visit Kids Zone. This fanciful exhibit engages children in active learning through play. The focus is on fun, movement and learning what animals need to thrive.The breathtaking views of Puget Sound, Mount Rainier and the Olympic Mountains are free - and so is the parking. So what are you waiting for? Bring your family to see ours. Point Defiance Zoo & Aquarium is open at 9:30 a.m. daily. Closing times vary. Point Defiance Zoo & Aquarium is just minutes off of I-5 in beautiful Point Defiance Park in Tacoma, WA.
Tacoma
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Kettle Korn”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Nice place to take the kids for an outing. Just kind of concerned about Polar Bears being in the heat. Don't think that is very good for an Artic Animal. Just saying!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alicia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    249
    76
    22
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Better than the Seattle Zoo!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is the very best place to bring, kids, cousins, out-of-town guests. They will have animals, including some very nifty specialty exhibits, plus an aquarium, so you get the mammal lovers, the water lovers, the birders, the reptile and amphibian lovers - what's left out? Nobody! The food concessions have something other than junk food and the gift shop is great. You can exhaust everyone; no perennial family nags or arguments. In winter, the polar bears are very playful and active. In summer, the warm-weather critters are out in force. There's never a bad season. Get a membership!

If you're local, you can come here again and again and always see something cool. There is an extensive park nearby, with gorgeous views of the sound, a tea house, and historical exhibits.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Zoo lights”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

if you want to see good zoo lights go to the Oregon zoo in Portland. The parking lot was full, no surprise. But the attendants guided us out of the zoo and left us hanging on where to park. Once we got inside it was chaos there as well. And not that many lights. We were done in an hour.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Parking for ZooLights like Lord of the Flies”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We drove down for ZooLights last weekend. We have been many times. The lights and activities are fabulous. My daughter loves the carousel and the camel rides. The meerkats are always a favorite. The problem with ZooLights is the parking. There really isnt' any. It took us 40 minutes to get into the park and find a parking spot. There are so many cars and angry people I thought there was going to be fist fights. There is no help from the zoo. There are employees out in the parking lot, but they were not doing anything. Apparently there is a shuttle bus, but we could not find any information about it. When we finally found parking, we only had an hour and a half to do everything. I would recommend the zoo come up with a better plan for parking in the future. It turned me off this year. If you go, make sure to get there really early.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank backpackerjmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia beach, va
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“ZooLights!!”
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

ZooLights is great! Starts at 5pm and ends at 9pm (i believe) price is great for this small park. The aquarium is really neat! We went in the evening so I'm not sure what animals they have in display during the day. But overall experience was amazing! Had a blast

Helpful?
Thank Mgriffith150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Point Defiance Zoo & Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Point Defiance Zoo & Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing